We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of steps!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Jou Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Jou Hotel
Save
You added Bel Jou Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lots of steps!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel provides what Saga claims - 'Boasting fantastic views over Castries from its setting atop a steep hill, and excellent service from our friendly staff'. The hill is steep and you do have to rely on the minibus transport but that is very good and reliable. Food is plentiful and good but don't expect Michelin star quality! The clientele makes the hotel a bit like God's waiting room but it is Saga after all! Very good attention from Saga rep, Henry, who tries to please everyone. Music provided most evenings but not to our taste - however there are DVD players in the rooms. Some old DVDs in library but bring one or two of your own if you want.

Room Tip: There are steps wherever you go. Decent view on floor 2 if you want to avoid steps to higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank snapper00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    68
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
13
138
52
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for two weeks at Bel Jou in Dec 12. First time with Saga and not sure what to expect.We have been used to the big all inclusive resorts in the Carribean and found Bel Jou a lot different.

Location:
A bit isolated as the hotel is not on the beach but above the town of Castries. The shuttle bus was very good from the hotel and took you to Castries, Rodney Bay and Pigeon Island, only drawback was that you had to book return journey time previous day which limited you to your trips out. We found we had to catch the local bus service back up the hill a couple of times during our stay (good way to meet the locals).

Food:
food was very nice at the hotel, well cooked and presented although if you are more used to the larger all inclusive resorts it was lacking in choice. Became a bit monotonous after a while.

Accomodation:
Great: Had a room in the main block on level 4. Balcony overlooking the gardens and the sea. Very clean, spacious and well serviced every day.

Entertainment:
Very low key entertainment..singers
and dancers. Good for what they were. Most guests were up and dancing every night but disappeared by 10.30pm (Saga don`t you know)

Ambience:
Great for meeting people. Everybody talks to each other as it is all Brits together. Learnt how to play Croquet after a fashion. If you would like a comfortable holiday to make you feel at ease then this is for you.

Trips:
The included trips were excellent and can
recommend them. If you require a trip round the Island then I recommend you go to the cruise Terminal when a British ship is in and hop on one of the tours at the terminal (half the price of the saga trips) Sorry Saga.

Overall:

Very nice holiday, very enjoyable,being beach bums we are not likely to go to Bel Jou again but if you like to just chill out by the pool, eat and drink then this will suit. (English tea)

Room Tip: Level 4 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WrinklyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quedgeley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just back from three wonderful weeks at the Bel Jou.
Weather excellent most of time although we did have one very unusual very wet day.
did our own thing which is sitting on the beach at Pigeon Island for the best part of every day. Some say boring, we say what the Caribbean is for. we love the variety of each day, there is always something different to see and the National Trust staff there are helpful and friendly.
Bel Jou itself is the same as ever, lovely food, super rooms and great company.

Room Tip: ask for high room if you like to have the view, ask for garden room if you would like to be closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We decided to post this review as we have been out for two meals in London since returning from the Bel Jou & neither came close to matching the quality & variety of food we enjoyed there every single day. Highlights included the freshest possible grapefruits & bananas from the hotel garden for breakfast, as we watched cruise ships arriving at Castries harbour, & leisurely dinners in the balmy evening air, watching bats flitting through the Strangler Fig tree whilst the exemplary waiting staff kept our glasses full. One continual challenge was to leave room for dessert &, although the scones provided for tea were excellent, we rarely had room for them! Having noted comments in previous reviews about the lack of traditional St Lucian fare on the menu, we raised this with the chef who responded that his menu reflected what guests actually ate.
Our room was comfortable & the daily maid service kept it spotless. We never tired of the view from the balcony & the sound of the Island’s wildlife (except for the dogs).
We were impressed by all of the staff & their efforts to make us feel welcome. Henry was a most attentive Saga Representative, who kept our brains working with his daily puzzles.
The hotel’s hillside location affords excellent views but the downside is that walking options are limited & it is necessary to take the hotel shuttle to the beach. However, having said that, we found the shuttle service to be very efficient with a choice of three very different beaches to visit.
Most of the excursions were enjoyable & watching dolphins leaping & spinning in front of the Pitons, whilst enjoying a glass of rum punch, will be an abiding memory. However, we would not recommend the aerial tram trip through the rainforest as a far wider range of flora & fauna could be viewed from our balcony.
In conclusion, there are many things about the Bel Jou, e.g. the light, the warmth, the friendly people, the food, the views, the ambience, the swimming, the dancing, the cocktails, etc etc.
John & Nancy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank jdmcg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Totally agree with all the good points about the Bel Jou and we thank ALL for making our stay a wonderful expierience. Only wish we had more st lucian dishes instead of the usual Saga safe roast beef dishes etc. Will return one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank BristolNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Saga run the Bel Jou in a relaxed way that suits their clients - most of whom were over 70.. (We are 65 and felt young)..
Rooms are clean and comfortable, food very traditional (a disappointing shortage of local dishes and shellfish) and service friendly. Excursions and the hotel bus all well organised and in a week we saw most of this lovely island.
A most enjoyable way of enjoying some Caribbean sun and seeing St Lucia without any hassle. Virgin flights (premium economy) also OK.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank denis y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at The Bel Jou, really enjoyed our time there. After an initial problem which was sorted out quickly and efficiently by Camilla, the manager, the rest of our stay was great. We found Camilla to be very approachable and she is one young lady with her finger firmly on the pulse.
Henry the Saga rep is fantastic and nothing was any problem for him, he really does work very hard to ensure that everyone is looked after.
The staff are amongst the best we have encountered anywhere, always a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them. Hotel staff elsewhere need to take a leaf from their book.
We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floors give fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PhilB505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
1.7 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 16 in Castries
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#9 of 16 in Castries
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
11.9 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Rendezvous Resort
Rendezvous Resort
#3 of 16 in Castries
4.5 of 5 stars 2,294 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Jou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Jou Hotel

Property: Bel Jou Hotel
Address: PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Lucia's wonderful, adults only hotel. Boasting stunning views over Castries and out across the gorgeous ocean from its setting atop a lush, tropical hillside, the 4-star Bel Jou provides a tranquil, tropical retreat for today's adult and senior travelers, free from the distractions of the more overrun resorts. With many opportunities for sightseeing and sampling island life, the hotel's relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a leisurely holiday or a lively Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bel Jou Castries
Bel Jou Hotel St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing