We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Happy return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bel Jou Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bel Jou Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Quedgeley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Happy return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just back from three wonderful weeks at the Bel Jou.
Weather excellent most of time although we did have one very unusual very wet day.
did our own thing which is sitting on the beach at Pigeon Island for the best part of every day. Some say boring, we say what the Caribbean is for. we love the variety of each day, there is always something different to see and the National Trust staff there are helpful and friendly.
Bel Jou itself is the same as ever, lovely food, super rooms and great company.

Room Tip: ask for high room if you like to have the view, ask for garden room if you would like to be closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    71
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
144
55
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We decided to post this review as we have been out for two meals in London since returning from the Bel Jou & neither came close to matching the quality & variety of food we enjoyed there every single day. Highlights included the freshest possible grapefruits & bananas from the hotel garden for breakfast, as we watched cruise ships arriving at Castries harbour, & leisurely dinners in the balmy evening air, watching bats flitting through the Strangler Fig tree whilst the exemplary waiting staff kept our glasses full. One continual challenge was to leave room for dessert &, although the scones provided for tea were excellent, we rarely had room for them! Having noted comments in previous reviews about the lack of traditional St Lucian fare on the menu, we raised this with the chef who responded that his menu reflected what guests actually ate.
Our room was comfortable & the daily maid service kept it spotless. We never tired of the view from the balcony & the sound of the Island’s wildlife (except for the dogs).
We were impressed by all of the staff & their efforts to make us feel welcome. Henry was a most attentive Saga Representative, who kept our brains working with his daily puzzles.
The hotel’s hillside location affords excellent views but the downside is that walking options are limited & it is necessary to take the hotel shuttle to the beach. However, having said that, we found the shuttle service to be very efficient with a choice of three very different beaches to visit.
Most of the excursions were enjoyable & watching dolphins leaping & spinning in front of the Pitons, whilst enjoying a glass of rum punch, will be an abiding memory. However, we would not recommend the aerial tram trip through the rainforest as a far wider range of flora & fauna could be viewed from our balcony.
In conclusion, there are many things about the Bel Jou, e.g. the light, the warmth, the friendly people, the food, the views, the ambience, the swimming, the dancing, the cocktails, etc etc.
John & Nancy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank jdmcg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Totally agree with all the good points about the Bel Jou and we thank ALL for making our stay a wonderful expierience. Only wish we had more st lucian dishes instead of the usual Saga safe roast beef dishes etc. Will return one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank BristolNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Saga run the Bel Jou in a relaxed way that suits their clients - most of whom were over 70.. (We are 65 and felt young)..
Rooms are clean and comfortable, food very traditional (a disappointing shortage of local dishes and shellfish) and service friendly. Excursions and the hotel bus all well organised and in a week we saw most of this lovely island.
A most enjoyable way of enjoying some Caribbean sun and seeing St Lucia without any hassle. Virgin flights (premium economy) also OK.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank denis y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
539 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday at The Bel Jou, really enjoyed our time there. After an initial problem which was sorted out quickly and efficiently by Camilla, the manager, the rest of our stay was great. We found Camilla to be very approachable and she is one young lady with her finger firmly on the pulse.
Henry the Saga rep is fantastic and nothing was any problem for him, he really does work very hard to ensure that everyone is looked after.
The staff are amongst the best we have encountered anywhere, always a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them. Hotel staff elsewhere need to take a leaf from their book.
We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floors give fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PhilB505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have recently returned from the Bel Jou after a truly wonderful holiday - and - we have decided that we will return in a little over 17 months to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary in this hotel! We really can't fault it. Camilla, the Manager, and her husband are truly delightful - and Henry Phillips, the Saga Rep, is such a charming gentleman who can't do enough for you. We loved the food, the rooms are a great size and fully air conditioned - and, of course, it is all inclusive - so we raise our glasses to the Bel Jou!!!! With a glass of Ginger Rum for a night cap!!
Peter and Su Wentworth

Room Tip: From what I know - all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MagicianFaringdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Irene and I decided to return to Saga's Bel Jou Hotel follow our stay there 2 years earlier. There is always likely to be a slight feeling that it might not be quite as good as we remembered. We needn't have had any concerns - almost every aspect of the trip was very good or excellent.

The included chauffeur service between home and Gatwick Airport worked well. True, outbound, it was a long journey in the early hours of the morning but it was very comfortable and the drivers were very considerate. Inbound, we slept much of the way!

Although the manager and the Saga Representative had changed since 2010, we felt that the facilities, service, excursions, food and drink were just as good. The staff are very friendly and attentive.

Don't forget your camera - the flowers, butterflies and birds in the garden make good subjects and the scenery of St Lucia is stunning.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views across to the Caribbean Sea, lower floors have better views of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank timrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
1.4 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
3.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
4.4 mi away
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
#5 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
19.0 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Jou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Jou Hotel

Property: Bel Jou Hotel
Address: La Pensee Road, Castries 89131, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Jou Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Lucia's wonderful, adults only hotel. Boasting stunning views over Castries and out across the gorgeous ocean from its setting atop a lush, tropical hillside, the 4-star Bel Jou provides a tranquil, tropical retreat for today's adult and senior travelers, free from the distractions of the more overrun resorts. With many opportunities for sightseeing and sampling island life, the hotel's relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a leisurely holiday or a lively Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bel Jou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Jou Castries
Bel Jou Hotel St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing