We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riding horses with a view”

Atlantic Shores Riding Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on the southern tip of the tropical island of St. Lucia, Atlantic Shores Riding Stable is the quintessential stop to experience in the Caribbean. Whether you are coming from a cruise ship or island resort, this stable is fit for an adventure for the whole family. Surrounded by thick rainforest and breathtaking ocean views from sea cliffs and secluded beaches, this stable offers tail rides through the pristine countryside. Catering to all skill levels, this stable treats their creole horses with the utmost care and safety is the top concern. Focusing more on smaller groups, you will venture out on horseback to ride on either a 2 hour beach ride or 3 hour country trail. Each ride will take you through gently rolling hills with velvety soft grasses, dramatic and steep sea cliffs towering over turquoise waters, and private beaches where you are free to gallop through the powder-soft sands. If the weather is right, you may even spend some time splashing with your horse in the warm Caribbean waves. You will have plenty of opportunities for photographs while on horseback, and your riding guide will introduce you to the history and culture of this tropical oasis. This part of the island hasn't been touched in centuries, so you can bask in the peace and quiet. Transfers are offered at a price for anyone arriving by cruise ship or from your private resort on the island. Our stable has been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate Of Excellence Award for 2015 and 2016 for outstanding service as a trusted and reputable tour operator in St.Lucia
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Riding horses with a view”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful. Smart horses, great guides, beautiful views.

The views are of the bay. I hear the waves, the sounds of nature and the trotting equine. Me and my temporary horse. In Paradise.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ghostiewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    9
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved the Ride and the View”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I ride on nearly every vacation we take. Because we stayed in Soufriere, we also wanted to experience the Atlantic side of the island. I am so glad we did -- it is truly amazing and the beauty of the area is breathtaking. I have no comparison that would give justice to the scenery. We enjoyed our ride with Max, the owner. He was very informative -- is a good guide and host. His horses are well kept and even tempered. We rode through the fields and open terrain, down the coastline and to the beach where we were allowed to gallop the horses along the waterfront. My husband and I loved every minute of it. Thank you Max!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank LoreneMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best - worth the trip from any part of the island”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had an amazing two hour ride with Max, the owner, on the beautiful and somewhat wild Atlantic side of the island. First and foremost, the horses are well-cared for ( fat, sound, no saddle sores, well-groomed, good feet) and well-behaved. They are clearly happy to work and Max takes great pride in his horses. We rode on the beach and in the highlands, and a beginner or an experienced rider would be equally as happy on this ride. For example, my daughter,a competitive rider, was encouraged to gallup across an oceanfront plateau, while I remained behind with Max. Max is pleasant and really cares that his guests have a great experience. We drove over an hour from the north end of the island to this stable, as we were concerned about the condition and welfare of the horses at some of the other stables we read about. The scenery, the horses and Max all added up to an incredible afternoon of riding. We were not sorry that we made the long trip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank catperson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome experience”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arranged our horseback ride by telephone for the following day. After a short taxi ride from our hotel in Vieux Fort, we were met by Max with 4 beautiful horses saddled and ready to go. On the 2 hour ride we saw some spectacular scenery and rode in the surf on 2 pristine secluded beaches. A great experience, very nice people, I highly recommend this company for riders of all ages and ability!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breathtaking day out, not to be missed.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Max, the owner, grew up around this stunning corner of St Lucia riding from a young age so he inspires confidence and knows the area intimately. Neither of us had ridden horses for over 20 years and not a great deal back then either but we always felt safe and relaxed. The scenery is beyond words as we meandered along this beautiful Atlantic coast and across pristine, deserted sandy beaches. There was time for a swim and we were never rushed. In fact the 2 hour excursion we booked lasted well over that time. Don't be afraid that it will be too hot either- the cooling onshore breeze kept us wonderfully refreshed. This was easily one of our best St Lucia experiences. I doubt you could horse ride in a more picturesque setting anywhere on earth and for a ridiculously good value of around $20 USD per person!

Helpful?
9 Thank stuffjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Shores Riding Stables also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Atlantic Shores Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing