We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the trip”

La Soufriere Drive-In Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.00*
and up
Soufriere Island Delight Half-Day Trip From St Lucia
Ranked #16 of 168 things to do in St. Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YOu can literally drive right into the crater of this volcano and walk between the bubbling sulfur springs and hissing pools of steam.
Charleston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The trip was 1 1/2 hour drive from the pier there. We made a stop overlooking a bay where the locals were pushy trying to sell you stuff and the men sat around getting high. The stench was powerful. We then continued on and stopped at the Prayer Park- It was beautiful and we saw many tropical flowers. Upon our arrival at the Volcano we watched a 5 minute video before driving to the volcano. There is unsavory locals waiting to rip you off selling there goods. ( a gentleman wanted a necklace selling for $5 and only had a $20 bill the local said he would give change however as soon as he had the $20 in hand he dropped 3 more necklaces and ran off) There is a guide who will explain the volcano to you. After 5 minutes you have seem everything there is to see and the sulfur smell will start getting to you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    203
    113
    25
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Day in St. Lucia”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I took a day trip out of Castries to see the volcano in Soufriere. The drive from Castries to the volcano is about an hour and a half. The roads are also very narrow and can seem to be like a roller coaster in some parts. I'm not complaining, it just might not be for some people. Anyways we got to the volcano the guides were nice and very informative, and taking a dip in the mud bath was quite the experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Everett04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So Much to see/excellent views of nature on the Island”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a fun tour. We viewed the volcano and the Pitons. I have some special pictures. We saw a banana plantation. Large snake-this we viewed from the bus. Viewed a scenic shore town. We had a chance to take pictures of ourselves with our ship in the background. The short stop at the Maranatha Garden to view the flowers WOW! The scripture verses from the Bible were refreshing. The only down side was the long trip-for any one with health issues-think about it. It was mountianist drive, some hairpin turns. Steps. And the sulphur smell from the volcano was strong.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bethniblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Interesting, but don't expect Yellowstone!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was worth seeing, lots of good history and informed guides about the volcanic nature of St. Lucia and formation. The "volcano" it self is a bunch of steam and mud pits. Neat to see, lots of fun sulphur smell - but expect to be a little underwhelmed vs. the tag line of "Drive in Volcano!" which really means, drive to a parking lot and walk on a platform and see some steam.

But a well run place, not too expensive, and informed guides. I really liked feeling the water temp of the stream - crazy hot.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Go see the active volcano !!!!!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

TOOK a tour by boat arranged by the island of Sr. LUCIA , the booths are there right when you get off of the ship. We paid 65.00 for a land and sea tour.NO LInks Tours was their name !!! They told all the history about the island as we drove toward the volcano and showed us some of the celebrity' s homes, then went to the volcano , where we were able to do a mud bath. Lots of laughs although a strong sulphur smell ,then we went by bus to the beautiful waterfall, saw some pretty flowers there!!!!We then we're taken to the beach where you could snorkel if you wanted , water was beautiful. This island is one body favorites!!!!! They also stopped for a beautiful pic onto of a mountain, a fun day in St.LUCIA , 4 hours perfect!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Soufriere Drive-In Volcano also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
St. Lucia, Caribbean
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to La Soufriere Drive-In Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing