We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely, friendly restaurant- BIG measures” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wharf Bar & Restaurant

The Wharf Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #67 of 231 Restaurants in St. Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly restaurant- BIG measures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were staying nearby and The Wharf was recommended to us for dinner. Good menu combining American classics and local caribbean fayre. Lisa was happy to talk through the menu and specials and make recommendations. Cocktails are great and they're heavy handed with the rum! We went back for lunch the next day but walked so that my husband could have some drinks (He'd got a "take-away" rum punch the night before!)
We tried the cheeseburger, veggie burger, Kingfish and vegetable roti. All great. We also enjoyed the banana ketchup and trying out the extremely hot hot sauce! I do love it when a retaurant brings out such a good selection of sauces!
Prices were extremely reasonable- at our second resort in the South of the island we were paying the same in US dollars as we'd been paying in EC at the Wharf!
Lovely view of the sea and beach over the balcony!
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyJennyJenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    30
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place needs "Building Extreme Makeover"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

That is not a title that is going to catch your attention but once you get there and try their coconut shrimp, you won't care if the ceiling is falling down around you. The food in this place is GREAT, don't be fooled by the condition of the building. The bartender Kolonel (?) mixed up a great rum punch, and please excuse our lack of attention because we can't remember her name but the owners daughter is a great host and has lots of energy that makes you want to stick around so you don't miss anything.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good food at great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently stayed next door to the Warf for 8 nights. Although we had kitchens in our rooms, we ate out most of the time. We were very glad that The Warf was next door! The food is very good and prices very reasonable - lower than any other place we ate on our trip without sacrificing food quality or quantity. We had two waitresses who were absolutely fabulous in terms of helping us order what we would like and simply having great personalities! The restaurant seems unused to dealing with large crowds, yet they did a great job when ~20 of us showed up on a Thursday evening. They stayed open a bit longer than they had planned and served up great food.
Prices and wait times were lower than anticipated at each meal. Many items were in the $8-12 USD range and drinks less expensive than most places. It took between 15-25 min to order and have food on the table. Check the board for daily specials and a list of the fresh fish that arrived earlier in the day.
In short, this place might not look like much from the street-front, but it has good food, wonderful views, and great service. If you go, please don't forget to tip your waitress as no service charges are included in the tab.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis,MN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, good view, and daily specials.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were very pleased with the Wharf, in terms of price, service and quality of the food. They have American food and local dishes (we preferred the local dishes, and our son had hamburgers). The prices are about the same (25 EC or $9.25 US) for a hamburger or plate of local food, with rice and peas and ground provisions. Rice and peas (which Americans call beans) often consist of lentils in St. Lucia, although many different kinds of beans are offered at different places. Ground provisions are dasheen (taro), sweet potato, breadfruit, plantains, etc. Starchy vegetables, basically, which are a major staple of the Lucian diet. Fish dishes were perhaps 35 EC. They also have daily specials where you can get fish or chicken with rice and ground provisions, soup and dessert for 25 EC. They are right on the ocean at Choc bay, so they views are very nice. Choc bay is a nice little beach if you want to make a day of it (we parked our teenage son there while we walked the beach). The folks who run it are really nice, and remembered our preferences from previous visits. My wife decided that she wanted to eat here for her birthday, as opposed to any other restaurant.

Its actually tricky to get into their parking lot. It is on the main Castries to Gros Islet road, right after the sandals kiosk, around a bend in the road. You can only get in going north, so if you are driving south, you need to go to the next roundabout and turn around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oakdruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed right next door to The Wharf at the amazing Villa Beach Cottages and had our first lunch there. We were so relaxed and comfortable. Lisa, the owner's daughter, spent a great deal of time giving us her personal tips regarding where to dine and what to see on the Island. We went back there several more times for lunch and the best Piña Coladas. They were delicious and hit the spot. We wore our bathing suits and cover ups and just sort of hung around. We had a chicken and beef Roti which was delicious and the Club sandwich was delicious. I believe my husband ordered that three times. We were introduced to banana ketchup (the hot sauce was perfect for my husband but burned my lips). We bought a jar at the local supermarket and I am sure it will become a favorite staple in our home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Gros Islet Quarter, St. Lucia
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Castries, Castries Quarter
 

Been to The Wharf Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing