We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cruise, but no food”

Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Saint Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore volcanoes, take a mud bath in a natural spring, zip line through the trees, go off roading on a ATV tour and more! Island Routes is an independently-operated tour company that handpicks the best of the best things to do and see in the Caribbean. Come and experience fully-guided, one-of-a-kind adventure tours that utilize the most premium equipment, training, and safety standards in the industry! Island Routes is also a contributor and leader in understanding the importance of environmental and sustainable tourism. Currently operating tours in St. Lucia , Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Dominican Republic, the Bahamas, Turks & Caicos, Grenada, Barbados, Grand Cayman, St. Maarten and Jamaica.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
glassboro
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cruise, but no food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took the Martinique Splendor cruise from St Lucia on March 28, 2013. The cruise itself was great, but the tour company did not have enough food on board for everyone. After being on a boat all day, we were starving and the captain would not accept responsibility. Would recommend if you go bring a bag lunch and ask for food refund money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    25
    11
    6
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost missed my cruise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I booked the Lover's Rock Sunset Cruise (St Lucia) for March 30th, 2013 and was disappointed with the service offered by Island Routes.

I was given an Itinerary including a pick up time of 4:20PM at my villa for a 5:00PM sailing. At 4:30PM, there was still no one in sight and no one contacted me. I called the query number (using an international roaming phone as I do not reside in St Lucia) only to be initially told that the cruise was not being offered.

A further search revealed that the cruise was leaving at 5:00PM and that the pick up driver was having problems finding my location. This was my first trip to St Lucia and I was not familiar with the area but recalled that there was a mall in the vicinity of my villa at which I could meet the driver. However, that was when I realised that the driver was not in fact searching for me but had already dropped off the remaining passengers at the boat. I was given the name of the local company offering the cruise and told to find them. I was truely lost!

I must give some credit to the attendant on the phone who was trying to be as helpful as possible even though it appeared that she was based in Jamaica and having a three way phone conversation with the local company in St Lucia to assist me. She did eventually get some useful directions to me at 4:50PM but advised that the boat was still scheduled to depart at 5:00PM.

By the grace of God, a rental car, road map, international phone plan and the kindness of random St Lucians to give directions, I was able to reach Vigie Cove and meet the boat at 5:30PM. The local company, Carnival Sailing had kept the catamaran waiting and we were able to board. Albeit and understandably, we did meet a few upset faces as we had delayed an entire sunset cruise (over 25 persons) by half an hour.

The cruise itself was amazing but I would advise future clients to book directly with Carnival Sailing and forego the third party booking agencies.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ShawnB_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
453 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Land + Sea Adventure = The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you could only do one adventure tour on the island, this would be the best selection as it gives you a seven hour look at the island.
From the bays, villages, and fields of bananas to the beautiful Botanical Gardens, the day was paced perfectly. Flora at the gardens is diverse, the Sulphur Springs Volcano was smelly and fascinating and lunch at a beautiful jungle restaurant was superb!
The second part of the day was spent on a spacious catamaran where we cruised around to see a different perspective of the island. Snorkeling in Marigot Bay was enjoyable and a nice way to end the tour.
Excellent excursion and worth the price!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa8776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandRoutes, Manager at Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Saint Lucia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Alexa we are delightful that you enjoyed our Land and Sea Tour! We are happy that you were able to experience the culture of St. Lucia and that it will be an experience you will never forget. Thanks for booking with us! We can't wait to go on more adventures with you in the future.


LIVE FUNNER!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Day pass. Everthing from start to finsh was perfect. Loved this resort! I wasnt sure about booking an excursion ouside of the cruise company, but im so happy we did. This was our best excursion from our 7 day cruise. Its so relaxing. We had a private driver. They made sure we made it back to port with time to spare. Drinks included, and all the water sports, and no kids. PERFECT

Helpful?
Thank michelle29365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandRoutes, Manager at Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Saint Lucia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Michelle we are delighted that we were able to far exceed your expectations at Island Routes. Thanks for booking with us! We can't wait to go on more adventures with you in the future.


LIVE FUNNER!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good times!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were in St. Lucia for 10 days. It rained 1 day. The day we went Zip-lining. Honestly best move ever. What are you going to do on the resort when it rains. Sex and drinking only can make up part of the day. George of the jungle was funny and his peeps were considerate despite heavy downpour (it is a rainforest). Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rdoubles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandRoutes, Manager at Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Saint Lucia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are thrilled that even on a rainy day you still enjoyed your Ziplining adventure with us. Thanks for booking with us! We can't wait to go on more adventures with you in the future.



LIVE FUNNER!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Saint Lucia also viewed

Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Castries, Castries Quarter
 

Been to Island Routes Caribbean Adventures - Saint Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing