We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must see view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pitons

Pitons
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Pirates' Day Cruise Adventure from St Lucia
Ranked #3 of 170 things to do in St. Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A spectacular landmark of St. Lucia visible for miles, Petit Piton and Gros Piton are twin volcanic spires majestically soaring out of the sea with waves crashing around their bases.
arundel
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“a must see view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stunning petit and gros Pitons are iconic landmarks of st lucia and are beautiful when see from land or the sea. We did both. One of the best viewpoints is from Dasheene restaurant in Ladera resort - go for lunch and soak up the view and the delicious food. Or grab a boat ride from Rodney Bay (we went on the mystic mountain one organised by Sunlink tours US185 pp) - includes pick up from hotel, and transport to Rodney bay, boat trip to Soufrieres and then transport to Tet Paul nature trail and entry and then canapés and drink at Dashene, transport back to Soufriere and boat trip back and drop off at hotel. Our sun link rep was great fun and we all ended up singing our way back as we sped along in the boat as the sun went down.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_lee_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    968
    346
    59
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

the scenery was great but the taxi ride was horrible! they drive way to fast with so many curves and mountains bring your motion sickness medicine with you!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 531Jeff1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pretty spectacular thing to see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Pitons were amazing to see - we got off the ship, came out and booked a tour with the street vendors at the port. They took us to the Pitons which were just beautiful to see. Felt like we were in Jurassic Park!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Land Sea to the Pitons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I purchased this excursion through the cruise ship (Celebrity), and thoroughly enjoyed it! The port we arrived in was very industrial and not aesthetically appealing compared to other ports, but nonetheless, the excursion company picked us up in vans just steps from the cruise ship. Fair warning, if you suffer from motion sickness, fear of heights, or dread very steep and windy roads, this probably isn't the adventure for you! You MUST bring a camera, as the views are amazing throughout the entirety of the trip, and from the many areas where you stop as well. But be prepared, because at every stop you will be bombarded by vendors who are more than eager to sell you their wares. The tour guide provided us with a wealth of information about the islands history, how it government system works, about the breathtaking wildlife and fauna, etc. We drove through a banana plantation, visited a very impoverished fishing village, and eventually boarded a catamaran to snorkel. An onboard lunch was served that was delicious! The green bananas, a staple food item in St. Lucia, is a must try!!! Don't miss this chance to see St. Lucia like you never have before and to see the infamous Pitons!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernBelle950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Climbing Gros Piton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I signed up for a guided tour and was picked up by the "taxi" at 07:30 at my hotel Rex at the top of island. Unfortunately had no breakfast too early for cooks. However chatted to the driver and mentioned we had been told about some Cassava bread that was baked in a village we were due to pass through. We eventually picked up about 8 of us and he stopped of at the village and bought some of the bread with cheese. I was quite hungry and it was delicious. Climbing the hill was quite straight forward it is rough in parts but mainly steep going all the way . Great views from the top. Going down was much easier, at least I felt so, but again steep and you have to wear good footwear. Guide recommended at least 1 1/2 litre of water and we needed it . Terrific experience I was 69 when I climbed it so don't be put off we were a really mixed age group ( I wasn't last to the Top )

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gem88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitons also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Pitons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing