We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snorkelling, jungle biking & a spa treatment too”

Anse Chastanet Beach and Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Coastal Cruise in St. Lucia
Ranked #19 of 170 things to do in St. Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach has a world-class scuba center. One of the best diving sites on the island.
Manchester
Level Contributor
216 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Snorkelling, jungle biking & a spa treatment too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was very impressed Anse Chastanet welcomed & catered for non residents so well. Whilst my husband did the jungle biking, I had a fabulous spa treatment at the resort's spa. Access is directly from the beach at the 'non-resident' end. If you want a fab massage, ask for Theo. She was excellent & I was so relaxed, I felt I was floating out of the door.

The jungle biking unfortunately disappointed my husband who is a serious cyclist. The trail options weren't explained properly & by the time he worked out there was a more advanced trail, he was told to return as there was a 3.30pm time limit. Frustratingly, the booking staff said had we arrived 20 minutes earlier, he could have started earlier & enjoyed longer on the trails instead of hanging around until the next time slot. Would have been amazing had she enabled him to start sooner.

Downside at Anse Castanet:- with the exception of the staff at the spa who were fab, most other staff weren't as friendly or helpful as they might have been.

On the plus side we both enjoyed the snorkelling & a very nice light lunch in the restaurant. I didn't mind paying for the beach chairs, the snorkel & a locker as we were delighted we could call in & use their facilities.

Tip 1:- the drive to the resort from Soufriere even in a jeep is only for very confident drivers. Its surface is awful; bumpy, potholed & narrow. Take a taxi or get a water taxi from Soufriere.
Tip 2 :- take plenty of mosquito repellent. Its a beautiful place but the natural "jungle" environment at Anse Castanet has its fair share of mosquitos. Be warned

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Limeturquoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    76
    34
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time enjoying this Beach. Our son and daughter-in-law enjoyed snorkeling and the scuba diving tours offered at this beach. We also had our grandsons which the oldest is 4 and they loved playing at the beach and in the water. We did not stay @ the resort so we had to rent our lounge chairs and beach hut. The cost to rent 2 chairs were US $20 and if you wanted a hut it was an extra US $10 each additional chair is US $10, as well. Our taxi driver, Clauvie, brought us to the beach from our villa above the beach since we were carrying snorkeling gear, diving gear, lunch cooler and toys for the little ones. It was a wonderful trip rain or shine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt island, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Snorkeling Anse Chastenet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place I found out about from our resort owner. I drove here from Marigot Bay and it was well worth the trip. All the beaches are free so there was not an issue with pulling into the resort to use the beach. The best snorkeling is along the cliff walls on the south end of Anse Chastenet beach. I actually swam up into some beautiful caves that had entrances from the cliff side. I didn't go up into them far as I was by myself but you could go in some as they had huge air pockets inside them. If others were around I might have ventured more in. The water is extremely clear and along with snorkeling Sugar Beach these were the best places I had seen. Highly recommend this for snorkeling. The water does drop off quite deep just north of the rocks, as this island doesn't seem to have much of a shelf.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sweepygolf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
392 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“The Best Snorkelling in St Lucia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

As we spent our honeymoon at Anse Chastenet Hotel many years ago, whenever we are in St. Lucia we always return to the beach for snorkelling and lunch, as we have such fond recollections of it.

We actually now enjoy the adventure of bumping down the terribly pot-holed, long drive to the hotel. You get a great view of the Pitons as you wind your way along it. It seems to take about 10 minutes to get to the car park and security gate house. There have never been any problems about accessing the beach though they do make a note of your name. Beaches are public in St. Lucia and access to them should not be denied.

As the best part of the beach for snorkelling is on the left side, this is the part that we always head for. There are sun shades built all along the beach, and we usually find shade to sit under one of these on the left. We rarely pay for a sun bed, as we are not on the beach long enough.

The bar and restaurant are rustically decorated and we like the creole costumes that the staff wear. The bar has a great cocktails menu and we enjoy the lunches which include local produce and dishes on their menu. I have also frequently bought swimwear or tee-shirts in the hotel clothing shop, as I like the range of things that are stocked.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank CindyAnn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
690 reviews
285 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Clear, clean bay with best, most accessible snorkelling in Soufriere! But policy for non-resident guests is frustrating!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

For those who have never been down the unpaved back roads of a Caribbean island, then for you, the journey is the destination in getting to Anse Chastanet’s beach!

If you have the time and you’d like to see what a true volcanic black sand beach looks like, then do make the drive.

I believe that the policy for access to all public beaches upon which a private hotel sits should be revised. I’ve read reviews on here about Jalousie (now Sugar Beach), but we’ve also had the same experience here at Anse Chastanet.

We decided to visit for an early Sunday morning swim. The guards let us through and told us that there was no charge to use the facilities.

When we got down to the beach, only a few of the dozens of palapas were occupied and so we rested our things down under one to go into the sea and were promptly stopped and asked if we were resident guests.

Upon answering in the negative, we were told that the ‘other’ end of the beach is where we’d have to put our belongings and that if we wanted to use the plastic beach chairs, we’d have to pay US$10 for the day.

We were a little annoyed by this as: a) we were only staying for about an hour to have a swim and lie out for abit to dry off and b) the place was practically empty and we would have left the hotel’s compound by the time most guests finished their breakfast and started coming down to the beach.

Upon seeing our disappointment, the beach attendant told us that we could leave our stuff on the chairs while we went in to swim and then once we came out, to move them, which we did.

In the end we didn’t mind the move, as the other end of the beach had a more gradual slope into the water, unlike the guest side which had a very steep drop-off and more choppy water. So we actually enjoyed swimming on the ‘non-resident’ side of the beach more! The water was clear and invigorating.

What we didn’t like thereafter was another staff member (this time from Watersports) coming up to us to say that the chairs were in fact US$20 for the day per person, so the cost went up by 100% in the space of half an hour!

We didn’t know if the beach attendant was just not properly informed or whether the price went up with the second staff member to discourage us from staying on the beach longer.
In the end, we decided that it was a waste of money to pay for the chair for 1 hour and took up our things and went into the beach bar where we sat down to have drinks.

We truly felt like we were treated as second-class citizens, even though we are decent, mature
people and would happily patronise the restaurant / bar as well during any visit.

I would recommend to Anse Chastanet that they revise their beach policy. Maybe free use of the facilities for folks who would just like to take a quick swim and leave under 1 hour.
And if visitors come to have breakfast or lunch, the chair fee maybe should be waived altogether. This would encourage more people to visit and patronise the hotel.

Alternatively, if guest passes are paid for and managed by the security booth then there won’t be need for bothering guests when they get down to the beach, or for having the beach attendants and water sports employees having to monitor external guests constantly.

The beach is not bad but we feel like another visit just isn’t worth the hassle under the present arrangement.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anse Chastanet Beach and Reef also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
St. Lucia, Caribbean
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
St. Lucia, Caribbean
 

Been to Anse Chastanet Beach and Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing