We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is about the same quality as Red Lobster”
Review of Dasheene at Ladera

Dasheene at Ladera
Ranked #11 of 250 Restaurants in St. Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food is about the same quality as Red Lobster”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have no idea how so many people gave such positive reviews for the food hear. I can assure you that the food is not good. The seafood is not fresh, and the dishes are pedestrian at best. I have a feeling that more people who left positive reviews live in land locked states where they think Red Lobster is good seafood. We stayed at Ladera so we ate here a couple of times. The quality of the food did not hold up to the extremely steep price tags on the food. Also, I have to question the quality of their bar. We were having a drink at the bar one afternoon. We watched the bar tender hand someone else an empty handle of Absolute Vodka and a funnel. Five minutes later the guy returned with a fully handle and the funnel. The bar tender put it back in the freezer. Take from that what you will.

In Anthony Bourdain's book Kitchen Confidential he talks about how kitchens you can't see are notoriously grosser than you would like to think. Bourdain recommends gauging a restaurant's kitchen's cleanliness by the bathrooms at the restaurant. I've found this to be a good comparison. He points out that if a place doesn't keep the bathroom clean and they know you see the bathroom, you can assume they are putting even less into keeping their kitchen clean. The bathrooms here are not well maintained. If you are staying at a different resort, I would not recommend going out of your way to book a dinner here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheJoshManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermael C, Manager at Dasheene at Ladera, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Josh Manning, Contrary to your comments, the seafood at Dasheene is fresh and our local cuisine has been recognized internationally for the past 20 years. We do not understand your need to be derogatory towards Red Lobster or what your comments are meant to imply. However, we do offer excellent levels of quality and service and our prices are comparable to that of our neighbors. We wish to also officially state that we do not modify our drinks and compromise quality and find those allegations towards our employess offending and unacceptable. We appreciate your special effort to undermine Ladera as referenced in your hotel comments (please see our response) however you neglected to mention the real reason behind your review; which is in reference to your female partner at our gourmet restaurant in her bikini which you refused to accept is totally inappropriate for a high-end establishment. I am sorry that it resulted in an issue which brought about these negative comments, but our readers need to know that these comments are out of context. Kind regards The Culinary team at Ladera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    234
    132
    50
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arundel
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“heavenly view and food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nestled in between the two Pitons this restaurant has the location to die for and fortunately the food to match. We had prawns and pineapple gazpacho to start followed by a curried roti and salad and mahi mahi with fruit salad. All the dishes were fresh and tasted fantastic. We also stopped there for canapés on one of the organised tours we went on and yet again the food was fantastic: prawns skewered on sugar cane, stuffed plantains, scallops, banana chips, vegetable fritters. Best to go at lunch time to enjoy the view, but the food would be just as good at dinner!! I would recommend reserving a table to get one near the balcony edge.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo_lee_spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Exquisite views”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great bar and music. Really made our last evening special. We also loved the view from the balcony overlooking Sugar Beach between Gros and Petit Pieton.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ridiculous View”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you aren't staying in Soufriere I would highly recommend visiting Ladera to eat here. The view is breathtaking. You are sitting above the Piton's while you eat. The food is pretty amazing and the wait staff was awesome. It's a tad pricey though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wow!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

this was one of the few places which actually satisfied us on every level. the food was great and when i ordered a dish which was peppery without knowing it, the staff quickly changed it and came to make sure that I was ok. presentation was excellent as well as service from a professional, courteous staff. of course, the view is excellent since the hotel is situated high up between the twin peaks. for the price, it can't get any better than this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Delia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dasheene at Ladera also viewed

 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Dasheene at Ladera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing