We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Dasheene at Ladera

Dasheene at Ladera
Ranked #14 of 246 Restaurants in St. Lucia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were staying at Boucan across the street but decided to come to Dasheene for a break from all of the cocoa. The view from the bar is absolutely stunning, however that was the only highlight of our evening. The cocktails we ordered were just okay, and my shrimp "special" entree was disgusting. It was just a handful of shrimp covered in a sickening sweet tomato based sauce. Also, the sides and presentation were exactly the same for both of our dishes which is just lazy. For the prices they are charging, we really expected a much better meal. I recommend you come for a drink and enjoy the sunset view but don't waste your money on dinner here!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank C4MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    226
    130
    50
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a beautiful place lovely views and excellent staff .comfortable seating and fab views. Try it you will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tessa805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

For our last meal out in St. Lucia we wanted something special. Dasheene was an amazing, romantic and fun experience.

The entrance and walk up to the restaurant sets the stage. The aesthetics are wonderful. This is the place to watch the sunset between the pitons.

Staff here were incredibly friendly, the most hospitable we met on the island. Elizabeth was kind and always checking in with us which added to the enjoyment of our meals. Her and her colleagues went out of their way to accommodate our daughter.

The food was all well prepared, presented and full of flavor. We really enjoyed our cocoa infused lamb. The lava cake desert was also yummy!

Was a nice way to end our trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seoulsoulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs a little work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff throughout the resort were very nice and pleasant to deal with, save the restaurant staff. They seemed somewhat inconvenienced when you walked in. Now, I will say that their uniforms were not only out dated, they looked to be as hot, confining and uncomfortable as one can imagine. This is an island resort in the middle of the Caribbean for goodness sake! If this is a requirement of the owners, then they need a lesson in fashion! As far as the food goes, I highly recommend on of the restaurants at Sugar Beach! For one, the tropical fruit juice served at breakfast wasn't watered down as it was at Dasheene and was naturally sweet; it didn't need the simple syrup given to us at Dasheene.

We had two meals at SB and it was amazing.

Don't get me wrong; the views at Dasheene were amazing! The atmosphere, however, was/is lacking tremendously. Dasheene/Ladera need to incorporate a bit of A/C throughout the complex. Every now and then a dry, cool place is refreshing in an area such as st. Lucia.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food and view were amazingggg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place!! We ate here all 3 nights we were here, and never had a bad meal! My husband ordered the fresh catch of the day every night, and was never disappointed! The filet was amazing!! I loved it so much, I asked the chef to make it again the last night I was there, and he was so nice, and made it for me again!! The desserts were also amazing! Our waitress was Leah, and she was soooo nice! If you go to St. Lucia, def. visit this place for dinner, you wont regret it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dasheene at Ladera also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Dasheene at Ladera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing