We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Restaurant - Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Sereno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Sereno Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
227 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant - Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We did not stay at Le Sereno, but we were fortunate enough to eat at their restaurant. What a gorgeous setting for dinner. This would be a perfect place for a special occasion, a romantic dinner, or with your family as was the case with our experience.

Olivier and Karim, our servers, were outstanding! They were right on top of every need before we knew we needed it! They were so friendly and they chatted with us about the island, the hotel and were extremely charming.

The food was heavenly, the scallop appetizer was delectable, with flavors that went on and on! The grilled lobster was so tender and the desserts, although we were to full, looked outstanding! The bartender delighted us with wonderful cocktails when we arrived a few minutes early and so the entire experience from beginning to end was perfect!

I think this is a "must-do" while in St. Bart's!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBHAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    22
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
131
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

After searching for months for a perfect hotel in Saint Barth's to spend our honeymoon, we decided on Le Sereno. The honeymoon package they offered seemed affordable and included activities, which is good because apart from dinning and beaches Saint Barth's does not have a lot more, as well as daily breakfast and a dinner.

Upon arrival we were picked up from the airport and taken to the hotel were we were greeted by the staff. Although we had sent them our travel information we were informed that our room was not ready (we arrived at 11:30am). When your on your honeymoon and spend the last year of life planning a wedding the last thing you want is to have a hick up. So we waited and were given a complimentary drink, the view and weather were incredible so it was not that bad.

The summary of the honeymoon package said we would receive a bottle of champagne upon arrival. However, after requesting it for 3 days we finally got it on the third day when we were supposed to get the 2nd bottle of champagne.

The room was pristine, clean, beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and we had ton of space in booth the room and bathroom. Our room was cleaned daily.

The hotel was gorgeous, all the facilities were clean and well maintained. However, coming for a culture where customer service is key, we found this to be lacking in the staff. We had breakfast included, but we would sit at a table for more than 10 min before having anyone come by to get our order, and then waited another 10-15 to get our food. This was frustrating and annoying when you want to eat to be able to enjoy by the pool or visit a beach.

The cherry on top came when were asked to pick if we wanted a sunset cruise or a scuba diving excursion. We choose the scuba diving. They tell us to be at Gustavia (no reference to the exact location) at a certain time. We get there and wait for about 45min and see no scuba diving catamaran, upon calling the hotel they tell us that the scuba excursion is the following day. To say it nicely, we were pretty upset. We ate lunch so fast and lost a day that we could have enjoyed at the beach. Even though the staff apologized for having told us in the morning our cruise was Wednesday, it made us mad.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. It is a French island were customer service is not held to the level of American standards. We enjoyed our room very much, as well as the friendly staff. We would have liked to have gotten our two bottles of champagne on the correct days and had the staff over something for their mix up on the scuba trip than just an apology.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elydeperez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I just returned from a 4 day getaway at Le Sereno in St. Bart. The property is lovely, relaxing, and the food wonderful. The staff is friendly and we were well taken care of. In the morning we would stake out a lovely two person lounge with a view of the beautiful ocean. The team would put down fresh towels, bring drinks and water throught the day. The best was when they brought a bench so we could eat from our lounge so we did not interrupt our view or relaxation. Rooms are clean and cool, and the little gym works well. That Le Sereno had a beach was important we spent a lot of time in the water and the hotel is tucked into a corner of the beach preserve so it is restful. Can't wait to go back next year, but I will bring more sun tan lotion as you want to be outside all day.

Room Tip: Garden Terraces do have a view of the ocean and are a better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

As an architect, I really appreciated the distinctly French modern design. The attention to details is sublime from the site design to the lighting fixtures. The room that we stayed in had a lovely private deck facing the bay. It was in the section of the Grandes Suites Plages as shown in their brochure. The private entry to our suite had an outdoor deck area with two chaises. The bathroom was ample and wonderfully designed to feel very private even though windows opened onto the private front garden.

I loved the pool area- a combination of chaises and giant mattresses with pillows. It made for a very hedonistic experience while sunbathing. The food was excellent and the wait staff very friendly. Apparently much of the clientele is composed of Americans and South Americans. I was told that the French go to ski the Alps for their winter vacations.

I was slightly disappointed by the beach location. It is not a wide beach and the bay that it fronts is very shallow for a long distance so it's not a very good swimming beach. Also, there are motor craft moored in front - boats and jet skis -which I feel detracts from the atmosphere. There is not real snorkelling there. We did find lots of conches, sea urchins and sea grass. The bay is best for wind surfing which we did enjoy watching from the restaurant.

If you are into being pampered and surrounded by luxury and access to fine dining, this is a great place. If you are an outdoorsperson who likes to walk, hike, bike or snorkel, I would try a different island.

Room Tip: There was a slight sewer smell on our 3rd day in the private area in front of our suite. It wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We consider this to be one of the top places to dine on the island. The fish en croute de sel is wonderful and the Madagascar
prawns Provençal are so good I hesitate to choose anything else. We have tried the bouillabaisse too when available and the fish soup is simply the best I have had anywhere, better than being in Marseilles. Creatures of habit, we always share the same dessert. Unfortunately the warm rolls and French butter are too good. We usually start with the main course. The restaurant faces the sea.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel has a gorgeous view of the lagoon. We stayed in a grand plage suite, it was beautifully appointed. I love the minimalist contemporary feel of the decor. Gorgeous wood floors luxurious white liens. The service and staff are top notch. The hotel restaurant was excellent we arrived on Valentines day and they had a wonderful menu prepared complete with a decadent chocolate dessert shaped like the island. The pool and beach area had stunning views of the lagoon. The hotel provides paddle boards and kayaks. I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. It's expensive but worth every penny. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Sereno in as many years. It was even better during our second stay. The new general manager has brought the level of service up a couple of notches. Bravo.

First, about the beds and linens. When we can my wife travel with our pillows. We're wired that way. The linens and beds here are top notch. Better than home. Just some luxurious stuff.

Secondly, this end of the island. We've been visiting the island for 15 years and the destination is no longer an exclusive niche, it's becoming an ever more crowded scene. Grand cul de Sac is is wonderfully quiet, while at the same time a mere 10 minutes from the airport. This place is more like the island when we first visited. Also, with a half a dozen restaurant choices in the immediate area and another handful 5 minutes away in Pt Milou one can easily avoid the insanity of St Jean and Gustavia their entire stay - provided of course they want to.

Thirdly, the hotel's restaurant Des Pecheurs. Breakfast, which is included in your stay is as varied as you'd ever need for a week long stay, and fresh squeezed juices and homemade yogurt are available every morning. There aren't too many places on the island that are as perfect a setting as this place is for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Lastly, don't deter when anyone remarks about the quality of the beach here. Everyone rents a car here and tdrives to the best beaches anyway, which are no more than a 10 minute drive from the Sereno. Besides, those in the know understand what a great experience it is to reserve your double chaise here for the afternoon and indulge yourself with endless beverages and lunch.

Cheap. No, but nothing on this island is. However, for St Barths the Sereno is one of it's best values.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relevance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Cul-de-Sac
0.9 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Taiwana
Hotel Taiwana
#2 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel
#7 of 8 in St. Jean
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sereno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sereno Hotel

Property: Le Sereno Hotel
Address: Grand Cul de Sac BP 19 | St Barthelemy, 97133, St. Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Grand Cul-de-Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Sereno Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of Leading Hotels of the World, Le Sereno Hotel is an intimate property with 37 rooms and 3 villas all designed by Christian Liaigre. Le Sereno stretches along 180 meters of sandy beach on the coveted Grand Cul de Sac, where virtually all of the suites and villas have a view of the turquoise lagoon. Kayak, paddle board and snorkelling equipment available complimentary to hotel guests. Tennis court also complimentary 5mn driving from property. Jetski, diving club, kite surf and windsurfing available at extra fee on the beach next to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Sereno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Sereno
Le Sereno Hotel St. Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing