We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence defined” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Ondines Sur La Plage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Les Ondines Sur La Plage
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellence defined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Les Ondines has been our home away from home for the past 10 years. We know the island well, and have been to many other hotel properties and villas but have remained really happy at Les Ondines. The personal, warm and welcoming service at Les Ondines is their standard. Zero staffing turnover really speaks volumes about the team. Raymond Laplace, the owner, is constantly investing in the hotel, doing maintenance and upgrades all the time. This hotel has never seemed "tired."

We travel with our kids who are now 12 & 15 - the staff has known them since they were babies! They love it at Les Ondines and can't imagine a year without seeing Raphael! It's a super safe area and they can just go out on the beach, and now that they are older, to the pool. While we don't spend much time on Grand Cul-de-Sac beach (we prefer Grande Saline) it is wonderful to look out onto the crystal blue lagoon, watching pelicans dive for fish while kite surfers and wind surfers fly by. The doors in our villa suite push back into the walls so it is completely open to the beach and breezes. The beds are so comfortable and so are the pillows! We use the A/C at night in the rooms but never need it during the day.

Wonderful property, wonderful staff, wonderful island. A perfect combination for the perfect vacation!

Room Tip: As for a water view - all but one suite has it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hilary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel has a lovely location right on the small Grand Cul de Sac beach. Short walk to Le Sereno or short kayak to Guanahani if you want to visit St. Barth 5 star over the top living. We reserved a pool view suite and were provided with an ocean view suite on check in (no extra charge). The suite had just a colossal amount of space (by St. Barths standards) and was quite lovely. The room service team provided a lovely and massive (by French standards) breakfast, variety of cut up fresh fruit and baguettes/ chocolate croissants, always a surprise beverage for our 5 year old (chocolate milk, etc.). Excellent and sweeping view of the bay from the terrace. I could go on and on about the basics, but no question the highlight was Raphael who has been on the island for 22 years. Need something for the kitchen? Raphael will have the van out in a jiffy and drive you to the supermarket. Need a rental car? No problem, Raphael will merrily take you to the airport if the rental agency won't deliver. He's probably the happiest, most effective front man/ concierge I've ever met! Totally over the top.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I spend a week here at the end of November. It was our first trip to St. Barth, though we have traveled widely in the Caribbean. We really enjoyed the island and plan to go back - and we would definitely go back to Les Ondines because our experience there was such an important contributor to our overall enjoyment of the holiday. The location is great for the views across the bay/lagoon and all the activities happening there.The hotel is small, and is like a little oasis of calm among the bustle that is going on around and in the bay. We had a ground floor room with deck and steps down to the beach. Breakfast in the morning sitting on the patio looking out on the water was perfect. We don't cook on holiday, but the kitchen was useful because we could make a sandwich or snack on cold meat and pate from the local minimart. In the evening, if you did not go out for dinner it was simple to walk a few metres along the beach and bring back a perfect pizza to go with your wine.

The (very small) staff at Les Ondines are great. Raphael met us at the airport and took us back the next morning to pick up our rental car. He was a wonderful resource for tips on where to dine, where to swim and snorkel, where to leave the car to hike into a bay and where to shop. Margarite brought in our breakfast in the morning so beautifully arranged and our room was always spotless. The hotel has some nice touches, like access to the kayaks, a shower on the beach and folding chairs that you can take with you when you go to explore other beaches in the car.

Les Ondines suited our style of holiday in the Caribbean perfectly - if you like to explore the island on your own and sample the different beaches, villages, Gustavia and dining experiences then it is perfect. If you don't want to drive and prefer a large all inclusive resort then you will need to go somewhere else.

Room Tip: You have a choice of rooms upstairs with a balcony or downstairs with a patio and deck. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Les Ondines on our second visit to St Barths. As previously mentioned, Raphael is not only hospitable, but is incredibly knowledgeable about the island, restaurants, and activities on the island. We started each day with breakfast on our patio overlooking the ocean, usually followed by some kayaking in the beautiful bay, steps away from our room. The rooms are well cared for and clean and even included a dishwasher and laundry machine. The pictures on the website do not do justice to the rooms. The pool was beautiful and was enjoyed daily as it seemed as if it were our private pool. The location of Hotel is far enough away from the busy parts of the island but within very short drive to any beach / restaurant that we wanted to visit. My wife and I could not have been any happier with our stay and service that Raphael provided to us during our wonderful stay. We hope to return soon for another getaway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FWS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Perfect experience. I'd give it 6 stars if I could. Raphael is amazing. The pick-up and drop-off to airport is great. His service was very genuine and kind. We had breakfast in the morning that a nice French girl set up on our balcony. We had a huge room overlooking the water. You are basically in the water from your balcony. Stand-up paddles and kayaks are at your disposal. This is a very small hotel that is a little gem. If you are looking for a 500 room hotel with a 2000 sq foot gym this isn't for you but it was PERFECT for my honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JW1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My daughtr and I spent a week in this hotel but could have stayed a month.
The hotel is small and very quaint and the staff is fantastic. From picking us up to dropping us off and everything in between including taking us to get our rental car the day after our arrival.
Our bedroom was very large with a king-size bed, huge bathroom and a living area with 2 large chairs, a countertop with bar chairs and a fully furnished kitchen, including a washer machine for our laundry. A large verandah overlooking the beach, with a round table and two chaise lounges and where our breakfast was served every morning (delicious baguettes, croissants and chocolate croissants too). Kayaks, paddle boarding, snorkling,... All one has to do is step on the sand.
This is an unforgettable place and I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had the one-bedroom suite but I took a look at the two-bedroom one and it is really big with a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sorayafigueiredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great hotel, great location, wonderful staff, and a great location. Small boutique hotel that is a great value, on the beach and well suited for family. Several great restaurants just down the beach and great snorkeling around the cul de sac.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAADC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Cul-de-Sac
1.0 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#2 of 6 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Taiwana
Hotel Taiwana
#2 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
5.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Ondines Sur La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Ondines Sur La Plage

Property: Hotel Les Ondines Sur La Plage
Address: Stbarthelemy, 97133, St. Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grand Cul-de-Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the white sand beach in grand cul de sac, the hotel has some villa suites 1 and 2 bedrooms,700 to 1500 square feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Les Ondines Sur La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Ondines Hotel
Hotel Les Ondines Sur La Plage St. Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing