We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“A LOVELY HOTEL THAT NEEDS TO BE TAKEN OVER URGENTLY”
Review of Le Guanahani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Guanahani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Guanahani had the best and the worse of anywhere we have ever stayed.
The room was basic but charming and the shower dated from the 70s but the view beat any view we ever got including Maldives. Amazing though for 1050euro per night to not even get a bath but that was not a major issue.

The major issue was that the food in the whole hotel was truly awful and when I mean awful I don't only mean in comparison to the rest of the island's restaurants which are amazing (we tested most of them given we truly could not eat at Guanahani); the meals we had there it would not even compare favorably to a motorway restaurant in France.
The first night we had dinner at Bar' to "fine dining" it was some sort of creative dining with no flavour whatsoever; like a kind of minimalistic restaurant where you get 4 1/2 asparagus for 40 euros as a starter and 4 prawns as a main with a mayonnaise in a plastic sachet. It was all eatable but did not get close to anywhere we dined later in the week (Eden Rock; Isola; Maya's) although it was even more expensive.

The 2nd day we tried Indigo (the other restaurant of the hotel) as we really wanted to relax and not take the car every night to have dinner. What a mistake that was awful; we ordered a artichoke salad as a starter and the artichoke came whole in a bowl with mayonnaise on the side. Actually we woudl have enjoyed it more if we had known what was coming after as my husband could not even eat more than a piece of his Dover Sole "breaded by mushrooms" as the fish tasted like it had been frozen 10 years ago and then microwaved. I took what I thought would be a safe option as I am pregnant so I had the Gnocchi and even that was worse than I would expect I can get on a motorway ... a few Gnocchi floated in a bath of dubious sauce. Needless to say we did not try desert.

However we had little choice but to try Breakfast as it was served at this same place. This is well worth mentionning as for 1050 euros a night anyone can maybe deal with going out for dinners but noone can avoid breakfast; well breakfast there was pretty much what you would expect from a 2 star hotel on the motorway (again...so there is consistency there). Service was awful and rude (you have to make and get your own coffee). And it consisted of bread and packs of Kellogs corn flakes as well as some dubious pastries and fruits that looked like they had been imported from UK after a bad winter. We had the pancakes and crepes as the rest was so bad and it came freshly microwaved (they probably make those once a week otherwise I dont see how it could possibly taste that bad) with a pot of Maple Syrup -- That's IT!.

Food for us is super important especially breakfast so we would not recommend this hotel to anyone; which is a shame as for the rest the gardens and views were amazing (the beach as I expected though was the only one in St Barts where you can't really swim as it is covered in algues (which is why noone ever is in the water) so we also had to take the car everyday to visit other beaches; which were truly amazing).

Overall it was less than ideal for us to have to take the car everyday to go to the beach and for dinners but we absolutely loved St Barts and spent a lot of time at Eden Rock where we hope to return. Guanahani and Eden Rock are in no way comparable (lunches and dinners at Eden Rock are cheaper and exquisite and service amazing) .

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JD1977London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, Director of Sales at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

March 10, 2011

We are deeply disappointed that the customer felt this way. We would like to reiterate that our devoted guests, and our high percentage of repeat clientele come back to us each year, spreading the word about our unparalleled commitment to service, high quality, award-winning cuisine and luxurious accommodations. In particular, and with regards to our cuisine, we recently received the Island Destinations Award for Ultimate Cuisine from over 1,500 top travel agents.

We are particularly confused by the constant reference to a “French motorway” and think that the customer is deeply mistaken. It is hard to imagine she felt she was at a motorway on the beautiful island of St Barths, and in particular at this Leading Hotel of The World, nestled on small private peninsula between two bodies of water.

• We have also received numerous other awards year after year, including may from Conde Nast Traveler, Travel & Leisure, The Huffington Post and the like.

In particular our management team has led the hotel to excellence for many years, and has been recognized many times by our guests for their outstanding personal commitment to ensuring their satisfaction. Our General Manager, Marc Thézé, has been managing the hotel since December 1994, along with the Executive Chef and Food & Beverage manager. We continuously receive praise of our restaurants on a daily basis from loyal customers, locals and critics alike. We would be happy to share the hundreds of positive comments with you.

Our breakfast buffet is so popular and often quoted by our guests as “being the best they have experienced, especially in the Caribbean”. The fruits are freshly picked every day from the local islands and French croissants, breads and pastries are baked on premise by our leading Pastry Chef. We also offer French cheeses, fresh yogurt and cereals for guests looking for lighter fare. And there is always freshly squeezed juice and a variety of coffees and teas, all with top notch service.

We hope that this guest will come back to visit us to experience all that The Hotel Guanahani has to offer.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 596 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2011

You would think $900+ per night would include a room with some privacy. Yes, we could see the ocean (truth be told, probably because we booked for 9 nights off season they upgraded us without us asking to an ocean view room which normally goes for $1,400 a night!) and for the first 7 nights it was good, but when the next room became occupied we can hear our neighbors talk, move, sleep... This is bloody ridiculous, $25 motels have better insulation!

You would also think that service would be first class for what you pay. The staff is polite, but the service is typically french: you can't hurry them, you can't ask for anything out of the ordinary, you can't expect them to be open for breakfast at 10:01 when they close at 10 (but if you have it served they will delay 15' to bring it), and so on.

The location is in a peninsula with a beautiful natural lake for swimming on one side (when nobody ever goes) and a constantly wind-blown beach on the other side (where everyone lounges all day long). Generally nice; but not perfect. And certainly not perfect for the price. Which is generally the theme here.
I can go into more details about some ants in the room, the so-so experience at the beach rental office (they rent jet-skis, the other stuff is included in the exorbitant price), but the comments are similar.

So as a summary: all of St Barts is a ripoff for no apparent reason (salad for lunchtime, $40; have some shame already!), and this hotel is no exception. The experience was certainly bearable and we had a good time, but I can't bring myself to recommend the place. There are way classier places in the world for the money. And probably better deals in St Barts itself.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yiannistsiounis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed at le Guanahani on their St. Barths Spree package. The package was well worth the money. We stayed in Suite 69 which was in a great location - on the opposite side of the resort from the pool so it was nice and quiet. With the package we had the use of a rental car all week which I would highly recommend. The island is easy to navigate and very safe so traveling around was fun. We got to spend time at every beach at our own leisure. Our favortie was Gouvenour. We also did the hike to Columbier and it was well worth it. We were one of only 5 couples and one family there. Amazing experience. With the package we also had 2 meals a day, breakfast and then your choice of lumch or dinner. We ate at both restaurants for our evening meals. Both were delicious. With the package you can also pick from a variety of activites that are included. We chose a facial at the spa which was very relaxing and wonderful! Tip: The pool at the spa is for anyone at the resort to use, not only if you are having a spa treatment. Children are not allowed so if you are looking for a little time poolside without the kids around its a great spot for some quiet time in the sun. We also went jetskiing for our 2nd choice. My husband and I each had our own jetski for 1/2 hour instead of just having one for the both of us to ride together for 1 hour. We rode down to St. Jean and back in the half hour. It was a rough ride and you have to go pretty fast to make it over some of the waves so beware that it isn't for the faint of heart. The water looks nice and clam in Grand Cul de Sac but once you make it past that breaker it is very choppy. We found the staff to be courteous and helpful. I speak some French and believe it helped to at least make an effort to speak to them in French. They seemed to appreciate it. Without a doubt we will return to Guanhani someday.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastdayofmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Thank you God!!! I was nervous booking at Guanahani but relied on the many reviews of the hotel to make my decision. I am relieved to say that Guanahani website just doesn't do the place justice at all! It's everything you would expect an upscale resort in St. BArths to be, charming, unique, plush, service and food worthy, with beautiful views and beach to top it all off.

We were upgraded to an amazing suite which was so adorable and stocked with an overabundance of Clarins products, even Clarins candles. We had a spacious and very private balcony with two loungers and a table for four...very nice. The room was super spacious and the decor fit the upscale island ambiance. Our little goodies included a bottle of Rhum Vanille, nice hardcover show book of the resort to take home and daily Evian water. There is a plentiful and delicious breakfast buffet as well which helped keep my food expenses down. I did in fact spend $40 on a cheeseburger at the beach bar, but it was the best darn burger I ever had! YES...prices to eat at all resorts are expensive and Guanahani in St. Barths is no exception.

The island itself is indescribable with view after view of gorgeous and lush mountainous landscape. There are so many beaches to check out each with its own unique qualities.

You are going to spend some money here but it's worth it! There are also many places to eat that are more reasonable...we did a bit of both. Balance is key...we also aren't major drinkers so our beverage tab was only 2-4 drinks; it adds up fast though.

I highly recommend Kiki Mo Italian Deli for paninis, salads and pizza....VERY AFFORDABLE! $13 panini, soda and cookie. Same prices we pay. L'Entracte in Gustavia also had great pizza with some interesting food combinations. Bonitos is great for sunset and tapas. Barto at the hotel was good, not great but good; again hotel food value is generally low. I also recommend Le Ti....great place five minutes from hotel to eat dinner, watch fashion show and party!! Food was very good here too so try some of the tapas etc....

This was a wonderful indulgent and relaxing vacation and I cannot wait to do it again! I will look forward to visiting St. Barths again!

FYI...you will want to rent a car for atleast a few days to explore.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nkodream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We were immediately charmed by this small luxury hotel With the Caribbean colors which has all we expect from a luxury hotel. The 3 restaurants are excellent. All activities that we expect to find in a resort are at disposal, water sports, tennis, fitness, kid' s club and the spa Clarins is divine. Admittedly Guanahani & Spa is not located on the most beautiful beach of the island, the bay of St Jean would have our preference, but the charm of this hotel, amenities, the wonderful service makes that we have voted Le Guanahani best hotel on the island of the stars.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjlamoroso187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I definitely had some concerns after reading some of the reviews about this resort, but our experience was nothing short of outstanding the entire visit. I would recommend getting one of their packages (we did Spree) because the menu prices are a little high however, gratuity is not the same as it is in the states (5-10%). We upgraded to the 1 bedroom pool suite which was more than worth it. The Spree package also allowed us to go to other places on the island (Nikki beach for Thursday night BBQ is recommended). The lunch or dinner meals allowed each person to choose an appetizer, entree and desert from any of the restaurants (Le Barto was our favorite). Unlike other resorts, all of the non motorized water activities (paddle boat, personal raft, etc) were free, and being in the lagoon kept the waves at a minimum. We were there during the beginning of the slow season, but had no rain during the day, and did not feel rushed during any meals. We took Win Air over from St. Maarten (a little scary), and took the 45 minute ferry that had black smoke coming from the engine on the way back. I would recommend the flight (not that much more expensive if you take into consideration the taxi ride from St. Maarten airport). The rental car in the package helped because taxi cabs are generally expensive (especially considering the island is a total of 16 square miles). This is one of those places that we are DEFINITELY going back to 1 day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

When you stay at a luxury hotel there are certain expectations - and service is of course one of them. In fact it's cost of entry for the hospitality industry. If you read through other reviews this seems to be a consistent issue for the hotel. Our experience was no different. The management is rude and if an issue should arise good luck getting any resolution. Nothing is their fault. Customer service must not have been covered in training. As a frequent biz traveler I found better service in a holiday inn express. Stay at the Eden Rock. Better beaches, better service and a better overall experience. Prices are very close so for the extra 10 or so euros a day - it's worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trl97001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Cul-de-Sac
0.9 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
618 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
375 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
49 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Guanahani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Guanahani

Address: Lieu Dit grand Cul de Sac, 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $510 - $1,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Guanahani 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Guanahani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guanahani Grand Cul-De-Sac
Hotel Guanahani And Spa
Resort All Inclusive Guanahani
Le Guanahani St. Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing