We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic oasis”
Review of Le Guanahani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Guanahani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This was our seventh trip to St. Barths, but first stay at Guanahani. We know the island well and we have always loved staying on St. Jean Beach, but we chose the hotel because we were traveling with a 18 month-old toddler who would enjoy the quiet lagoon. We never missed the other beaches - it is a tropical paradise and the perfect choice for traveling with a child there. The beach is large and calm with plenty of room to roam and has a tremendous family atmosphere. There were clearly families and couples who come year after year. Our son was too young to benefit from the free day care, but that is a great program and we hope take advantage of it next year.

Why not five stars? A few disappointments. We did not realize how far the ocean view rooms are from the beach. We are city people who walk everywhere, but we love being able to pop in and out of our room when we are at the beach, and it is quite a trek up to those rooms with a toddler. We wound up driving. Also, exhausted on our first day, we ordered room service and it was very disappointing. Not in any way up to the standard of the food in the two restaurants, which is quite good. We had the package that included lunch or dinner each day and had many great meals.

The spa is also an absolute oasis; a fantastic refuge for honeymooners (if the beach is not oasis enough) and parents whose children might be enjoying the day care. In general, while far from a mega resort, the hotel is "large" enough that honeymooners and families can coexist in harmony. In contrast, the beach at Eden Rock, which is near and dear to our heart, is more tightly packed, and we'd be a little more self-conscious about having an energetic toddler there.

If this is your first time visiting St. Barths, understand this is at the far end of the island from Gustavia and St. Jean. While the island is not big at all, at only 8 square miles, it is a harrowing drive if you are not used to it. Makes eating out at night a little less appetizing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 596 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2010

Beautiful hotel but the management will treat you like a second class citizen. When we asked them why certain services were not available they said that there were "different categories of guests".

I have never heard anything like it from a hotel manager who flatly refused to back down.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Oliver1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed in a one-bedroom ocean suite (sofa opens to a bed for the children, so it essentially serves as a two-bedroom) with children aged 3 and 1. The room was well maintained, and the wood floors were machine polished before and during our stay. We stayed 6 nights and did not have one complaint. The beach is equipped with sand toys to keep the children busy as well as kayaks, paddleboats, etc to enjoy the sea. Can swim off the beach to some nice snorkeling at a barrier reef, or wade far out as the entire bay is very shallow, calm, and warm, perfect for children. If you dont like the feeling of stepping on sea grass, wear water shoes. On the left side of the beach are some rocks where the shore and sea meet and your kids can discover a lot of sea life there. The pool does not have a shallow end, but does have a ledge where an adult can sit in the water and a child can stand. Barto is delicious with a superb atmosphere. Indigo on the beach is nice as you can enjoy your lunch without taking your feet off the sand. Breakfast by the pool and beach makes sure that you dont have to miss out on the view while enjoying your pastries. Bottom line, once you get there, you will never want to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALRHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed five nights. Mostly positive - nice beach, great service on the beach and in the restaurants, food was good, spa was nice. Generally a good experience all around. Except for the final experience when checking out. I had just spent four to five thousand euro (it's not cheap!) for four nights, and was reviewing the bill. I brought up the only concern that a few nights prior we were not able to rent a car as planned (part of the package was an onsite rental through Avis) because the concierge had left at 7:30 pm and there was no one to do the paperwork. The person at the front desk suggested that a taxi would cost 35 euros each way. I didn't really feel like spending an extra 70 euro to get to/from dinner, but when he suggested that he'd speak with the manager to see if it might be credited against our bill - since we didn't know you had to rent cars before 7:30 - I said ok. 25 minutes later a taxi arrived, and we paid her 35 euros. The same driver brought us back and again we paid. At checkout, reviewing my thousands of euros bill, I asked about the credit. The manager came up and was surprised. So I described the situation. His first response... "we can't pay for that, Avis doesn't let us rent cars at nighttime," which wasn't the point. Then he asked "do you know the name of the taxi driver?" Amazingly I had her name/number in my pocket still, and gave it to him. Then he proceeded to call her. I asked "are you calling because you don't trust that I paid this amount?" His response... "well, it's more than it should be so it doesn't sound right to me." Are you kidding? That was pretty humiliating. His next response, "I'm not authorized to credit your account." I asked "not authorized by who?" His answer "by the accounting department." I'm pretty frustrated at this point. "So you're going to run my credit card for thousands of euros, but you're not authorized by the accounting department to take care of the 70 euro we shouldn't have had to pay in the first place?" He reluctantly agreed to credit 35 euro. And I suddenly realized this is not the kind of hotel that I'd want to return to in the future. There are too many other options for high end luxury hotels on the island that understand customer service better than that. What a silly reason to lose a customer to the other hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExpatFamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

This resort is a destination resort that i would return to again and again. Though we weren't overnight guests we had lunch on our first day and returned twice since it was simply so delicious, french and relaxing. The best beaches on the island as its on a little inlet and then all the water sports and shopping you can manage in an afternoon. Marc the GM is the lovely gent siitting at the pool bar to ensure all his guests are well taken care of - every day at 1pm. A Bientot!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emzvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Fantastic resort with perfect beach for toddlers (no waves).

Few comments on areas of improvement:

Kids Club: They don't run the 6-12 yr old kids club anymore even though this is still on their website. They only have one staffer in the under 6 club so she has to take them all to the toilet at the same time, and can't take them outside if more than a few show up.

Concierge/Front of House: Had problems booking restaurants and babysitting initially since they couldn't seem to get basic dates right. They didn't seem to have a lot of information at their fingertips, and said 'probably' a lot, which didn't inspire confidence in taking the kids out for a trip to a place that was probably open. Had a bit of argument with front of house at the end about the St Barths Commuter Service which they said we had to pay €332 for the VIP service, when it turns out it was included. They also charged €12 for milk for the free coffee since evidently, no one takes milk in the coffee so of course it would be extra. They also noted that since the bill was so much anyway, this line item wouldn't make that much of a difference. Was unnecessarily rude.

Tip: Try lunch at the Restaurant Les Pecheurs next door at Le Serano. Wade 50m around the rocks on the beach, or take one of the kayaks. Good seafood, and a chance to escape the resort easliy.

Despite the criticisms, had a great time, and recommend it. Service needs improvement, but as the Caribbean goes, is better than most.

Expensive, but what you expect from St. Barts.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JN72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I have just returned from my honeymoon. We spent 5 days on Guanahani and words can't be fair to how well we've been treated. This is the ultimate place for a honeymoon. Romantic, beautifull, perfect service, awesome room, amazing food! Excellent! The front desk and the concierge teams are incredible.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caito_cunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Cul-de-Sac
0.9 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
618 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
376 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
49 reviews
17 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
#2 of 2 in Colombier
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Guanahani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Guanahani

Address: Lieu Dit grand Cul de Sac, 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $518 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Guanahani 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Guanahani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guanahani Grand Cul-De-Sac
Hotel Guanahani And Spa
Resort All Inclusive Guanahani
Le Guanahani St. Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing