We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels in the world”
Review of Le Guanahani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Guanahani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We are about to return to Le Hotel Guanahani for our fifth consecutive year. This review is based on our many visits. Having stayed at other hotels in St. Barts, here is what we love about this hotel:

The staff is happy, helpful and fun. From the moment they pick you up at the airport and offer you a cold bottle of water, their smiles, warmth and enthusiasm creates a very welcome feel.
The location is perfect. It is the only hotel with its own beach (Eden Rock has a beach, but it feels public and it right near the airport).
The villas are well maintained, comfortable and surrounded by well-tended gardens that create privacy.
Breakfast is served on your terrace by two people, making set-up and delivery quick. It also has the freshest most finely cut fruit salad you’ll ever find.
The tennis courts are lit and we always enjoy a game after sunset. They also keep good equipment and will often give you a new canister of tennis balls, not old used ones.
Small details are observed by all staff. For example, housekeeping leaves fresh cut hibiscus flowers in your room. These are not only beautiful, but if you happen to find a turtle in your garden, the hibiscus flower is their favorite food.
The beach stretches long enough away from the island hills that you can enjoy direct sunlight almost up to sunset.
The toiletries are Clarins, and they are generous and never let them run out. In addition, you will find two pair of sandals, a citronella candle and bug spray, though the ocean breeze usually keeps the away flying insects.
Barto is much improved over the past few years and now one of the best dinner places on the island.
The spa is beautiful, peaceful and has a private pool.

This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarrenCampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Darren C,
It is a great pleasure to read your praiseful review. Thank you for choosing the Hotel Guanahani for the last 5 years and sharing your experience on trip advisor.
I personally passed on your kind words to the entire team which was very pleased. We are honored that you were so impressed with the service you received and the design of our luxury hotel. We are very grateful that you definitely recommend us
Thank you again for all your great feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to your Caribbean home, the Hôtel Guanahani & Spa

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Le Guanahani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 594 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I just got back from our incredible 9 days-8 night trip to St. Barth yesterday. It was our first trip to the island, and we are glad we decided to stay at Guanahani. (We went to look at other contenders (Eden Roc, Isle de France, Christopher- glad we stayed where we were.) Our garden 1 bedroom suite - cottage was tastefully decorated and spacious. We had a wrap around terrace with our own fenced in backyard. The property is spacious. Their beach area is very cute with thatched roof umbrellas. It is well set up to accommodate all of the guests even when the hotel is fully booked.

As many reviewers stated, their entire service staff is well trained and the outstanding service they provide really adds that magic touch to your vacation. Their excellent service is consistent throughout entire property -from the concierge who made all of our dinner reservations to the waitstaff at the restaurant truly made our vacation wonderful. We used the spa steam room and the pool everyday. The food is wonderful at all of their restaurants. - We had breakfast at Indigo every morning - overlooking the beach. Their Bartholomew restaurant was excellent. We had an incredible stay here at Guanahani.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Lisa C,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Our team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Guanahani & Spa. Every years, we do our best to improve our services and our accommodations in order to satisfy all our guests and provide them with an unforgettable experience. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Warmest regards

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Amazing service... Great experience overall
The staff is well trained and truly makes you feel special.
The rooms have also been recently renovated.
The only negative comment that I can possibly mention, is the Internet was weak and needs to be strengthened.
We would definitely recommend this to all our friends, and in fact brought a group of friends with us, and they loved it.
By the way the food in the restaurant Bartholomew at the hotel was really good and very beautiful.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Paul2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Paul2445

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was great to welcome you back to Hotel Guanahani & Spa and meet your friends. Thank you for recommending the hotel and we seem to have found a solution with the internet provider of improving the complimentary WIFI dramaticly. Should be in place by end middle March. Look forward to welcome you back soon.

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Hotel Guanahani & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have been to St Barth around a dozen times and this is my favorite hotel. It is charming, luxurious without being pretentious, kid friendly, incredible food, outstanding service...I repeat outstanding service. The hotel was fully booked but it surprisingly didn't feel packed at all. the little bungalow houses are renovated, so cute and very convenient with the kids, we had a huge terrace in front of the bungalow. The most memorable for me was the service, everybody from the waiters, to the cleaning ladies, to the concierge..did their absolute best to give us an incredible stay and I'm very grateful for that. Bonnes vacances!

Room Tip: if you have kids, ask for a bungalow close to the mini club and restaurant
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Benjamine V
Thank you so much for your review and our team is delighted that we were able to to provide you with a great aexperience. Even when we are full the 67 cottages on 16 acres and lush gardens provides privacy. Indeed the Beach House , a 2 bedroom suite is adjacent to our kids club and steps away from the beach at the lagoon of Grande Cul de Sac , home to many sea turtles.
Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Hotel Guanhani & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Good hotel but lacks wow factor one looks for when paying 1900 per night. I know it is st barths but for that prices the premises should be flawless. In particular, I found the concrete path one has to cross for getting to many areas, completely out of place here (bare unpolished concrete, more fitted for a 3 star family resort in any second level beach area than for this property) and also the pool looks dated and not appropriate for this level of prices and luxury. When checking in make sure they give you a renovated room, I stayed at both renovated an unrenovated an the difference is big. These are minor glitches that you forgive once taken into account the excellent service and the superb experience this island offers, but take away this last factor that does not have to do with the hotel itself and you have an overpriced premises with excellent service. One last thing that could help other members: I choose this one because based on previous reviews it supposedly have a great beach, but this last is only true if you like the water sports thing (given the fact that the sea is protected from waves by a natural barrier therefore is very still) The beach itself is small and if it is true is a beautiful sea color, you can t walk more than 20 ft into the water without finding a bank of algae in the sea floor. Personally I find that awkward and that ruins the sea bath experience. For a clean, pure seabed choose instead the isle de France or Eden roc, whose sea is equally or more beautiful and you can walk and swim at ease without running into a bunch of algae

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barranqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Barranqtraveler: Thank you for returning to Hotel Guanahani & Spa and providing your feedback, We take great pride in our natural environment and the wildlife that surrounds the resort. Our beachfront is home to many sea turtles and the sea grass/algea is an important element to protect them. We hope you’ll come back to experience all of our refreshed rooms and landscaping.

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director
Hotel Guanahani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our first visit to St. Barth's and we can't wait to go back! We were treated like royalty and the food was wonderful. A little distance to Gustavia - about a half hour away by cab/car. We rented a car of a couple of days to get to other beaches and Gustavia. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are all wonderful - cottage style property.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAK1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintbarth97133, General Manager at Le Guanahani, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Mak1110

Thank you so much for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Wishing you a wonderful 2014 and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Martein van Wagenberg
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We went last year ans can say one of the best beach properties. We loved the food and dinners especially frois gras and like the peace and quiet of this place. Small cottage type rooms ours was stand alone very private. Wife was a bit frihtened about gekos so we asked for Miskito net. So be aware this is not the typical 400 room large building property. But we loved the nature plants, cat and lizards that come with this perfect spot. The beach a short stroll down was a 10 .. We have traveled to Hawaiian cabo VI US France and this one is my favorite. Its in a protected bay and you can walk our 50 yards and is shallow and magnificently clean . Great safe swim-able beach . Also on site a small hill with walking trail with local animal and fauna. And the left side has a cool cove of deep water and a small private nook. This is the best spot we stayed in when considering the beach. 4 star rooms but awesome overall getaway. This is the R&R spot no nightlife fyi. We some day hope to afford to go back and do it again . If you love the ocean and beach go here!!! Worth the price

Room Tip: Try to get off season package - romantic if available will save - food alone very pricey like all of...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k123-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Cul-de-Sac
0.9 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
617 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
2.4 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Toiny
Hotel Le Toiny
#1 of 1 in Toiny
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Guanahani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Guanahani

Address: Lieu Dit grand Cul de Sac, 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Grand Cul-de-Sac
Price Range: $651 - $1,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Guanahani 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Guanahani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guanahani Grand Cul-De-Sac
Hotel Guanahani And Spa
Resort All Inclusive Guanahani
Le Guanahani St. Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing