We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hotel Guanahani...Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Guanahani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Guanahani to your Saves list
Le Guanahani
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Cul-de-sac, 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Guanahani...Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Guanahani & Spa by Clarins was such a wonderful experience. I was a bit apprehensive @ 1st since being on a different French Island previous was not a welcoming or delightful experience. St Barths though was very welcoming and a very pleasurable experience. The hotel had wonderful dinning, relaxing beaches & a number one Spa! Would love to go again next year, but would like to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomDiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    66
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
106
233
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent five very relaxing days at Guanahani. We were picked up by their very friendly driver who provided us with cold water, and even offered a choice of still or sparkling! We were welcomed at the hotel with a glass of champagne. The check-in process was efficient and friendly, and the receptionist drove us to our Ocean View room near the beach. The room was nicely decorated and had a very large terrace with a beautiful view of the bay. They provided two free bottles of Evian per day and the room was equipped with a nice espressomachine, also free of charge. The Clarins bathroom amenities are great. The beach team was fantastic. All the guys were friendly and very helpful. There is plenty of shade and the beach was never crowded. The complimentary breakfast was another highlight with everything you could wish for on the buffet and eggs, crepes etc cooked to order. We wish we were still there!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the largest of the resorts that we have stayed at on St. Barths. You do lose a bit of the charm of the smaller resorts that are abundant, although the Guanahani doesn't really give anything up facilities wise. Service is good, not great. Food is good, not great. Rooms are excellent, as is the beach setting. Pool wasn't really set up for use by families as it was bar side and didn't feel like the right place for a family with children.

But forget all that the island is spectacular. Great food, great shopping, and not too crowded. Very American friendly (unlike some parts of Paris). Be sure to rent a car, and be sure to drive carefully on the steep and narrow roads. You will get lost a few times if you venture out to the many restaurants, but it will be worthwhile. Did I mention how great the food is there?

The beach offers a constant breeze that keep you comfortable at any temp. And you really will lose sight of the hustle and bustle that you may regularly feel off the island. We found ti very relaxing and will return to the island soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very luxurious experience. They actually have two beaches on the property - one facing east and the other facing west. Every afternoon we would move to the other beach to watch the sunset. It's a nice perk that you don't get elsewhere in St. Barth's. Also, they will give you beach umbrellas, chairs and towels if you want to check out other beaches. Very generous!

Breakfast was absolutely amazing. Fresh delicious pastries, made to order eggs (any style) or waffles, pancakes, french toast or crepes. Really cater to anyone's taste. Coffee, tea fresh juices and fresh fruit were of the highest quality. And the view can't be beat: no matter where you sit you can see the pool or the sea. Really the best way to start your day.

Spa was amazing. Massages were great, and the hydrotherapy was very nice as well. The spa also has a very nice pool we used on days when the beach was a bit too windy.

We had dinner at Bar To once, and ordered room service once. The food was good but the atmosphere at the restaurant is not great. It's a bit too quiet and you can hear everyone's conversations. It was also half empty, but that's probably because we were there during off season.

We took a wind surfing lesson with Mael who was a great teacher. Highly recommended!

The rooms are great. I understand some of them are a bit far from the beach but ours was very close. Even though we were steps from Indigo and the beach bar we couldn't hear any noise once the door was closed. Everything in the room was of very nice quality: bed, linens, bathroom fixtures, etc. I would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kapstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
301 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for a girl's bachelorette party and it was perfect. We stayed in the Garden House (#12) which came with it's own pool, kitchen, living room, upstairs and downstairs and slept 6. It was near the restaurant Bartolomeo but seemed very remote and private. There was Evian water bottles delivered daily, a mini fridge, lovely Clarins toiletries, comfy bed with nice pillows and comforter, hair dryer, safe, bathrobes and sandals for the beach. The one problem was with the shower head that wouldn't stay on, but we never complained about it. We did have a very loud bird chirping outside our room, so I suggest bringing earplugs, just in case. Our first night there we ate at Bartolomeo and tried the tasting menu. It was divine and the servers very helpful and accomodating. It was so good, we did it again another night and all the dishes were different, which was impressive. The only down side (if you could call it that) is the whole table needs to do it. The fitness room, which overlooks the water, is smallish but has elliptical, bikes, treadmill, some machines and free weights. The beach was very nice, with attendants preparing your lounge chairs and bringing you drinks. We got a cocktail a day in our package and the drinks were the traditional (like pina colada) and inventive (Pink Lady). Most water sports (paddleboarding, windsurfing, snorkling) are included. The water, situated where the Atlantic and the Caribbean collide, tends to be a little rough and the bottom is kind of sea-weedy, but the beach itself was prisitne white sand. If you wish to eat on the beach for lunch, it is best to make reservations. Also, if you're planning on a spa treatment, you probably want to book that as soon as you get in as it is very popular. There are tennis courts and raquets available, although we didn't take advantage of this amenity. Take a hike on one of the nearby hills and get a spectacular view of the ocean. The gift shop was tres chic and girls in our party got some great deals in the sales bin on dresses. Everyone we dealt with at the hotel was very helpful, with the exception of a girl at the front desk at the spa. We had booked spa treatments for Mother's Day but could not get them all at the same time. We got there early and laid out by the pool- very relaxing- and my massage was done in a room overlooking the water- beautiful. My sister got a facial and said it was the best of her life (and she's had a lot of facials). There's a steam room and water and herbal teas available at the spa. Although this resort is removed from Gustavia, that is part of the charm and honestly, you could stay here and never venture outside the property. We did go to Gustavia and the Eden Roc for dinner one night but I preferred the food here. We were told they are going to renovate our room in the future, but I didn't see anything wrong with it. There were children allowed here, but for the most part they were well behaved. The power did go out by the beach the one day we'd made reservations to eat there, but these things happen. We ate upstairs by the pool, where they serve breakfast. This would be a perfect place for honeymooners to enjoy a secluded, exclusive get away.I personally would like to return with my husband, who is the one who recommended St. Barts for our trip in the first place.

Room Tip: The Garden Room (#12) is lovely. There are other private houses available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The chalés are really nice,the food is marvellous.It is my favorite hotel át. The Caribe.It is looking like you are eating In Paris!The localization is very good,the beach is privative.It is not very near the centre of Gustavia,but I liked that.as well!

Room Tip: One with a good view from the terrace,dancing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are looking for a place for a quiet get away where you can get away from your daily hustle and bustle this is it. It does not matter if you are a movie star, rock star, billionaire or a common working person, you will be treated with the upmost respect and your every need will be taken care of.

The hotel is very clean. No dust, dirt or blemish anywhere. Rooms are fantastic.

We stayed in room 55. It was a bit far from the beach, pool and fittness (Closer to the lobby and spa), but we liked that. It has a water view and is just steps to a private dock for the resort. Most evenings, we had the dock to our selves, whatching the turtles swim and the sun go down from great comfy chairs with big cousions. We used the pool at the spa vs the one at the beach, but we like it quiet and were the only people at the spa pool each afternoon for a quick swim.

We had the free breakfast each day, american and continental served so eggs were included! It was enough to hold us over till dinner.

Only down side was that cabs are expensive and we did not want to dirve, so we were a little tied to the resort (we like to get out). But it forced us to relax, so that was a good thing.

If I stayed again, I'd spring for a room with a pool.

We had fun with the Turtles walking the resort and the cats. It added a fun charm. We had a cat come to our deck one day to sleep and a turtle came up on the deck to say hi too. It was cute.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Cul-de-Sac
2.2 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#2 of 6 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de Fr...
#1 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Taiwana
Hotel Taiwana
#2 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
5.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Guanahani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Guanahani

Property: Le Guanahani
Address: Grand Cul-de-sac, 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Cul-de-Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Guanahani 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Guanahani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guanahani And Spa
Hotel Guanahani Grand Cul-De-Sac
Resort All Inclusive Guanahani
Le Guanahani St. Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing