We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little slice of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Guanahani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Guanahani
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had an amazing 4 night stay at Hotel Guanahani & spa and only wish itcould have been longer. The resort is well appointed,has charming staff and an amazing restaurant - Bart's. I would love to return there- for a week at least next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    68
    26
    12
    9
See reviews for
111
247
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our sixth trip to St. Barts, and the first time at Guanahani. We were a large group - nine people from three generations, including a one year old. We had an unfforgetable week, and everyone had a lot of fun. Guanahani is St. Barts at its best, a slice of the French Riviera at the tropics. If you are planning a golden trip with your family, there are few options as exciting as St Barts and the Guanahani. We had two big bungallows, one facing the sea (St.Jean), try to get this one. Great spa, beach, sports, food, kids room with caretakers - everything in a cozy environment with excellent service, and the beautifull St. Barts surrounding us. Of course, prices are not cheap, but you can't have everything in life.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We chose to stay at the Guanahani in St Barths for 7 nights for our honeymoon. One of the first things we noticed on the puddle jumper from St. Martin was all of the "St. Barths French West Indies" t-shirts a lot of people were wearing. Apparently, your first trip to St. Barths usually won't be your last. Now, I can absolutely see why. I will now be one of those "t-shirt" people myself (tank top actually...but you get my drift).

The hotel grounds are like a lush tropical rainforest. So beautiful. One reviewer mentioned a plethora of cats. There are a few cats, but I spotted 3 at most. They were no trouble and stayed out of our way. Our room was cleaned daily, nice and cool, and very comfortable. This hotel is also very quiet, and while they do allow children, they are always well behaved and barely noticeable.

The staff was full of recommendations and very helpful. They even charged my camera for me one day while I stayed on the beach. I would come back to this hotel. It is beauitful, but renting a car is a MUST to see all of the other beauitful beaches and delicious restaurants on the island. Also a great idea to stock up on waters at the big supermarket in Gustavia as you only get 2 complimentary bottles each day.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveleur2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is by far the best resort on the island. The staff and grounds are lovely and the food excellent. W stayed in small bungalow suite at the end of the row and felt like we were the only ones around. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Guanahai is a lovely hotel in Grand Cul de Sac St. Barths. The breakfast buffet is devine with a wonderful selection of any and everything you might enjoy for your first meal of the day. The room is very comfortable and very chicly furnished with designer fabrics and furniture. The bath products are all clarins and the bathrooms are a nice size.

The spa is wonderful with one of the best hammams. I had a 60 minute massage which was very good. They also have a lap pool at the spa which is really nice to use before or after a treatment.
The beach was great and lunch very delicious.

I would recommend this hotel as our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Guana is great with children and this a the reason why we are spending mainly every year a week there. The service at the restaurant is great as well as the room maid. The spa is among the best in the world. The minus there is the wind, which can be very strong and make the beach not so pleasant. The other one is the reception. Really very much below the service level of the overall hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Everything about the Guanahani is amazing. I've stayed there 3 times, and will continue to go every year. Amazing views, relaxing, kind and friendly staff, large grounds to ensure privacy. I love animal life and at sundown u can have turtles come right up to you on your suites property (just have a hibiscus flower ready to feed them). We have always rented a jeep while on the island, u really do need to go out for dinner at night because the islands restaurants are superb. Yes it's pricey, but it's St barths people. Don't believe anything negative you hear about this place, if you don't enjoy yourself there, you might as well kill yourself, you will never be happy.

Oh! One negative, Barto, the dinner restaurant is lame, skip it, there's M&P, Le Ti, and so many other places you should be spending your evenings dining at.

Room Tip: I've stayed in 3 different rooms and all had their own unique pluses. Even in the most standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RyFy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Cul-de-Sac
2.2 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#2 of 6 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#4 of 6 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de Fr...
#1 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Guanahani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Guanahani

Property: Le Guanahani
Address: Grand Cul-de-sac, 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel Guanahani & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Grand Cul-de-Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Cul-de-Sac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Guanahani 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Guanahani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guanahani And Spa
Hotel Guanahani Grand Cul-De-Sac
Resort All Inclusive Guanahani
Le Guanahani St. Barthelemy/Grand Cul-De-Sac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing