We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food overlooking the beach”
Review of Tom Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tom Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Came here for dinner on our first night in St Barth. Was a fantastic setting for eating whilst enjoying the waves rolling in just a few yards in front of us.
The food was very nice, I decided to indulge in the typical Antillian dishes of Accras (fried shrimp balls with a creole type flavour) followed by the Mahi-Mahi fish. Simple but a great introduction to French West Indian cuisine.
The service was very friendly and I enjoyed the little fashion show that seemed to be going on around us as we ate.

A must do!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 375 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

Baie St Jean is the heart of St Barths and the Tom Beach Hotel is the perfect place to stay. This is the second stay for us and we'll be back. Boutique hotel atmosphere, fun lobby/art gallery, and a very helpful staff for all the arrangements we wanted before and during our stay.
The small pool is private. And we love the beach setting with the La Plage restaurant and staff that became our friends and fellow partiers for the week. Breakfast and dinner were great but lunch is an all day affair of food, drink, beach, swimming, fashion and people parade. Fabulous. Like also that they support the Festival de Musique in January, for which we come. Can't wait til next year.

Room Tip: chamber 7 ground and chamber 10 upstairs very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is definitely a great, well rounded property.

The location is really good (although a bit closer to the airport) -- but its provides a great beach and backdrop for drinks / food / entertainment on the beach. The property boasts only a few rooms and a very nice, petite pool. The restaurant/bar isn't overcrowded and its a good place to people watch (and of course spot celebrities).

the prices are about what you'd expect for St. Barths, and while the menu is in French and English, the staff are primarily all french nationals who do not speak a LOT of english. But don't let that be a deterrent. This place has charm and is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverDown79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have just returned from 5 nights at Tom Beach and we loved everything about the hotel. First we were a little concerned because usually we pick 5 stars hotel but last year we had a bad experience in Turks and Caicos in a 5 stars hotel paying US$ 1500 a night. So we decided for a boutique hotel instead of a fancy hotel and it was the best thing we did. There is no gym, spa and the swimming pool is very small but you don’t need it if you have the most beautiful beaches in the island.
When you arrive at the airport there is a taxi waiting for you that also takes you back when you are leaving..
The rooms were very comfortable, spacious with all the amenities and a private patio.
The location right on St Jean beach is perfect. You can park your car in a public parking just 50 meters from the hotel. The breakfast is very good and you have assorted breads, coffee, tea, cereals, orange juice, jam, eggs and fruits.
La Plage restaurant is very nice with an excellent menu and great DJ music. During our stay we had a free wine degustation and a pole dance show. Our dining experience was magical, the restaurant is beautiful and very romantic with blues lights all over the place.
One day we came from the beach and we decided to eat something quickly at the restaurant but what a surprise!! The vibe was so good because of the DJ that we stayed there for 3 hours and I ate the best lobster I have ever had. Super fun.

The staff was friendly and helpful to make our stay comfortable. I would like to thanks Mr Guillaume the manager that is a very special person and made our stay perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms with a ocean view were not avaiable so we had a room in the second floor that is very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SShohet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have stayed at Tom Beach (just returned form a 10 day stay in mid December), Eden Rock, Guanahani, and Villages St. Jean Tom Beach is our top choice if you want highly personalized service in a boutique hotel with a nice small pool, perfect location on St. Jean beach, and be really close to the action at the adjacent open air La Plage restaurant on the beach with a terrific menu, great DJ music, and spontaneous "beachy" fashion shows. The continental breakfast (included) is served in the La Plage and the staff cooked up nice omelets. The hotel is chic and intimate (only 10 rooms) , the rooms spacious with netted 4-poster beds and with nice sleek bathrooms. There is no fitness room but one can use Eden Rock's for 25 euros/day. We did not use room service so cannot comment but if you want anything, you can walk from your room 30 paces to La Plage and get whatever you want.
Guillaume (manager), Carolina, Daniela, and Ruben run the Hotel and were fantastic responding to our needs, making dinner reservations, arranging a deep sea fishing outing, arranging a rental car etc etc --ALL with a big smile.
We stayed at Tom Beach (2 parents and 2 college kids) and Tom Beach was a perfect "hotel" for our family! We will definitely go back with or without the "kids".

Room Tip: Rooms 4,5,6, and 7 probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 347richardn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Tom Beach is a wonderful hotel, and my stay was very enjoyable. The staff was extra friendly, and went out of the way not only to make my stay comfortable, but to arrange all activities I wanted to do proactively. They took personal care to ensure I enjoy every moment. The staff were not limited by time or any such constraint. For example, one day I was told if I was going to come past 2 AM, the gentleman in the desk offered to stay back for me past 2am. I thought this was very nice. The rooms were comfortable with all the necessary amenities. I had a sea view room, which of course had a fabulous view of Saint Barths. I would suggest (although no fault of the hotel), to take a more aggressive stance on the mosquitoes and other insects that sometimes may be annoying to someone not used to a tropical weather. The spray, and net in the rooms were good steps, but may be a little more aggressive treatment is required. I would also suggest for more options on the breakfast. However, ignoring these small issues, I still maintain very firmly that the hotel was excellent, and would advise anyone to stay there for an enjoyable stay in Saint Barths. The coconut trees inside the hotel add a lot of charm, and bridge over the pool also looks aesthetically very pleasing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aly_Khan_Pk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights at Toms. We loved everything about the hotel. The staff were friendly. The food was superb. The location right on St Jean beach and a 5min walk into St Jean town is unbeatable. The beach area and beach bar have a great vibe with guests, locals and other holiday-makers coming to enjoy Toms Beach.
If you want all the bells and whistles that a big resort would provide, Toms may not be for you - there is no gym, spa and wifi is spotty but this little resort (12 rooms) makes up for all of that with it's super fun ambience.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms look over the roof of the restaurant to the beach. Personally I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr and Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
1.6 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Hotel St Barth
Tropical Hotel St Barth
#5 of 8 in St. Jean
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.4 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Baie des Anges
Hotel Baie des Anges
#3 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom Beach Hotel

Address: Baie de St Jean | Bp 1058, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range: $372 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tom Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the white sandy beach of St-Jean, on St Barthelemy, Tom Beach Hotel offers an outdoor pool and water sports facilities. There is a free airport shuttle, free Wi-Fi and free parking. The beachfront air-conditioned rooms feature a terrace with garden and sea views. Our rooms feature a King sized bed, individually controlled air-conditioning, flat screen TV with DIRECT TV channels, Bluetooth speakers, Nespresso coffee maker with Nespresso capsules, ceiling fan, mini-bar, electronic safe, « Molton Brown » bath amenities, hairdryer and beach towels. We also provide free high-speed Internet access in guest’s rooms and at La Plage Restaurant. The complex has Beach bar and a lively restaurant. Guests can request breakfast in the room. Shopping, bars and restaurants can be found in the nearby center of Gustavia town. Laundry service is available and can rent a car from the tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tom Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing