We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" THE BEST!!!!!!!'' 50th Birthday ever!!”
Review of Tom Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tom Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had the best time! The Beach is fabulous and the service is unsurpassed!!
The whole set up could not be better; roll out of bed into the beach cafe for lavazza cappuchino and croissants, then to lounge chair in front of the prettiest beach ever, then ordering the freshest lobsters
delivered daily by boat in front of the beach is truly an amazing lunch and the most delicious ever!!!! The Food could not have been better its no wonder why chef Todd English frequents Tom Beaches restaurant, Le Plage often!
The entire staff was great but Guilluame the concierge helped me set up all the parties and arrangements for 25 guests which enabled me to make my 50th Birthday Party perfect!! He was wonderful and very nice and oh what a party it was!!!!

Room Tip: all the same except 2 on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 376 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Le Tom Beach five nights, Jan 21-26. Our package included a car and continental breakfast, as well as transfers for the ferry (We came from Anguilla to St. Maarten to St. Barths, then also ferried back from SB to SM on our departure day. We loved the ferry rides, beautiful weather and water).
Marie was very helpful with our booking and arrangements, and boh Marie and Daniella, as well as all members of the staff at the hotel and restaurant could not have been more helpful.
We very much enjoyed meals at La Plage, and Le Tom and La Plage are in the best location on St. Jean Beach, by far the best place to stay on the beach in beautiful SB. Always a great breeze off the water, windsurfers flying around, multi colored water, mountains framing the ocean on both sides, just perfect.
Had great dinners at The Hideaway, Le Select, La Plage, etc. lunch one day at Le Corial on Grand Cul De Sac was ideal. Had drinks at many places, including On the Rocks at Eden Rock (special) and Hotel Carl Gustaf.
Locals all over SB were outgoing and friendly, and we will return to Le Tom Beach !!

Room Tip: We liked our upstairs Room #11 very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This review is only for the restaurant, La Plage. St. Barth is a super chic, beautiful, yet expensive place to visit with good shopping and restaurants. St. Jean beach is a great place to relax due to the calm water, availability of services, and great people watching. Nikki Beach is another alternative. Our meal at La Plage was OK, and the service was a little slow. However, we would consider returning because some of the other dishes we didn't order looked really good. Plus, the atmosphere was very happening--DJ, nice views, relaxing, and even a lady modeling clothes--although the cigarette smoking is too much.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tnc2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Pleasant helpful staff and cozy rooms. Good housekeeping. Minus for a long time to get errors in the room corrected (changing the light bulb). Wifi in the room broke four days of six. Smelled of sewage running from room to pool. No cushions on the furniture, got some thin too small when we asked.Nice restaurant & staff with fulll speed during the day. Missing coffeemakers in the room.

Room Tip: Not for small kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naffats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Tom Beach - our 3rd or 4th time at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were comfortable and offered the requisite amenities. A car (we elected a SMART) was included which is a fanatastic add-on as well as VIP travel assistance in St. Maarten, which is very helpful in that you are whisked though customs. As a matter of fact, he met us before customs and personally led us through the airport to our connection while taking care of our luggage. He even managed to get us on an earlier flight.

The beach at Tom Beach is long and beautiful, although the property only has a small parcel of its own, so the lounges are closely set. But the staff has everything set up by 8AM every morning, and its clean and well tended. The small commuter planes landing and talking off from the small airport offer a bit of interest and excitment as the are right off the beach. They are not loud or bothersome, just an added sight.

The breakfast (included) consists of croissants and french bread and wonderful coffee or hot chocolate, as well as freshly-squeezed juice. You can get a full breakfast should you wish, but it's not inlcuded. The food is still really good, but I recommend only a few lunches and dinners at the hotel as the island offers so many other options.

You can walk to St.Jean (absolutely skip the Nikki Beach - the food is below average, it's way over-priced and the staff are snobs hired more for looks than intelligence. Nothng like being talked down to by 20 year old who makes $15k a year). Anyway, St. Jean is a cute little village with shops and restaurants.

My only negative comment about the hotel is the stench that comes from the garden area where the rooms are located. It was almost constant and I think its simply due to the watering system always running which makes the garden into a swamp. And that's the smell you get as you leave your room or walk to the reception/beach.

Lastly, Sundays are get-together days on St.Barths where families and friends gather for lunch. Tom beach had many such groups enjoying the day, one of which was a group of 8 or 9 young Americans (early 20s). Sad to say, they got drunk, began exposing themselves, simulating sex on the tables, and generally acting like white-trash (actually, they were white -trash, so that was to be expected). It's pathetic what a drunken 20 year old girl will do for a drink. The French families (many with young children) mostly left. Then some of the guys started getting beligerent and a drunken argument started. My only probelm with the Tom Beach is that, even after they were obviously drunk, the staff was still selling them bottles of Champagne and other drinks. They should have cut them off, asked them to leave, and if they refused, contact the gendarmes (police). They should never have let them take over the place simply because they had deep pockets.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valandraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Fantastic location, staff were more than helpful, we were surprised at the level of service at this place. We would happily go back and stay with the team at Tom beach resort, LEGENDS!!!
Fresh lobster straight off the boat then on the bbq, cant get any better than that!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I can't say enough good things about this vacation. Staff were wonderful. The room was great (could have used an armoire). The beach and restaurant were great. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plpl1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
1.6 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2 mi away
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colombier
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom Beach Hotel

Address: Baie de St Jean | Bp 1058, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range: $396 - $1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tom Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Tom Beach Hotel is located on the outstanding beach of St. Jean, best known for its white sands and crystalline blue waters perfect to rest, swim or enjoy splashy activities… Taking advantage of its ideal location and close from the hottest spots in St Barth (Luxury shops, world class restaurants and major attractions) our little paradise is the perfect place for idyllic vacation. Feel the warm trade winds, enjoy the breath-taking view of the crystal clear blue sea. Paradise is at your door step… The 14 intimate rooms of our boutique-style hotel are nestled on a luxuriant tropical garden, far from crowd, perfect for a peaceful, romantic and relaxing stay. - 10 Superior Rooms nestled elegantly in our tropical garden. - 2 spacious and exclusive Deluxe Sea View Rooms fitted in style with stunning terrace overlooking St Jean Bay. - 1 brand new Beach Front Suite and 1 Beach Front Room. With the Beach of St Jean at guests’ footsteps, our elegant Beach Suite and Room echoe the comfort, great location and personalized service that Tom Beach Hotel is renowned for… Feet in the sand, « Pink Parrot » beach bar is the ideal spot to relax while sipping one of our refreshing Signature cocktails. Need some beach chairs and umbrella? No worries, our beach boys will look after you, and it is of course all included with your room reservation. Just relax we look after you… Want to do water-sports and activities such as sailing, surfing, Stand up paddle… No worries it’s available at Caribbean Water-play hut just few meters away from the Beach bar. Our Beachfront Restaurant and its French Chef, will bring you a gourmet experience like no other. Discover our menu based on Fusion food and healthy culinary art. Our Signature dishes include Caribbean fish and seafood cooked with local flavors: Yellowfin Tuna Tataki with Thai sauce, Grilled local Lobster, Half cooked Wahoo with Tandoori in Mojito sauce and many more… Yummy! Bon Appétit. « La Plage » is also the home of unbeatable entertainment and events all week long. Fashion shows, international live bands and DJs, Fire Spinner, weekly “Bikini Brunch”and Caribbean BBQ are all part of the spirited charm of « La Plage ». Whatever the occasion, our passionate and dedicated team will make your holiday truly special. Look no further, Tom Beach Hotel is the perfect place. See you very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tom Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing