We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate beach getaway via bare bones facility” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Emeraude Plage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Emeraude Plage
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ultimate beach getaway via bare bones facility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel staff were perfectly friendly and the accommodations were very pristine - nice flat screen TV in room, clean crisp sheets, and nice stand-in showers. The location is unbeatable - right on the beach and hop, skip and jump from Eden Roc, Nikki Beach and the airport. There were not very many amenities so do not come to be pampered. For example, it rained a bit while we were there and the lounge chair covers were never changed / removed post rain to dry. If looking for a nice place to rest and for a private getaway, this is the right place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    26
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
62
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I just returned from another stay at Emeraude Plage on beautiful St. Jean in St. Barths. Our room was steps from the beach, yet it was tucked away so that we had total solitude. The best thing about staying here is that you are minutes away from the shopping and delicious food in St. Jean or Gustavia, and you are on one of the most beautiful beaches on the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank osnarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Emeraude Plage for 7 nights in March. We stayed in Unit #1 which had a wonderful view and was literally 15 feet from the lounge chairs we spent so many hours relaxing and tanning on. I can't stress enough how great Saint Jean Beach is and EP is right in the middle of it. The rooms were very nice and clean, the bed was comfortable and the room was simple yet elegant. The staff (Armandine) was very helpful. Our first night we had a reservation at Le Ti and they booked a taxi for us. On day three they set my girlfriend up with a massage right in the room for $160 usd for 1 hour including tip. The Staff were always available to provide suggestions, directions etc. Compared to the other hotels in the area, this place is a bargain. Although we didn't cook, the kitchen was a nice bonus and the refrigerator came in handy for keeping drinks and leftovers from the fabulous restaurants cool. The Grand Marche supermarket across from the airport was fabulous. We stocked up on beer, water, snacks, cereal etc.

Some other comments:

Car Rental - we rented from Turbe Car rental, no issues. Definitely rent a car as there are so many beaches to visit. Shops in Gustavia were only about 5 minutes drive away. AWESOME shopping.

Mosquitos - bring bug spray. We were getting bites usually in the morning and evening.

Beach Chairs - there are plenty but if you have a particular one in mind, I would recommend getting out there early (around 8-9) if you have your heart set on a particular location.

We had a wonderful stay at the Emeraude Plage and would definitely stay there again. We absolutely loved St. Barths.

Room Tip: We really loved Room 1. it is so close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1cabuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband I stayed in the Emeraude Plage for 9 nights in June. As soon as you walk through the reception and on to the path which leads onto the beach about 10 yards in front, you are hit with the sight of the clearest turquoise water and whitest sand I have seen. Not only is the setting spectacular - but the rooms ar also beautifully and tastefully decorated. As it was our honeymoon we were presented with a bottle of champagne and a room upgrade, this of course made our stay even better. The hospitality and attention to detail we encountered during our stay was what really made our trip magical in every way. Members of my family, who were staying at other hotels nearby, and visited were also very taken with this place.

We had also several nights booked in the Village St Jean hotel as we couldn't decide between Village ST jean and Emeraude Plage so decided to book several nights in each. Although the Village St jean was nice, in our opinion it just didn't quite match up to the Emeraude Plage so we ended up checking back in for the remainder of our trip.

All in all we couldn't of asked for a more perfect hotel, holiday, honeymoon. In fact we had such an amazing time we intend to come back next year for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carolineMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

My son and daughter in law were guests at this beautiful place, prior to their wedding. The hotel proprietors could not have been more accomodating, and welcomed the rest of the family to the resort to use the sun loungers and towels. They also allowed the use of the covered cabana on the beach for the sunset wedding meal, providing candles along the paths and on the table. Both my son and his wife were overwelmed at the kindness and hospitality offered, and have asked us to write a review although we were not personal guests of this hotel, which we are more than happy to do.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Fabulous bungalow with nice outdoor kitchen, two burner stove and nice fridge. Very clean, high quality linens, etc. Small covered cabana right on the beach that serves light breakfast and drinks. No pool but of course fabulous ocean and pristine beach. Beware you are very close to the airport so periodically a small plane taking off-mostly interesting, not at all loud. Perfect trip until I returned my rental car to Hertz's Henry's Rental Center and they made up bogus damages and ten days later charged my AMEX $574. The car already had dozens of scratches and I did nothing. At the hotel, 8 min stroll to Eden Rock for drinks and dinner, and Tom's Beach Hotel Restaurant-dine with your feet in the sand- 5 minute stroll the other way.

Room Tip: Go to their website and look at layout of cottages to pick yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teskel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just returned from 8 nights @ Emeraude Plage. Entire staff was very attentive, friendly, and helpful. Great location on St. Jean Beach. Clean rooms, and the grounds are well kept. Very nice relaxed atmosphere. Thanks Genevieve, Nas & Amondine for a truly wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Liked being in Bungalow B - all the rooms are close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.0 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Baie des Anges
Hotel Baie des Anges
#3 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#2 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emeraude Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emeraude Plage

Property: Hotel Emeraude Plage
Address: Baie de Saint-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies so you can book your Hotel Emeraude Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Plage Hotel
Emeraude Plage St Jean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing