We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the water edge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Emeraude Plage
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“on the water edge!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

small,very nice and intimate all white hotel de charme in st.jean beach. There's is not a real restaurant, but a beach bar serving breakfast, light lunch and drinks. Rooms (all bungalows) are few steps from the beach and the beach cottages are really fantastic (even if they don't come for a cheap price, but everything in st. barth is not cheap). All rooms have a small but new and perfect kitchenette, nice bathroom and furniture. Eden rock is 100mt away and you can have lunch or dinner there. If you're not looking for "glamour" but for a real nice and charming place, this shuold be your choice (eden rock is always more crowded with many visitors).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly067Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    27
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel was such a disappointment. For $600 a night it was not worth it at all. I have stayed at most hotels on the island and this was by far the worst in terms of rooms, amenities, and service.
First of all, they did not have HAIR CONDITIONER! I mean a Holiday Inn has hair conditioner!!! The management was lackluster upon arrival and walked us to our room through the back service entrance, which looks like crap, because it was a "short cut". Had they not been lazy and walked us through the front PROPER entrance we would of been able to see the beautiful beach, but instead saw a brick wall and air conditioner units.
The grounds staff is not friendly, and actually SCARY as you leave your room.
There was a group of loud, obnoxious guests which partied next door until 5am and management didn't do a thing!
The front desk closes at 7 and you cannot get anyone to help you with anything after, nor access the computer area. WiFi is extra.
Television (not a huge issue since you're in St B, but nonetheless annoying) did not work. Someone came to the room 5 times to fix it.
Toilet did not flush and room smelled like you know what after a day.
It was the worst hotel on the island I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Bring your own hair conditioner, because obviously $600 doesn't afford you that luxury here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HOTEL10012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This wasa budget minded option vs eden rock for our stay in st Bart's. After arriving we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. We had a beachfront cottage with our own private chairs and beach. Eden rock next door was crowded with children and families, while we had a private beach to ourselves. Excellent location to allow walks to lunch and st jean beach.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dvbdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We just spent two weeks of bliss in this tastefully redone group of bungalows on the beach. It's a perfect spot to totally relax. We planned to go here or go there, but found ourselves not venturing far from our room, but instead to the beach right there a few steps away. If you like, you can be part of a community of people staying there, kind of like at a resort, or you can be private. The service is friendly, if not quick. But relaxing is what it's all about, isn't it? My partner and I have been going to St Barth's since 1978 or 79. We've seen a lot of changes in that time. Not all for the best. It's not the quiet island it once was, though with the more upscale tourism, there are more things on offer. Over the last years we'd rented houses on the island, this was a last minute idea, and a hotel was the perfect answer. I would choose only this hotel were I to want to stay again in a hotel on St Barth's.

Room Tip: look at the map on the hotel's web site, it's very clear. Though we wanted to be sure to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GibLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I ended up in Emeraude because I couldn't get a room at Eden Rock for January, having gotten on their waiting list since mid-August. Best thing that ever happened to me! At half the price and a 2 min walk down the beach from Eden Rock, I had my own large room, with a veranda and open-air fully equipped kitchen facing the sea. The beach was literally 30 steps away from my room. It was my first time in St. Barths and all I had heard is the island is rather posh, so I was expecting some rather stiff service. What I found instead was an extremely chilled and low key atmosphere, total privacy and very friendly staff. The owner is around a lot and very nice and helpful. One evening we had our friends who were staying over at Eden Rock for home made dinner - the owner made sure we got all the equipment on the patio - table, chairs, plates, cutlery etc. No issue whatsoever. The morning after it was all cleaned up, as if nothing ever happened.

The only downside - it is expensive, no doubt.

Also - no restaurant, no room service, no minibar. But then again - who cares, Niki beach is 3 mins down the beach, Eden Rock has a good restaurant and tomy's beach has a good resto on the beach (good for lunch).

One peculiarity - the local airport is next door, so you watch the planes come and go all day long. At first I though this will be annoying, I left the island thinking this is special - the St. Barths airport and the tiny planes that land there are a sight in their own right. It is that special, half the local fair of t-shirts, sweatshirts and what-not have the airstrip as their logo. And if you are a light sleeper, no problem - planes stop flying at dusk (too dangerous), so you are assured a good night's sleep (unless you are on a different time zone/schedule, that requires you to sleep until noon or so).

I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mpivanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Spacious rooms with a modern decor, great bathrooms, a kitchen and a private balcony facing the ocean. Located just 5min away from the airport and in a central position regarding all other beaches. Breakfast by the beach in this hotel's oceanfront bar "eau de mer" is an absolute must do! Friends of ours staying at different hotels all around the island came over every day to hang out at the emeraude because it is the best! Oh and i almost forgot to mention that they have an iPod Dock in each room. How awesome is that?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Emeraude Plage is our "go-to" hotel in St. Barth. We have stayed there 20 times+ over 20 years. The plusses: you are right on St. Jean beach, a great beach to walk and to enjoy water sports - there's a rental service a few yards away; it's a cozy, one level hotel with renovated rooms of different sizes and costs, some are literally right on the beach; fresh white decor rooms include a covered patio with comfy chaises and outdoor kitchens(!); very friendly and helpful staff; you can enjoy breakfast on the beach 25 yards from the water and cocktails at night at their intimate beach bar; it's a walk on the beach to several excellent restaurants and boutique shopping of St. Jean (it's right between Eden Rock and Tom Beach Hotels), close proximity to the incredible shopping, restaurants and nightlife of Gustavia, St. Barth's main town, avoiding long rides at night on the narrow, windy roads. The negatives: It could be too low key and understated if you are looking for a large, glitzy resort, and St. Jean Beach could be too active - it's close to the airport and Gustavia - if you are looking for a more solitary experience. We find the activity to be fun and the location to be perfect. Great restaurants include Maya's and a local place called Entre Deux in Gustavia. Don't miss a Saturday night at Le Ti to enjoy the show and show off your dance moves, and sushi and jazz at Le Baz is a must. Last tip: enjoy the best massage ever from a wonderful french woman named Veronique, veroniquemassages.com, who will come to your hotel and whose English is excellent. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpanded08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.1 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Hotel St Barth
Tropical Hotel St Barth
#5 of 8 in St. Jean
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Baie des Anges
Hotel Baie des Anges
#3 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
#2 of 2 in Colombier
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emeraude Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emeraude Plage

Property: Hotel Emeraude Plage
Address: Baie de Saint-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies so you can book your Hotel Emeraude Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Plage Hotel
Emeraude Plage St Jean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing