We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Mouettes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Mouettes
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Excellent location in front of Lorient Beach. Bakery, mini mart, gas station and some restaurants at walking distance. We stayed in room 6 and it was very nice and clean. I believe all rooms have ocean view. Nice, quiet and the porch is perfect for relaxing while you enjoy some wine, food and of course the view. Fantastic option for the price. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Reserve with plenty of time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pravione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

this is one on the best small apt/hotel in the island. right in the shore, next to the convenience store and some nice restaurants, at night is very quiet and the ocean waves let you relax while sitting in the little porch in the back, nice and clean, there's no tv, but there's no need for one, wi-fi is available and that the place to be for vacation at a reasonable rate in comparison with other places

Room Tip: try to book with many weeks in advance, the place is always booked, many people really enjoy the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

If i could define value this would be it. This place is well thought out. Very European. Rooms are not large, but beds comfortable. Very clean- a very nice French lady comes in everyday to mop and clean. Claudetta, the manager I believe, is very friendly and helpful. I stayed in room # 7- which was the cheaper of the lot. Back from the beach, about 100 feet! I could still see the ocean. Doves come in for a little snack during the day; you might see some lizards strolling around. The little alcove outside your sliding glass door has a table and a nice looking mini kitchen. A hot plate, sink, refrig, coffee maker. No microwave. The AC was very cold if you so want it to be. My friend and I would sit outside for hours and just watch the waves. The bathroom, for a small room overall, was roomy. All facilities worked well. I could spend a month at this place. It is well located, just minutes from Gustavia by car. There is a grocery store (JO JOs just a short walk away), a French Bakery across the street, an excellent Wok Rest just down the street. Its a hit any way you look at it. My friend compared it to a mini Little Dix Bay. And if you are familiar with that place (at 500$ per nite), you will like this place. Again, this is a nice, minimalist quarters, at a very reasonable price (just search the prices around and you will see) 120 euros per nite, excellent location with superb ambiance. A real find. Capt Paul Violand Tango Tango Sailing Charters LLC

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
202 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed at Les Mouettes the first week in February and had the best stay. The cottages sit right on Lorient Beach, so you are no more than 10 feet from sandy beach if you rent one of the 4 that are right on the beach. The cottages are done tastefully simple. No TV, No Radio, No Alarm Clock. But you really don't need any of the three aforementioned items. The kitchenette has all the things you need to cook any type of meal. There is a mini mart across the street that carries some wonderful cheeses and sausages. It also carries great french bread and produce. There is another supermarket about 100 yards down the street (Jo Jo). They too have lots of very tasty items you will not find in the states. And the coup de gras, the French bakery that is no more than 30 yards from the hotel. They open at 5:30 every morning and have scruptious quiches, french bakery, salads, sandwiches, and the like. The girls there are lots of fun too.
Contrary to popular belief, you do not have to spend lots and lots of money on St. Barts to have a most enjoyable time. Any where you go, the food is to die for.
And, Les Mouettes is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sprucecreekfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Wow! What an amazing hotel that is! It has everything you would like to enjoy on a St-Barth beach, without the ridiculous prices. Gorgeous little rooms, french only service and right on one of the best surfing beach in the caribean. Oh, and by the way, Jimmy Buffet used to own a hotel on the point there. I understand why he likes to spend his winters here. You just might see him surfing on a stand up paddle board.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frenchiefastwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
success1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed here with tons of family and friends. The rooms were great, clean and pretty. Bathrooms were really nice. The maid ( french only) was very sweet and polite. The beach was right out the back door. Our baby slept in a rented crib in the warm summer breeze while we sat with our friends outside listening to the waves and gazing at the stars. The supermarket and bakery are right across the street where you can grab a coffee and any french baked goods and sandwiches. The kitchen is very modest but functional. Great spot for families as the beach has a reef and therefore has very little waves. Most of the beaches on the island have strong waves. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sporizkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed at Les Mouettes for only one night. Some folks stated in their reviews that it was loud because it was next to the road. This is not the case. We were in #7, the one next to the road, and we slept great. If you want one right at the beach ask for one of the other numbers. #7 is set back a little bit, but is still only 6 or 7 steps to the beach. You just don't have a unobstructed view of the beach from this one. Great place, great people. Highly recommend if you need an inexpensive place to stay. St. Barth's is not cheap, and this will help you enjoy your stay and the ability to spend more on the food, and other items that the island has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hdawn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.7 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
1.0 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Islets Fleuris
Les Islets Fleuris
#1 of 1 in Marigot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colombier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Mouettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Mouettes

Property: Les Mouettes
Address: Quartier Lorient, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Mouettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Mouettes Hotel
Les Mouettes St Barthélemy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing