We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay with Hotel LeVillage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2nd stay with Hotel LeVillage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I spent our 2nd wedding anniversary at Hotel LeVillage in June (we spent our honeymoon here as well!).

We started out in a cottage on the lower level (standard cottage, I believe) and had some trouble with the toilet from the upstairs unit running during the night - my husband is a very light sleeper, so this got old quick. Once we brought it to the owners attention, we were moved to a terrace cottage. Although the staff did not believe that the noise was in fact the toilet water running, this is definitely the case since we could hear our own unit making the same noise when we were moved to the upstairs - although of course it is not a problem when you aren't the one down below! (noteworthy when booking your room!) The terrace cottages are definitely worth the bit more money - the kitchen is larger, the outdoor space is quite a bit larger and the view much better! Also, since my husband is a chef, we do a lot of cooking at the room - the terrace unit was better all-around for an entertainment atmosphere we felt. The standard cottage down below also had an abundance of ants simply because it was on the ground floor. The Terrace room didn't have that problem nearly as much.

Breakfast has changed since two years ago - for the better! The set-up is just lovely and the options are very nice for a continental offering. We liked how we were able to help ourselves this time. Stephanie was such a joy to see first thing in the morning - she would make suggestions for places we should check out and would always ask how the day prior went. She made us feel like family!

Overall, Hotel LeVillage is a gem. The staff and owners are quality people and that really is what makes a great hotel. The location is perfect - especially for someone new to St. Barths. It isn't a fancy hotel by any means, but definitely is not lacking in any way either. The only way we wouldn't stay here again is if we decided to go the villa route - otherwise, we are Hotel LeVillage fans for sure! :-) thank you for another great stay!

Room Tip: Terrace cottages are seriously worth the few extra dollars over the standard cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HA828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel LeVillage St Barth, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Dear Amy828H,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your second stay at Hotel Le Village St Barth.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed spending your 2nd wedding anniversary at our hotel. Again, congratulations!

The breakfast has indeed changed a little bit, we now try to offer many home made products such as yogurts, jam and cake. We are constantly trying to improve and are therefore happy to receive this kind of positive feedback.

I will personally inform all the staff about your kind words and forward them your compliments.

We would be most happy to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Pascal Zimmer
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    48
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
33
133
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I have been married for eight years. As per my husbands request (I guess you could call it a prenup), we had to visit his island (St. Barths) at least once every four years. Together my husband and I have been to St. Barths three times, and all three times we have stayed at the Hotel LeVillage St. Barth. The Hotel LeVillage St Barth is located mid-way up a steep hill on the St. Jean side of the island. The hotel location is ideal for quick, convenient visits to the St. Jean beach and the town itself. The views are fantastic, the owners Catherine and Bernard are gracious, kind people. The hotel staff members are helpful and attentive. JP, the front desk manager, was ever so helpful with quality restaurant suggestions, remedies to room accommodations, and light conversation. The Hotel LeVillage St Barth is synonymous with our home, away from home.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper level of the property. You will get a better view of St. Jean Bay and of L'avi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel LeVillage St Barth, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Bonjour Sandy M,

It's always a pleasure to have you at Hotel LeVillage St Barth. And we would like to thank you for your nice feedback.

The fact that you've stayed with us every 4 years and still have such wonderful comments about the hotel and our service makes us feel really good and happy that we've kept an even improved our quality and service standards.

Coming from an experienced guest like you, I'm sure other future travelers will find them really helpful.

Of course, we'll be waiting for you to come back in 4 years.

Many thanks,

Jean-Philippe HUMEAU
Assistant of the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Hotel LeVillage for 11 days at the end of May and it proved to be a great choice. For us it was the perfect location as only minutes from St Jean beach and, as we decided not to hire a car, was easily walkable to both shops, supermarket and even Gustavia. JP was so friendly and informative, both when we arrived and throughout our stay and Catherine made sure that we were able to have the particular cottage we had requested via email (No. 21).

We loved having our own private terrace and kitchen area and so felt we had the privacy of an apartment with the added advantage of having breakfast laid out for us! Our room was perfectly comfortable with a nice clean modern bathroom and we appreciated being able to have the option of 2 separate beds instead of a double which can be quite hard to achieve elsewhere! If you have any mobility issues then yes the steep slope to the beach would be a problem but if that's not an issue and you want great value for money then stay here - you won't be disappointed! Very useful mossie exterminator device provided too for vapourising the little blighters!!

Room Tip: Room 21 was great as it had a large private sun deck with loungers, brolly and partial sea view. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theKteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel LeVillage St Barth, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear theKteam,

We truly appreciate your feedback about your stay at Hotel LeVillage St Barth. We are happy we could help make your vacation more enjoyable with our accommodation and our services.

This kind of feedback motivates us to keep and improve our quality and service standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time in future.

Sunny regard,

Jean-Philippe HUMEAU
Assistant of the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

From start to finish the help was soooo wonderful. I had many questions and they did not hesitate to answer them ALL! From the front desk JP to the back, Catherine and her brother. Everyone was just so helpful and amazing, including the kitchen staff. The location was the best on the island and I was blown away. I would stay there again anytime!!! Such nice people... :)

Room Tip: I did not see the other rooms, sorry. View was amazing though that is what made the hotel so wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacssea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel LeVillage St Barth, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Stacssea,

Thanks for your positive feedback on the hotel.
We appreciate the great comments about the property and fell proud we could meet your expectations.
The entier team remain at your service and will help you again to discover the Secret St Barts.

Best regards,

Jean-Philippe HUMEAU
Assistant of the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel LeVillage for our honeymoon the last week in May. It was the PERFECT honeymoon and we're already planning our next visit, a big part of that due to our stay at le village. You have the amenities of a hotel but the privacy of a villa. Our cottage (Ch 16) offered a beautiful view of the mountains and St Jean Bay. We loved our open air kitchenette and dining area-- you have the option of eating at home or walking to many amazing restaurants. We recommend renting a car so you can drive around the island and also to the grocery (Marché U, 2 minute drive) to get drinks and sandwiches for the beach. After visiting several others, we agreed that Nikki Beach at the foot of the hill was our favorite.

The staff is so nice and helpful! We loved our breakfast each morning of fruit, homemade yogurt and pastries. They let us borrow a cooler, beach chairs and snorkling gear and we found several sea turtles around Eden Rock, as well as some other great spots around the island.

We recommend exploring the beaches then relaxing by the beautiful pool in the late afternoon.

This hotel is quiet, gorgeous, comfortable, and all around amazing. A true St Barth experience. We will never stay anywhere else!!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel LeVillage St Barth, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Carolinerva,

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for spending your honeymoon at LeVillage St Barts. We greatly appreciate your very thorough review and for sharing your experiences.

We hope to welcome you back for many anniversary celebrations!

Jean-Philippe HUMEAU
Assistant of the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is on a great location near the beach. It is a good starting point for discovering the island. Yes, the way to the reception is a bit steep, but it's not a long walk.

We had an ok size room with a little terrace with a stunning sea view. The bed was huge, but in my opinion not very comfortable. The room was perfectly clean.

The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The pool is beautiful and has a great view.

This hotel is a very affordable option and gives value for money. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Evaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel LeVillage St Barth, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Evaaaaa,

I am very delighted to read your very nice review. Thank you very much for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor about your experience at Hotel Le Village St Barth.The support of our guests is the best recognition we could receive and we highly value your recommendation on Tripadvisor.

We are taking well care of your feedback regarding bedding and can already tell you that all mattress will be changed before the end of the year.

We already look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Hotel Le Village St Barth.

Jean-Philippe HUMEAU
Assistant of the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This is the true St Barth experience of perfection and understated elegance. The location is ideal. The view from the top and the infinity pool is inspiring. The breakfast is perfect be sure to ask for an omelette. This is the hotel where you stay once and then go back every year. If you are into bling this is not the place for you. This place is not stuffy and not phony but it is just perfect. Very helpful staff. To get there from the airport go just past the Eden Rock and turn right and go up the hill

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel LeVillage St Barth, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Val W,

Thank you very much for sharing your marvelous experience at Hotel Le Village St Barth.

We strive to provide excellent services and make each of our guests feel like home. I will make sure that everyone from our team will hear your kind words.
It is with much pleasure that we are waiting to welcome you back very soon to your Caribbean 4-star Hotel.

Jean-Philippe HUMEAU
Assistant of the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.5 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
1.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#2 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#4 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Baie des Anges
Hotel Baie des Anges
#3 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LeVillage St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Property: Hotel LeVillage St Barth
Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as “LeVillage St Jean”, “LeVillage St Barth”, a true hallmark of the island, is a charming and authentic hotel. Nestled in the heart of a lavish tropical garden with fantastic views of the Bay of Saint-Jean, a short walk to many shops, 9 restaurants and the #1 beach, “LeVillage” combines tranquility and comfortable living in a true “St. Barth” kind of way. The Hotel offers Classic Rooms - spacious Standard Cottages - Superior Cottages - exquisitely renovated Luxury Suites and Villas - many have well appointed kitchens and large outside dining and seating patios with sensational views. Having recently reached the four star classification level, LeVillage continues to be known as the best value on the island.The many amenities - the beautiful infinity swimming pool, the Jacuzzi, the Wellness Cottage, the Fitness Room – will all seduce you and, like many of our guests, you will want to return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel LeVillage St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village St Jean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing