We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definite best choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
santa fe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“definite best choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

this place helped us fall in love with st. barts on the first date. we stayed in a superior cottage for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. from the best 'petit dejeuner' watching the island wake up, to incredible sunsets over st. jean from our patio (unless wading up to the coolest infinity edge in town). great help discovering the island / or oversight for those in need of it, impeccable service, and the most enjoyable work-out space we've been in for a while. best of all: others who've made the same choice.

Room Tip: can only speak for the superior cottage. at this location, the views from second floor balconys make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shawsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    49
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
33
139
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 November nights in a "Standard Garden Cottage" # 21 at Hotel Le Village St. Jean. This was our first overnight stay on the island, having only visited on day trips via ferry from St. Maarten in the past. I did a lot of research trying to find the right place for us to stay and was very happy with having discovered Hotel Le Village. I was a little bit familiar with the location and knew it would be convenient. Specifically it is about a third of a mile directly above Nikki Beach / Eden rock location (steep street). We were price conscious so I chose a standard garden cottage at 180 euro per nt. The closest other price categories were the newly renovated hotel rooms at 160 euro or the standard terrace cottage (the upper floor of the standard lower level garden cottage) at 240 euro. I really was unsure of the property layout and it seemed many of the prior reviews were for more superior categories of cottages than what we were going to book. Location wise, we did see that the beautifully redone hotel "rooms" (4 or 5 of them) lay directly above the steep road (off to the right side as you drive uphill) and some earlier reviewers commented on road noise (being a light sleeper I did not book that - however I do not think there is that much traffic and the rooms are very nice with a little balcony too and some foliage creating a bit of a buffer between balcony and street). Actually most of the property is off to the right side (the uphill side) as you drive up that road, including reception, breakfast area, pools, and all the higher category cottages. Only the STANDARD garden cottages and their second floor standard TERRACE cottages (I think there are only two of each) were off to the left side of the road....our driveway being immediately across the road from the main driveway into the property / reception. From the driveway level, we had a lovely paved path down to our garden level. LOTS of outdoor space for us. Big private lawn just outside the bedroom window (you won't really use that), and a BIG wooden deck with lounge chaises and umbrella located on the downhill side of our path. Very tiny look of the sea thanks to a tree on a private property below, but still a nice relaxing view from the deck. Only the little kitchen area just outside the entrance to the bedroom was a bit on the older side and the little dining table there also a bit small but we did not need to make meals or spend much time in this kitchen area. The bedroom was quite big with tons of storage, as was the bathroom. I am particular about elbow room and storage so this was good. Nice decor in both.
We got into a lovely routine here ...... enjoy a relaxed breakfast (with a view) of the fresh fruit cup, good breads, pastries, jams, nutella ...cereals coffees and perhaps a little conversation with another guest. Then we were off in the car to explore other areas for a few hours like Flamands beach (I really liked it) or Gouvenor (not as much to my liking but others seem to enjoy) . Midday we would return to our cottage and enjoy a nice lunch on our deck. We had gone to a Marche and stocked up on (fresh) baguette, olive oil, prosciotto, cheeses, and some great pate spreads ...along with some beer and other beverages, all kept in our little kitchen and fridge. We would open up the deck umbrella, bring out the ipad with mini speakers to enjoy some music and have a nice lunch. Afterwards, off to St Jean beach. We used the big parking lot right across from where the airport road hits the beach area by Tom Beach hotel / La Plage and this worked really well. Back to the hotel in late afternoon, perhaps a drink on our deck (we bought mosquito coils from the front desk and had brought some OFF with us), then out to dinner. Re Restaurant choices, We loved the magic of the beautifully lit garden at Eddies in Gustavia and very fair pricing there too. A big more pricy but great atmosphere dining ON the beach at La Plage (just down the road), and also at Eden Rock Top of the Rock.
I must mention the staff at Hotel Le Village is wonderful ...John Paul (JP) welcomed us and gave us a tour..... Glenda (hope I remember that right) on the cleaning staff was amused by my wanting to peek into all kinds of other "rooms" if she happened to be in there working (I love to check out all the options), and really everyone was great. OH - we did outfit ourselves with all kinds of beach gear from the storage room near reception ...2 matching beach chairs, a noodle for me, fins and a body board for my husband, and an umbrella. That stuff is luck of the draw for what is available but we got everything we were looking for and that is a nice benefit.
We certainly hope to return to Hotel Le Village again and I hope this review is helpful as to what to expect with a STANDARD garden cottage

Room Tip: We stayed in Standard Garden cottage #21, not much of a view (sea wise) but quite comfortable and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MEDISKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at Le Village. We selected this small hotel based on the positive reviews in Tripadvisor. We were in a lovely 'traditional terrace cottage". We had a very spacious outside area that overlooks their infinity pool and also beautiful St. Jean Bay. We especially enjoyed the hammock. Their was also an outside kitchen, dining table and chaise lounges. We spent most of out time out there.

The staff was very gracious when we arrived early. They showed us around the grounds and to our cottage. They were especially helpful in arranging a catamaran excursion for us.

The traditional French breakfast of croissants, French breads, fresh fruit,cereal etc. was a nice touch that was included.

We also used the fitness cottage daily that had all the essential equipment for a good workout.

I would highly recommend this small hotel. The staff was very gracious and helpful throughout our first stay in St. Barths. We will definitely me back to stay at Hotel Le Village on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just got home from a two week stay in the French West Indies and my last 4 days were spent here in room 18. It doesn't get any better then this! Our room was spectacular with a view to match. The owner is very charming and loves the service she provides and it shows. Everything down to the robe knobs in the bathroom are chosen with a wonderful touch. The fitness room over looks the pool area and has a view to die for. It contains the the usual trend mill, weights and mirrors but the the view makes for an amazing workout. Driving in St. Barth is not for the faint of heart and this hotel is close to many places to eat and a nice beach even if it is at the bottom of a very steep hill. Leave your rental car here and explore by foot.

Room Tip: All the rates are high on this island, so go ahead and splurge and get a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels i have already stayed. Amazing staff and customer service, a lovely pool with an infinity wall, very nice and clean accomodations. About the breakfast it is a typical French one with all those beads and home made jams. Certainly it is a place i want to stay again!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Luiz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This property is more a "villa cottage" style property rather than a hotel. The rooms are very private and and have beautiful views of St. Jean Bay. Very close proximity to the beach, shops and town. All close walking distance. The rooms are great. We stayed in #12. It was a Superior room with a WONDERFUL view and great, modern furnishings. Spend the extra and get one of these rooms! The pool was wonderful and intimate. The breakfast and and game room cozy and homey. The staff was very, very helpful and friendly. They were always there for dinner suggestions and also maps and helpful advice. I loved the fact that it was very laid back, not like some of the other properties on the island that sometimes can come off as too chic, off putting or trying too hard to appeal to the nightclub crowd.

Cannot say enough about this property. It's truly a hidden gem. Would come back for sure!

Room Tip: Room 12 is amazing! Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carriebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel was fabulous. We had one of the best rooms---Superior Ocean View cottage and just loved it. Interiors were wonderfully designed with a zen quality that we loved!
Carole, at the breakfast area was outstanding as we so looked forward to her sweet hospitality
each morning. What a gem she is!
Location was one of the best, we rented a car so we didn't walk down to the beach but the location is up on a hill nestled in a fabulous tropical setting.
Bertrand, the owner was great as was the darling gal who greeted us and showed us around to our room when we first arrived.
Would not hesitate to recommend!

Room Tip: I would ask for an upstairs room in the newer refurbished cottages because the soundproofing was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topcattc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.5 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#2 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Baie des Anges
Hotel Baie des Anges
#3 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LeVillage St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Property: Hotel LeVillage St Barth
Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as “LeVillage St Jean”, “LeVillage St Barth”, a true hallmark of the island, is a charming and authentic hotel. Nestled in the heart of a lavish tropical garden with fantastic views of the Bay of Saint-Jean, a short walk to many shops, 9 restaurants and the #1 beach, “LeVillage” combines tranquility and comfortable living in a true “St. Barth” kind of way. The Hotel offers Classic Rooms - spacious Standard Cottages - Superior Cottages - exquisitely renovated Luxury Suites and Villas - many have well appointed kitchens and large outside dining and seating patios with sensational views. Having recently reached the four star classification level, LeVillage continues to be known as the best value on the island.The many amenities - the beautiful infinity swimming pool, the Jacuzzi, the Wellness Cottage, the Fitness Room – will all seduce you and, like many of our guests, you will want to return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel LeVillage St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village St Jean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing