We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Village St Barth
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was awesome and the staff really go out of their way to help you. The pool is as beautiful as the picture. You can walk to the beach from your hotel room, but there are hills. The sights from your balcony are gorgeous. The kitchen area is outside your room and was a quaint difference from other places I have stayed in. They supplied these neat bug zappers with a flashlight on the end of it. There are mosquitoes all over the island, so we recommend the mosquito milk they sell there on the island at their local grocery store. It keeps them away and soothes the bites you received before purchasing. This is a very tropical island, but well worth the trip to see!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salisrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Village St Barth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 272 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with 23 rooms of different sizes dotted amongst a lush garden on the hill. We stayed in no. 22 and it is highly recommended as it is an upper level room with a private balcony with beautiful views. Some of the cottages are spilt with an upper and lower level and I don't think the lower level would be as nice. A simple but delicious included French breakfast served on a lovely patio was a delightful way to start each day. The central pool and deck is also very inviting and the fitness room while small is pretty good. The rooms are thoughtfully fitted out to meet traveller's needs and to handle the hot weather. The rooms are a simple coastal theme decor and very comfortable. Not high end luxury but well above basic. The reception staff were very helpful with booking cars and tips for restaurants etc. Bamboo the house dog was disappointingly indifferent to the guests. It is a short walk down a steep hill to the nearest beach and there are several restaurants in 5 minutes walking distance. The rooms are well set up for self catering and it is a 20 minute walk to a supermarket. A car is recommended for at least part of your stay as there are some lovely beaches to visit, much nicer than the nearby St Jean's beach which is pleasant enough but elsewhere e.g. Saline is far more wild and secluded. All in all, VSJ is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room. Room 22 is highly recommended.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in a superior cottage from 4May to 14May2013, and everything about the hotel was just about perfect! The people in the office were wonderful, the housekeeping staff were so cheerful & friendly...and also did a great job, and we particularly enjoyed Carole in the breakfast room and looked forward to seeing her cheerful, lovely smile every morning. Our superior cottage was perfect too. We just can't say enough good things, and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have been coming to this hotel since the early 90's. It is always the perfect place for us. The location within walking distance to St. Jean Bay is ideal. The rooms are not particuarly luxurious, but just right, especially given the relative bargain. The staff is friendly and very helpful. I wish the beds were a bit more comfortable, but they are adequate. We enjoy having the small outdoor kitchen for those nights when we just want take-out and a great bottle of wine from La Cave in Lorient. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMKKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed there for two nights and was pleasantly surprised ! Very friendly staf, clean and enjoyed my short stay. Returning in 5 weeks and will stay here again. The only comment I had would have wish the pool was heated !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belgium33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just back from a week - stayed in No. 6 Junior Terrace Suite.

Our room was very large (2 baths, including one outdoor), spotless, great big balcony overlooking the bay, nice outside kitchen, comfortable bed, high quality design, look and feel - everything clean and bright, maid service daily, and all in all a very comfortable stay. Nice pool, and a good gym as well.

The place is easy to find, ample parking, and although there's a short walk up the hill we didn't find it unmanageable at all. The staff were friendly and helpful, and wifi is free and available in-room, at reception, and in the place used for breakfast. Didn't get the comments re: breakfast posted by some =- it's only 12 euros or so for a good selection of pastries, coffee, bacon, eggs, cereal etc and the view is lovely as well.There is no bar, but there's a fridge with wine/drinks outside the reception and a good library of books inside.

It's only a short walk down the hill to Nikki Beach/Eden Rock, or turn right for several places to eat in the St Jean area. We didn't find the road outside the property to be busy or noisy.

We ate at Eden Rock, Nikki Beach and others (will review those) and The Hideaway and Pimento all nearby, and the supermarket is only 5 mins away by car.

I read the reviews carefully before we booked this, and had been concerned by some reports of (a) its not a full service hotel (b) poor breakfast (c) expensive (d) bugs (e) staff

Well (a) is correct but most people don't want an evening bar so this won't impact on your enjoyment. (b) the breakfasts were very good, stuff done to order - no American breakfast buffets, but not needed. (c) we didn't think so, for the size, location and quality of the rooms/space; (e) a few mozzies around, left out some jam in the kitchen once and saw ants next day - it's the caribbean! (f) we found the staff to be customer focused and helpful, especially when we had a problem with our in-room wifi.

So all in all we'd recommend the location as ideal in terms of having a great beach a few minutes way, several good eating/drinking choices including Nikki Beach's Thursday evening entertainment, plus Gustavia 10 mins away and supermarkets/shops 5 minutes away.

Definitely a recommend from us.

Room Tip: Room 6 was fantastic - separate sitting room, second bathroom outside, huge patio area with table an...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for a week and stayed at Le Village. We loved it! The location is wonderful and we had an ocean view from our private patio. The rooms were simple but nice (we stayed in the most basic room without a kitchen). Breakfast each morning was lovely, there's a closet full of beach gear you can borrow which was perfect. We came to love St. Jean and the little shops and restaurants you could easily walk to. It was a perfect and reasonably priced place from which to explore the whole island. We played bocce ball a couple of nights before heading out and had a lot of fun with that, too. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: We opted for the most basic just for frugal purposes and were surprised at how lovely it was! Even w...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
1.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Hotel St Barth
Tropical Hotel St Barth
#4 of 8 in St. Jean
109 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.2 mi away
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
Villa Marie Saint-Barth
#2 of 2 in Colombier
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Village St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Village St Barth

Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range: $212 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as “LeVillage St Jean”, “LeVillage St Barth”, a true hallmark of the island, is a charming and authentic hotel. Nestled in the heart of a lavish tropical garden with fantastic views of the Bay of Saint-Jean, a short walk to many shops, 9 restaurants and the #1 beach, “LeVillage” combines tranquility and comfortable living in a true “St. Barth” kind of way. The Hotel offers Classic Rooms - spacious Standard Cottages - Superior Cottages - exquisitely renovated Luxury Suites and Villas - many have well appointed kitchens and large outside dining and seating patios with sensational views. Having recently reached the four star classification level, LeVillage continues to be known as the best value on the island.The many amenities - the beautiful infinity swimming pool, the Jacuzzi, the Wellness Cottage, the Fitness Room – will all seduce you and, like many of our guests, you will want to return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Le Village St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village St Jean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing