We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, stay at Le Village was a perfect experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel LeVillage St Barth
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Once again, stay at Le Village was a perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We are veteran guests of the friendly folks at Hotel Le Village St Barth (ex. Village St. Jean) and just left after another great visit.

Catherine Charneau (owner/manager), Stephanie Monnet and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make us feel like we were family not guest. Great service, great amenities (especially love the fitness center), great location (we walk down the hill each day to St. Jean Beach) and a great laid back feel to the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    45
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
129
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I chose this hotel by looking at the positive review on trip advisor but I was impressed and very disappointed by the quality of the rooms and by the unfriendly attitude of the owner Mrs. Chaterine and the assistant Mrs. Stephanie. They are acting like you are just a problem for them and since you are in st Barth, you are lucky to be in that hotel! I felt like they wanted to squeeze as much money as possible from me without any respect and care about the hotel. The room's refrigerator was old and broken, the standard room are just in front of the street and the car's noise make it difficult to sleep. The breakfast was really basic, just bread and jam and something else...I expected much more from a room that costs more than 300 Euro por night!
The island is really beautiful and I will be back, but for sure not in this hotel! I have no idea who made the other comments here...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ShaunT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We just arrived back from our 1 week stay on St Bart's. This year we decided to stay more central on the island in St Jean. The Hotel LeVillage was wonderful. The tradtional villa we chose was large with a bedroom with extra seating, a desk, and plenty of closet space. The double sinks in the outer bath space were clean and had lots of counter space and the bathroom had a nice shower alcove. No bathtub. A second door to the deck with 2 chaise lounges is off the bathroom. We also had a large covered kitchen/patio area with a dining table sofa and 2 cushioned side chairs. Each room seems to have a lot of privacy.
The first evening,after 3 flights, the hotel arranged for us to have a light dinner of cheeses, meats, fruit and wine. It was perfect sitting on our patio. The view from the hotel looks over St Jean bay.
The hotel is locationed up a steep road in the center of St Jean. (All roads on St Barts are steep) We walked into town and the beach in 5 minutes. There are plenty of shops, grocery and restaurants within 5-10 minutes walking.
The hotel is not on the beach but you can take your beach towels to St Jean Beach or rent lounge chairs at Tom's Beach hotel, Eden Rock or Nikki beach in town. We did this one day. Otherwise we drove to the many other beaches on the island. We tried out the hotel pool which has a great view but the water is quite cold- one complaint.
The breakfast is a typical french breakfast with bread, croissants, ceral, coffee, tea, juices, and a fruit salad. You can order eggs and yogurt extra.
The hotel has a closet of extra beach toys, umbrellas, chairs, snorkels etc but you never know what they will have available since it is basically stocked with what past guests have left behind. We were lucky and found 1 chair, a small cooler and an umbrella to borrow. You can buy these things in the grocery stores- but very expensive. The hotel also has a large collection of books that you can borrow or swap with one you bring. That was great.
Right now Katherine has a very nice young man -Luca- working for her on the front desk. He was friendly and made good suggestions for dinner. LeVillage called in our reservations each night. Try SantaFe! Beautiful view, very nice staff and the food was the best we had all week.
Our only complaint for LeVillage is we wished that it had a bar. It would have been nice to order a drink while sitting by the pool.
The price is reasonable for St Bart's especially for the nice staff, lovely room and location.

Room Tip: We had tradtional villa # 14. Beatiful view of St Jean water and private location. The room next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is located in St Jean- (here you can find Eden Rock and Nikki Beach) - it is also really close to Gustavia - 5 min car drive- makes it an amazing location where to stay and go out at night and visit different beaches during the day. The room was big, very clean, excellent wifi connection and amazing view from the terrace of room. What I liked most is that you have almost a complete kitchen and wonderful table in the terrace to enjoy a private dinner / snacks. What I liked less was the attention of the employees of the hotel - they were just fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeniaLemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel and enjoyed the location and the cozy small pool (with exception of lots of noise from local construction-non stop 8-5!). The nature around the hotel was beautiful and so was the island. However, one would expect the owner and the stuff working at the hotel to be helpful, warm and welcoming to their guests. But not here. Instead, we spent 30 minutes upon arrival alone in the reception area waiting for someone to take us to our room. The receptionist, Ms. Stephanie acted as if the intruders arrived and waisted her time. We could hardly get any information or assistance from her!! Why would anyone want her to represent the hotel? We had the same experience with the owner of the "hotel" Ms. Catherine, later on. We felt sorry for them as they simply don't belong in the hospitality business and their attitude affects visitors.

We loved the island and will return there in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank antonio a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineCharneau, Propriétaire at Hotel LeVillage St Barth, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Antonio A,

We are sorry to hear about the impression you had about our staff.
This is not normally how people perceive us, and believe me, with 40 years of experience as a hotel owner, this comment comes to me as a surprise.
All the feedback we have from our other customers says just the opposite. This experience looks to me more like a misunderstanding. For us it is difficult to identify you, as we cannot decipher your pseudo. It would be of great help for us if you could contact us directly on reservations@villagestjeanhotel.com in order for us to better comprehend the situation.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel LeVillage at the end of January and we had a fantastic experience! Perched over St. Jean beach, our suite was beautifully appointed with breathtaking views. The hotel has everything you could think of: a beautiful endless pool and gym with ocean views; delicious breakfast, rooms with inside/outside showers, fully-equiped kitchen and a private deck for sunbathing and entertaining. Most importantly, the staff is warm, attentive and made our stay so enjoyable. We highly recommend this beautiful property and plan to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May 2012 for a few days. Although it's not a traditional, "large box" hotel, we found the non-traditional nature to be really appealing and more authentic. We had our own little cottage, which was unbelievably spacious with a kitchen, living room, bedroom and amazing indoor/outdoor shower. We actually wondered, more than once, if we could buy this place and make it our own little Caribbean getaway. There were amenities such as pool (very nice), a small gym (which was more than adequate), and restaurant/bar. We ate breakfast every day at the property and although a bit spartan, the coffee, juice and bread were very good. If you are looking for a more elaborate breakfast there are plenty of choices in the area. You can literally walk down to one of the best beaches on the island, with the Eden Roc hotel complex and other hotels nearby. My only "complaint" about the hotel is that the rooms aren't right on the beach with direct views/access. But, the environment is still very pretty, and you really feel a part of the island here. Also, the value for money is fantastic, considering most hotels on the island charge significantly more for what I assume would not be a much better experience. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thayer1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
0.3 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
1.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#2 of 6 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Taiwana
Hotel Taiwana
#2 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
5.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Baie des Anges
Hotel Baie des Anges
#3 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LeVillage St Barth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LeVillage St Barth

Property: Hotel LeVillage St Barth
Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel le Village St Jean)
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as “LeVillage St Jean”, “LeVillage St Barth”, a true hallmark of the island, is a charming and authentic hotel. Nestled in the heart of a lavish tropical garden with fantastic views of the Bay of Saint-Jean, a short walk to many shops, 9 restaurants and the #1 beach, “LeVillage” combines tranquility and comfortable living in a true “St. Barth” kind of way. The Hotel offers Classic Rooms - spacious Standard Cottages - Superior Cottages - exquisitely renovated Luxury Suites and Villas - many have well appointed kitchens and large outside dining and seating patios with sensational views. Having recently reached the four star classification level, LeVillage continues to be known as the best value on the island.The many amenities - the beautiful infinity swimming pool, the Jacuzzi, the Wellness Cottage, the Fitness Room – will all seduce you and, like many of our guests, you will want to return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel LeVillage St Barth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Village St Jean Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing