We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel in the French Caribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Rock - St Barths

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eden Rock - St Barths
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the French Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife & I stayed in a ground floor Beach Room at Eden Rock for 9 nights in April 2014 and would thoroughly recommend a visit. We really enjoyed St Barths - it's very French and the atmosphere is more 'St Tropez' than 'Caribbean'. St Barths has lots of excellent restaurants, the scenery and beaches are great although it is not for the financially insecure!

Our room at Eden Rock was spacious, immaculate, a patio with beach chairs and beds, and had all the modern facilities we needed. It did not have a bath, however, only a shower. Although a Beach Room the view was of the gardens towards the beach, rather than the beach itself - if you want a better view of the beach, ask for an upstairs room.

Both the On The Rocks and Sand Bar restaurants were excellent - as good or better than any of the other restaurants we visited - and while we initially found the staff a bit distant, this changed as they got to know us and by the end of our stay we felt we had made many new friends.

The beach, and the beach facilities, are also excellent.

Service throughout was first rate. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and that never waned throughout our visit. From the reception and restaurant staff to the room and beach guys nothing was too much trouble.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Eden Rock (and St Barths) and we definitely intend to return.

Room Tip: The Beach Rooms are actually set back from the beach in the gardens and you can't really see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alastair_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    36
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
62
282
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

What a unique property!! The staff is very friendly, very helpful, and all about you enjoying your experience. We stayed in the Fontiane Suite - very nice - great location to everything. The Sand Box was a great spot for breakfast. The Beach Boys took great care of us - attended to our every needs. Would highly recommend this property!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1550Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was our third and best visit to St. Barth's.

Each time we have stayed at the Eden Rock hotel and it keeps getting better. Great rooms and suites....some like ours on the rock over the water. Restaurant keeps getting better....great location...great beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awinrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

It's hard to communicate the magic of the Eden Rock. We were on St. Barts recently for a wedding and got to see other properties on the island as well. Nothing else held a candle to the Eden Rock. The two Jean-Georges restaurants are superb and our room, in the older Rocks portion of the hotel, was perfect. Service was faultless; being assigned our own beach chairs and umbrella for the duration was convenient, as was the use of the little car that was included with our room package. While there's no pool, with the perfect beach and the reef snorkeling right out of the hotel, who needs one? We intend to go back.

Getting there is a bit challenging. We flew to St Martins via Miami and took a 15-minute hop over. The connection was pretty disorganized and we had to wait for a while, but our flight back, going direct from St. Barts to San Juan and connecting to Miami, was much better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have been to st barths for about 5-7 times and every time we stay at Eden Rock. Their rooms are very nice and nothing can beat their beach. Very clean, not crowded, and friendly beach service.

The hotel staffs are very friendly and well spoken. They try to accommodate and have great attention to details. They also keep track of their clients in their data base.

We stayed at 4 of their room types and every room has something different to offer.

Breakfast is great, it is something we look forward to everyday. Room service and lunch were also very good.

The staff made dinner reservations for us and gave us the reminder so that we can refer to them.

We love this property a lot because it is close to the airport and very easy to get to, it is only a short drive to down town and to some local shopping places.

Very clean room and clean sheet. Very young and professional staff. This is a place that we keep going back and without a doubt, we stay with them every single time when we visit st. barths.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We just returned from our second visit to this outstanding hotel. Our room was built on top of the rock, with a huge porch which had a view to die for over the water. Although this was a premier room all the rooms are exceptional. The location is ideal and the setting one of the best on the island. The beach, and the water are perfect as well as the beach boys and girls. They take excellent care of their guests. As for the staff they couldn't be friendlier or more proficient. Service in every way is to be commended. There is so much in the details that there isn't enough space to report it all here. The bar is fun, and the restaurant serves up quality food. WE love this place!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in de Hannen. It is underneath the reception and totally private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi048Houston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

no doubt about it - this is one of the best hotels in the world. Cool and stylish, effortless and understated with an emphasis on service. I can't say enough positive things about our experience of the Eden Rock. Food was superb, staff always helpful and the property is well kept and stylish with quality and small details/touches that make your holiday a relaxing escape and refreshing experience. The Mathews family have made this one of the best properties in the caribbean but with an English-French touch that makes it chic and sophisticated. St Jean beach is brilliant, and so convenient to all parts of the island. The car rental included made all the difference. Well done, we'll be back! don't hesitate to consider this property if you like and value quality - it is pricey and worth every penny!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Battersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
1.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#2 of 6 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de Fr...
#1 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Taiwana
Hotel Taiwana
#2 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
5.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Le Toiny
Hotel Le Toiny
#1 of 1 in Toiny
5.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Rock - St Barths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Rock - St Barths

Property: Eden Rock - St Barths
Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Rock - St Barths 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set beside the beautiful turquoise bay of Saint-Jean, Eden Rock - St Barths offers an English country house ambience and warm tropical sunshine. Created by David and Jane Matthews, the resort offers individually-styled luxury beach houses and superb suites and guestrooms, all clinging to the rocks or bordering the sand. This legendary hotel is the beyond perfect place to soak up the sun or to enjoy world class dining at 'The Sand Bar' and 'On the Rocks' restaurants both managed by the world famous Master Chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Eden Rock - St Barths reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rock
Eden Rock St Jean
Eden Rock Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing