We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best hotel on the island, if you can get past the Jean-George restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Rock - St Barths

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eden Rock - St Barths
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best hotel on the island, if you can get past the Jean-George restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

It was a super hotel- I loved all the rooms on the rock side, as they were all individual, with their unique personalities, making it special.
For those seeking to be closer to the beach, there are newer beach front rooms too.
We stayed in room Fregate, a duplex, with double terraces and a private jacuzzi. What else does one need?
The breakfast was really good- fresh jams and cheese, hot food, fresh juices, smoothies etc. The breakfast rocked, but the lunch at Jean Georges, was very average and for the prices charged, it really should have been better.
The menu didn't have a great selection of light and refreshing items that one expects from a beach. The fish burger (fresh catch of the day) was over cooked and dry, my chicken paillard which was requested without gorgonzola cheese came with.
On the rock, the fine dining , was SO average. I don't know what the hype is about. Not worth it.
There is no spa here, treatments can be arranged in the room.

Room Tip: Stay on the rock side if you are not going with kids- each room is unique with tons of character and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ash318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    36
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
62
282
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Eden Rock thinks it is the best of the best of resorts, when in reality it does not compare to other top notch resorts in the Caribbean.
STAFF: The staff needs a lesson in service and the housekeepers need to learn how to clean. They do know, however, how to have a hand out for gratuities at all times. At the morning buffet breakfast, which is included in the exorbitant room rate, a small paper is left at each table asking for a tip. The beach staff expect it and do not pay attention to you if you do not tip them. One was actually rude enough to drop off the one bottle of water (most high-end resorts provide unlimited free water, not Eden Rock) in the morning without even forcing out a fake "Bonjour" after having been greeted. Bottom line: The staff is well trained at saying yes to every request, but following through on none.
ROOM: The room was small, tired, worn and awkwardly laid out. It looks nothing like the photo on the website which shows nice hard wood floors and closets. The room we had, had painted white floors and walls and was worn and chipped. The shower in the bathroom was decent. Both the room and the bathroom were not clean on arrival. After numerous, detailed requests to clean certain areas, it was never done during the length of our stay. The bed should not be at a 5 star hotel. It is a thin mattress on top of a hard wood bed, no box spring, no comfort. Nevertheless, the air conditioning worked well.
FOOD: The food was good, but came at an exorbitant price which one would think would be accompanied by good service, but no such luck. It is worth mentioning one server, Emile at On The Rocks who was so atypical to the rest and very nice.
BEACH: The beach is OK. The water is clear, but it is not one of those sandy beaches one sees in Anguilla. At the end of the beach is the runway for the airport, so if you are bothered by small planes taking off and landing all day and the noise then this is not the place for you.
GYM: Pathetic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank vacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We celebrated our Honeymoon here and it was absolutely perfect. We've been to some nice places but this was gorgeous. We stayed in the Greta Garbo suite, and it was fantastic. So much space, a gorgeous bath tub, awesome shower, huge selection of books in the room (our private library). The concierge was next to our room and they helped us with everything, quickly and nicely. They booked everything we needed and just took care of everything. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was amazing. Nutella donuts! The beach is incredible and you can snorkel, kayak, and paddle board right there. I can't wait to come back, I loved every second of it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovejamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Myers, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife and I spent four days at the Eden Rock Hotel and had a fantastic time. The service was outstanding! The property is kept in perfect shape, has a fantastic beach and the restaurant is, in my opinion, the best on the island.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelg00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

First of all - we were resident for 7 nights. I have seen a number of reviews which are from people who a) ate there, b) didn't go in or c) passed by so they are hardly in a position to review the hotel, are they?

To the hotel itself: It describes itself as in the world Top 100 (which it is at =99th in one online poll) but sorry, that is a ridiculous ranking. It is not a bad hotel - although there is room for improvement - but I think we are being a bit hyperbolic to rate it higher than even e.g. Gleneagles. In general, the hotel is very good but I could highlight a number of 'oddities', namely:
1. All front staff (bar, reception, restaurant) are young, attractive and... - a bit Stepford-ish. Any black staff are cleaning or sweeping the grounds. Sorry, but it doesn't have to be that way...
2. The Rock Suites are "ocean-facing" (quote from their web-site) - except the ones which face inland with a sideways view of the beaches or are sideways on so that you can see the ocean from your terrace. We changed room and still couldn't see the ocean from inside our bedroom.
3. Next door (about 100m away) is Nikki Beach - a local favourite beach bar. Which plays loud music every afternoon and has an extra-loud Sunday beach party. Being on the rock itself isn't a quiet position.
4. The food just ain't that great. Cheesburger with brie and truffle dressing as a main course in your dinner menu doesn't cut it with me as either gourmet fare or a main meal in 30+°C. No simple salads - maybe the chef should visit Greece to pick up the delights of simply prepared salads. And serving (truffle?) popcorn as a nibble with cocktails?? Having dined out at the restaurant of their previous chef, it is clear that there is an alternative to this style of cooking on St Barts.
5. The prices - it likes to be exclusive and appears to do this by simply raising prices or, for example, not stocking wines at 40 euros per bottle but almost only from 80 euros and up.

Overall, it was fine but wouldn't get me to go there again. From Europe we've been to Mauritius for the same climate, in the same amount of journey time, and got better value for less. It's close to the US so I can see why Americans would go there (although that doesn't excuse the food...) and I guess you are paying to exclude others but, personally, paying to avoid others isn't a reason for me to spend money. It was all a little bit too forced and plastic (sorry ladies!).

Room Tip: If you stay in a Rock Suite, be sure to check if it really is ocean-facing. The picture on their web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank dguycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Eden Rock is the best Hotel on St. Barts. After exploring the island it has the best of everything. St. Jean Beach, Jean-Georges food, beautiful rooms. I would recommend the Rock Classic rooms as they have a balcony over the perfectly turquoise waters. I love all of the little touches at Eden Rock, especially the Macaroons that they leave on the pillow at Turndown!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zoenicole819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in May. We were upgraded to a premium suite on arrival. The room was spectacular and the service was top notch. The beach is beautiful and relaxing. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the restaurant serves some of the finest cuisine on the island. It is expensive but so is the rest of the island. The package we purchased included use of a small car for the entire stay, a lunch on the beachside grill, breakfast every morning and a pair of cocktails as well as a bottle of wine. Overall an outstanding experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose1967_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Jean
1.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#2 of 6 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de Fr...
#1 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Taiwana
Hotel Taiwana
#2 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
5.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Le Toiny
Hotel Le Toiny
#1 of 1 in Toiny
5.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Rock - St Barths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Rock - St Barths

Property: Eden Rock - St Barths
Address: Baie de St-Jean, St. Jean 97133, St. Barthelemy
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > St. Jean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St. Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Rock - St Barths 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set beside the beautiful turquoise bay of Saint-Jean, Eden Rock - St Barths offers an English country house ambience and warm tropical sunshine. Created by David and Jane Matthews, the resort offers individually-styled luxury beach houses and superb suites and guestrooms, all clinging to the rocks or bordering the sand. This legendary hotel is the beyond perfect place to soak up the sun or to enjoy world class dining at 'The Sand Bar' and 'On the Rocks' restaurants both managed by the world famous Master Chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eden Rock - St Barths reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Rock
Eden Rock St Jean
Eden Rock Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing