We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Staff and Tasty Food”
Review of Sand Bar

Sand Bar
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in St. Jean
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casual cuisine with a light contemporary touch will is served for lunch at the Sand Bar, perfectly located on the immaculate white sandy beach of St Jean and offering a flawless view of the turquoise sea. For simply perfect dinners the Sand Bar Night is the coolest spot right now right on the water's edge where guests are invited to enjoy Mediterranean cuisine with an inspired nod towards Italy.
Reviewed July 1, 2016

My spouse and I enjoyed lunch at The Sand Bar restaurant at Eden Rock Resort on a Sunday afternoon in late April 2016. The Sand Bar is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily; however, it closes annually from the end of August to mid-October. We suggest that you make a reservation, even for lunch; we were not seated at one of the choice tables adjacent to the sand because it was so crowded and we arrived without a booking. (Eden Rock’s more formal restaurant called On the Rocks participates in the Open Table reservation system, and it seems to accept reservations for lunch, even though it is a dinner-only restaurant, so we think that the lunch reservations must apply to The Sand Bar instead.) Eden Rock offers complimentary valet parking for diners who are non-hotel guests.

The Sand Bar, which overlooks the beach and the clear-blue sea in St Jean, retains an elegant atmosphere, despite patrons in swimsuits, cover-ups, and bare feet for the lunch service. The décor of the open-air Sand Bar features lots of white, with red pops of color from placemats, cushions, and pillows, which contrast with the dark wood deck/floor and lighter wood of the beams that support the roof. The restaurant offers table seating as well as seats at tables at which one side shares the cushioned banquette. As with most restaurants on the island of St Barths, roll-down clear plastic shades protect from rain and cold when necessary. The restaurant features an interesting copper pizza oven, an atypical site on the island. The hotel bar area adjacent to the restaurant space (some of which offers indoor seating at high-top tables) looks a bit dated with its nautical feel including lots of wood and brass-rimmed porthole windows, but otherwise, the Eden Rock property is lovely. Restrooms are located a bit far from the Sand Bar restaurant, out past the shops and adjacent to the parking lot and valet stop.

Jean-Georges Vongenrichten, who comes from Alsace France, created the menus at both The Sand Bar (and On the Rocks). The executive chef is Eric Desbordes from Paris. Vongenrichten holds three Michelin stars in one of his restaurants (Jean-Georges in New York City), and Desbordes holds one from his previous restaurant.

The menu at The Sand Bar features international cuisine, with items at many price points and degrees of formality; for example, at lunchtime, you can order a less expensive hamburger, pizza, or salad, or you can break the bank and order the lobster or the Dover sole. (We watched guests order menu choices from both ends of the spectrum and everywhere in between.) As we perused the menu, our server delivered three small bowls of complimentary nuts (cashews and almonds), each coated with a different type of flavoring/herb/spice. We also received bread and oil as we waited for our meal. We shared two menu items, but we requested that they be delivered in two courses: first, we shared the pizza Jambon San Danielle et Roquette (topped with prosciutto and arugula), then we shared the Sandwich de Poisson Pays Grille and Frites (grilled local fish sandwich with fries; the top of the sandwich bun features the initials of the hotel ER written with black poppyseeds, which was cute!). Our food, as well as two rounds of drinks and a large bottle of water amounted to just over $100 (service included), which is not much more than we would spend for a similar lunch at a scenic restaurant in the United States, so we did not feel that the prices were outrageous.

We enjoyed our leisurely lunch at The Sand Bar, and we would visit again, or more likely, to visit On the Rocks at dinnertime.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank fluffnfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, F&B Manager at Sand Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear Fluffnfold,

Thank you for your fantastic review which is a wonderful compliment to receive.
All of the team will be delighted to welcome you back for another dining experience at Eden Rock – St Barths, hopefully soon.

All our best wishes.
Marc Lioussanne
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 329 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

The view from the sand bar is very nice! Their calamari was amazing as was the pasta dish. The dessert was great as well. Great meal with a nice environment!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank cara_lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, F&B Manager at Sand Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear Cara Lynne,

Thanks for your lovely comments, we are so happy that you enjoyed the crispy calamari – a Jean-Georges speciality which truly embodies holidays in paradise – especially when enjoyed with a glass of chilled wine, right on the sandy beach of St Jean Bay. Our pastry chef sends personal (sweet) thanks for mentioning the dessert.
We look forward to welcoming you again hopefully soon and send you our sunniest regards until then.

Yours,
Marc Lioussanne
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

Breakfast at Eden Rock's beach bar is my favourite food thing to do.....early morning 7.30 the green smoothie,eggs benedict, salmon and coffee...wow.....and watching the bay, the activity on the beach, setting up beach chairs to meet the next wonderful day....we must have been here 50 times!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank victoria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, F&B Manager at Sand Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear Victoria C,

We were delighted to welcome you back at the Sand Bar restaurant and thank you so much for giving us a lovely comment again this year.
We hope you keep a good memory of our breakfast and we wish you a wonderful time until we
meet you again in paradise.

Warmest regards from all the team.
Marc Lioussanne
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016

You can't beat the view at Sand Bar. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet there, which was both bountiful and delicious. Just being able to look out on the beach and the ocean close behind it, both no more than 20 yards away, make the view incredible. We also had dinner literally on the beach there, as they set up romantic tables at night there. The food was good, and the prices were as you'd expect. I'd recommend this one for sure.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank heimtime10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, F&B Manager at Sand Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear Chris H,

We loved receive this brilliant review and thank you so much for taking the time to write such amazing things about our Sand Bar restaurant.
We cannot wait to welcome you back for another magical day with us.

All the best wishes,
Marc Lioussanne
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016

Another lazy afternoon by the beach with the wine and cocktails flowing. I had a delicious Caesar Salad with Chicken ( which would been even better without the Chicken ) whilst husband enjoyed his Filet de Boeuf.

Service was first class as always as the credit card took another battering !

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Tilly41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, F&B Manager at Sand Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016

Dear Tilly41,

The Sand Bar will always love you! We were delighted to welcome you back again and thank you warmly for giving us a lovely comment again this year.
You deserve to be welcomed as royalty and we appreciate your loyalty to Eden Rock – St Barths more than you can imagine.

Looking forward to the next time in paradise…

Warmest regards,

Marc Lioussanne
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Bar also viewed

Grande Saline, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Lurin, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Sand Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing