We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai in the Caribbean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Ginger

Black Ginger
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Gustavia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Thai in the Caribbean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The maitre d' gave us a very warm welcome, talked us through menu and gave us good recommendations. The food lived up to the ambience. Unfortunately on this occasion service slipped a bit. It felt like a one off so I'd still wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjc992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    77
    28
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

As a New Yorker, where we're spoiled by an abundance of outstanding Thai restaurants, I was hesitant to try Thai food in Gustavia. But we were thirsting for something different, and this was recommended by our hotel. We loved it!
To begin with, the decor is wonderful - an elegant colonial-feeling building on a hill facing in the direction of the harbor, with very high ceilings, huge windows, and a chic and sexy feeling overall. And a really fun crowd! From the yacht set to locals to families to couples, everyone seemed to be having a great time. And the service was warm and attentive
And the food was great! I had plamuk yang (grilled squid with hot sauce) and a red curry chicken, my companion a pork fillet with red curry paste, and everything was delicious. It may have felt better to us than it actually was, because we'd been doing classical French for days on end. And, for St Barth's the prices are actually very reasonable!
For a change of pace on St Barth's I highly recommend checking this out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceeded our Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Black Ginger was selected for us by our travel agent and we were a little apprehensive about eating Thai on a visit to a renown French chic island. Because we are distinclty American and dont know better we had a table at 7:30 and were the 2nd group seated that night. We thought "oh no this is not a happening spot, no one is here"....the decor was really charming and the wait staff young and really very nice and engaging (did not experience that everywhere on the island). Slowly but surely the place filled up and by the time we left it was standing room only and a perfect little bustling vibe was going on. The restaurant is not large but is split on two levels.

THE FOOD - we had many great meals on this trip but everyone in our group agreed that this was tied for first in terms of quality and flavor and we are food snobs. For starters we had the beef salad which was fantastic...I did not have the experience the last reviewer did. The rest of the group got a simple vegetable salad that had some mango and it was good as well. For our entrees I had the pepper mahi-mahi. A really well cooked piece of fish sitting on top of a very dark thai pepper sauce (not too spicy...I'd give it a 3 out of 10 on the spicy scale) The flavor was very very very bold, if you want a mild or simple fish this is not the dish. The others around the table had the thai beef ("Flying Tiger") from the menu and it was prepared with a marinade and served with a mint relish or preperation of some sort. FANTASTIC (we voted that the best dish on the table). The last person ordered a shrimp dish which looked great but I didnt get to taste it. We ordered some coconut jasmine rice and some sauteed vegetables for the table both really good. The rice was very light with just a hint of coconut which went really well with the fish.

So if you are looking for a different spot with a different menu from the "norm" on the island and food with bold explosive flavor in a quaint atmosphere. This is a good place to give a try.

For a nice evening try going to Shell Beach and having cocktails while the sun sets and then a nice short stroll back to Black Ginger for dinner followed by a stroll around the docks, boat watching or window shopping. A nice evening.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ediddyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rudeness and tiny food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Attractive, chic restaurant. Seated warmly and quickly at front banquette table. Nice menu. Ordered 2 entrees. (These are appetizers in french) The Thai beef salad contained 6 small, hard pieces of beef with meager vegetables, strange flavor, an incendiary hotness, and a few seafood raviolis which were excellent. Concerned at what I noted to be the rather small portions of menu items I consulted the server and asked for substantial portions of the main course. She only had I thought, chicken Massaman. OK. While waiting for the next course, the maître d' or owner approached our table, slid into the seat very close to me and said there was a table mix up, he had a large party to seat and would we mind moving our table. Annoyed at his rude request, teeny portions, sky high prices, $40 for 2 little plates, I told him our thoughts and said we would leave. He charged off, rushed the food, a cup full of pad thai, a curry casserole with 6-7 skinny pieces of chicken, and huge chunks of potato, etc. Anxious to escape, we ate quickly. Our bill for half a meal and no wine was $90. What would you think?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jsl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last minute decision and surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Our intention was to dine somewhere else close by but it was closed. We happened upon Black Ginger and the atmosphere was dramatic through layout, lighting and open roof. The meal was quite good - from the tartare fish appetizers to the spicy beef and veggies to the shrimp ravioli to the chicken curry with a strong peanut base. The place was packed within 10 minutes of our arrival and the wait staff did a good job of serving many masters. The Maître was attentive, sincere and pitched in to help staff. We left satisfied that Black Ginger is a solid choice. Of course every day is different and for us we hit it when they were firing in all cylinders

Helpful?
Thank travelalottoliveitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Ginger also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Grande Saline, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Black Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing