We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, low air fill, felt ripped off”

Plongee Caraibes Catamaran
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I dove with this company in December 2013 and felt entirely ripped off. First, as this company had a deal with the cruise ship I was on, I was forced to book it with the ship. Unfortunately no where did it say that this dive trip is only a 1 tank dive. Yes, I did take it for granted that since every dive operator in the world goes on 2 tank trips, I didn't ask to verify before hand. So I paid $150 usd for a 1 tank dive! Also, my tank was only filled with 2200 psi (a very low fill) and since they didn't bring an extra tank with them on the boat, I couldn't switch it out. Overall the dive was ok but I would not dive with this company again because of the price and the low air fill.

5  Thank Shawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Propriétaire at Plongee Caraibes Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Sorry but We are not responsable for the price you paid to the cruise ship company , and we are not responsable if she offer you only 1 dive instead of a 2 tank dive !!! she paid me back only 60Euros for this single dive .
For the filling tank 2200PSI is like about 150bars , and you did not have any problem with your air during your dive ( deph 45 feet time 40 minutes ) , you are AOW , and we have 30 tank on board...(catamaran ) .
For the next time , it will be better you contact me directly by email the contact ison my web side , and you will ask us to have a full full tank ( 200bars = 3000Psi ) .
Best regarsd .
Thierry Balaska .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Spent the first week of December 2013 diving with Thierry and his wonderful dive masters.
I am an experienced diver and they treated me as such. The reefs were healthy (it's a marine park-no gloves) and loaded with fish. Saw sharks, eels, turtles, rays and a host of many other caribbean fish. The water was warm (80 degrees). I wore a 3mm full wetsuit but probably didn't need more than a skin.
The boat is pristine, large and comfortable. There is a head and plenty of room to sunbathe between dives. Thierry serves snacks as well.
The dive masters are first and foremost concerned for your safety, educated and experienced. They are helpful and accommodating.
Thierry made sure everything went smoothly. I would highly recommend for any level of diver.

Thank drendo324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We first booked the discover dive but then carried on to do the padi certification. Thierry was very welcoming and the crew was very nice!! Emmanuel was our instructor. He was great and very attentive!!! Thierry took us to great, sheltered spots with loads to see (4 spots- 1 for each dive)

I would highly recommend plongeé carriabes if you are looking to dive in st barths at any level!

It's expensive but you have to realize that you are paying for the upkeep of the boat, fuel, man hours and all the equipment up keep. It was around €350 for the padi certification

Thank CoLoAoRoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Thierry and team are great. They were very friendly and helpful. We got the discover scuba package, including two dives, equipment, and instructors who followed us, controlling the depth down to approximately 15 feet. We went to a couple of nice spots, including a rock wall covered with colorful coral and a shipwreck. It was a lot of fun. The instructors made us feel at comfortable and safe.

Thank leomtoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank francketvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry B, Propriétaire at Plongee Caraibes Catamaran, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plongee Caraibes Catamaran also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Plongee Caraibes Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing