We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch, wonderful views”
Review of Le Repaire

Le Repaire
Ranked #13 of 69 Restaurants in Gustavia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on St. Barth, French West Indies, overlooks Gustavia harbour, across from the ferry landing.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great lunch, wonderful views”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stopped in with another couple on our shore excursion time in Gustavia. After a morning dive, we got into the afternoon shopping and yacht and people watching. Had the later lunch, so we missed what looked like a wonderful fresh fish special. Service was wonderful, menu top notch, wine selection very good. Sat out in the open air and watched the parade of beautiful people passing the day in St. Barts. A really cool lunch spot if you have the afternoon in Gustavia and need a break from the shopping grind.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXrocklobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    101
    30
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gustavia
1 review
“Superb Restaurant”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been coming to the Island for 6 years and the Repaire is the only restaurant that is consistantly good! The welcome, the staff, the food; all superb. There is a varied, interesting menu but their plus is that everyday there is a choice of suggestions from the chef. So you never get bored! Value for money is excellent. Great position on the port, so plenty to see.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sashimi and carpaccio to die for”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had lunch here last week. I had sashimi and grapefruit salad. The fish was paper thin and exquisite. A little lime juice over the top brightened it all up to perfection. My husband enjoyed beef carpaccio with thinly shaved parm. Another perfect dish. A bottle of rosé complemented it all and we will remember our lunches for a long time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvtravelAmherst_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine Lunch at Le Repaire with Personalized Treatment!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Le Repaire is on the main road by the dock in Gustavia, and after initially being seated on the noisy, hot terrace, discovered an air conditioned dining room in the back to be more to our liking. We were treated cordially by the father- son team. And the service was fantastic!
We chose a bottle of Chapoutier Belleruche 2010 Cotes-du-Rhone red, even though we had ordered fish and pork loin. The first course “entrées”, or entering courses, were plates of cucumbers in a cool, mint cream sauce, or mango, shrimp and cucumber salad, the shrimp grilled but still tender.
Main courses were the day’s special of juicy pork loin cooked in a light sauce of cumin, coriander, star anise, soy, honey and a touch of curry, with roasted tiny fingerling potatoes and sweet carrot strips. We also ordered the local mahi-mahi with “virgin” sauce. We were delighted by the copious vegetables – long French green beans, squash, a mound of yams with cherry tomato, and jicama. The other fish course was yellowtail cooked in olive oil, also with a profusion of vegetables and fluffy rice infused deeply with garlic, and oil.
My sister ordered the day’s special dessert, crepes Suzette, which were the best any of us had ever experienced – thoroughly drenched in a sauce of Grand Marnier with orange and grapefruit slices perched on top. My husband and I ordered 2 expresso coffees instead of dessert, but we were unable to resist tasting the crepes. The owner gave us passionfruit and ginger rums to top off the meal, which we rated an “A”.
The owner of the restaurant for 23 years made sure to convey his thanks to the owner of the apartment we are staying at in St. Martin for sending us! We were made to feel right at home along with the rich and famous!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good quality classic French bistro”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Le Repaire sits just across the street from the main harbor in Gustavia. The restaurant has the atmosphere of the classic bistros of Paris. The front of the restaurant is open to the air and provides nice people-watching while you dine.

The menu is absolutely classic French bistro fare, skillfully prepared, with daily specials on the chalk board, featuring everything from pigeon to frog's legs.
Everything was prepared fresh by a chef - not warmed-over frozen food.
Service was friendly and quick.
We really enjoyed our dinner there.
You know you're in France, even if it's in an American time zone!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Repaire also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Le Repaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing