We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic island charm.”
Review of Le Vietnam

Le Vietnam
Ranked #27 of 69 Restaurants in Gustavia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Since 1989, Chef Tuyen and his wife Angelique are pleased to welcome you in an unusual place in the heart of Gustavia in Saint Barths. All year long, come and discover our menu from 12:00 to 2:00pm and from 6:00 to 10:30pm. We are closed on Tuesday and Sunday for lunch.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic island charm.”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here several times over our yearly trips to the island, and we not only love the food and service but the authenticity of the place. The duck/ pineapple dish is simply delectable and the service cannot be beat. We also love that this is a family run establishment... 25 years and going strong. You get the sense of supporting local business's when dining here. Support the small folks... Eat at le Vietnam!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annasbh, Owner at Le Vietnam, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear guests,

Thanks for your kind review and your loyalty, we really appreciate it. We are also very pleased to know of your satisfaction with our food (especially our Pineapple Duck!) and service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again!

Best wishes from Le Vietnam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Sub par Vietnamese restaurant”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The food was below average from what we can get in the States but you're still paying St. Barth's prices. You will probably be dining while the owner's family, children and pets are 20 feet away which detracts from the restaurants ambiance.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Libertine_1433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, shabby place”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I really loved food at Le Vietnam, my only complaint would be a way the place looks like. Honestly, is it that hard to restore the restaurant building and make it look a bit nicer? Once we approached it I was taken aback by the way restaurant looked like. In the end I am happy we ended up dinning there as food was top notch. Pekin duck was simply divine!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLoverB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annasbh, Owner at Le Vietnam, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your positive review regarding our cuisine. As for our building, we are happy to address this with you. Our restaurant is in an old Presbytery (priest's residence or rectory) that has been registered as the historical site, therefore, we are unable to make any exterior changes and we are limited on interior changes. Even though it is not a new and modern building, it holds a lot of history and respects the historic value of the building. We are really glad that you enjoyed the Pekin Duck. We hope that on your next visit you introduce yourself, as we would be honored to meet you!

Best wishes from Le Vietnam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good Vietnamese; a nice change”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

St. Barthelemy has tons of great French restaurants, but sometimes you just are in the mood for something else!

Well, if you want Vietnamese/Asian, this is a great place to visit. Easy to find in Gustavia; good asian fare.

Also, one of the less expensive choices on the island. Take a break from the French and give it a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AAndTMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese and a great value”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Don't be discouraged by the outward appearance of the building, which resembles a 60's era Chinese restaurant in the US. The food is excellent, better than any Vietnamese we can get in Boston, and a great value by St. Barth standards.

(One caution: if you are sensitive to MSG, ask for your food to be prepared without it.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vietnam also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Lurin, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Le Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing