We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A very pleasant evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pipiri Palace Restaurant

Pipiri Palace Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 64 Restaurants in Gustavia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Pipiri welcomes you every day except Sunday 12h00-14h30 and 19h00-22h30 Lots of dishes will be proposed: Shashimi,Tartars,home made foie gras... Main course: Shrimps fricasse creole,baby back ribs and some French specialities;Porterhouse,grilled rack of babylamb... inside,outside juste choice.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Contrary to what another reviewer wrote, we had friendly and attentive service last night. The restaurant has the same open air feel as before, and the same chef is in the kitchen. The food was tasty, attractively presented, and cooked as we requested. This restaurant is an old friend we look forward to visiting when we come to St. Barths each year and didn't disappoint.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank philipladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    56
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
snowmass, colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor and lackadaisical service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have dined at Pipiri Palace several times over the years and usually enjoy it as a somewhat affordable alternative to the other very expensive restaurants in St. Barths. However, on our trip in February 2014 it was very disappointing. We arrived early and the restaurant was not busy, but it took forever to order basic things like bread, water and wine. I had a great salad, but two people in our party who had lobster (a Pipiri specialty) said it was overcooked and dry. Mostly, however, the service was apathetic and we had to ask for several things again and again. before they finally arrived at our table. The wait staff just didn't seem to care.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andywiessner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“A rainforest delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Change is good for the Pipiri Palace St. Barths restaurant. The new owner Rodrigue and his wife purchased the dining spot in August 2013 and have freshened the interior and exterior with fresh paint and new décor. It is on the road down from Le Select with it’s traditional sign hanging out front and a chalkboard menu with the daily specials.The daily specials grabbed our attention as we strolled the Gustavia streets looking for a dinner spot. We spotted the listing for an appetizer of Ravioles de St. Marcellin sauce aux cepes. Underneath was the dinner plat du jour offered -Marmite du pecheur. Seafood was our dinner choice. The food was fabulous and filled us up quickly!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

After a few days on a sailboat we picked Gustavia for some time ashore. Walking the streets we came across Pipiri while they were in food prep for dinner. Just the prep smelled amazing.
We came back 2 hours later once they were open for dinner (7pm was the earliest seating as it's a late dining town) and had a fantastic meal.
The fresh local seafood prepared with attention to detail was the showstopper, but it was all fantastic.
I had the "St. Barts Shrimp" which was a table favorite.
So awesome and worth the hunt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChillTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Johann in Tirol, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in St. Barths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I live in St. Barths for long time, Pipiri has a new owner and the kitchen is outstanding.
On all restaurants this is for me the most charming one and every dish I had was outstanding.
Especially the fish dishes (Mahi Mahi steak), Special Fish of the day and my favourite the Lamb chops.

It is like Mum is cooking for family and tries her best. This maybe the best way to discribe this restaurant. The wine menu is also very fine and also wine lovers will find their bottle.
Service is very charming and extremly good. Please note, it is only open for dinner at the moment. Next door is MC 2, great brand for shirts and bikinis in St. barths.
I recomment everybody this restaurant, since I went 10 times while a month stay in november 2013. Have a good year and see you soon. Miss the food and miss you. See you soon Thomas

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thortner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipiri Palace Restaurant also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Grande Saline, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Pipiri Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing