We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
Review of Sunset Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gustavia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gustavia
Lindenhurst, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband, son and I stayed at the Sunset for 2 nights. It was our first time in St. Barths and it was surprisingly very nice! Clean basic French hotel. Staff was very friendly and Mariam is a jewel! We plan to go again next spring and will stay here again! Great location directly across from the ferry. Hotel reserved our rental car so all we had to do was show up! I can't say enough nice things about this place! Breakfast was nice and the view beautiful!

PJ
Illinois

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
24
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I just returned from 3 nights at the Sunset Hotel. I had read the reviews and wasn't expecting a resort, but did expect a clean hotel. The hotel has a sewer problem, it smells terrible in first floor foyer and second floor (owner burns incense to cover smell during the day), we could also smell in our rooms in the end of building (rooms 2, 9, and 10). The rooms were not very clean, wide cracks around doors for bugs to enter, no safe for valuables, sheets, towels, pillows, and bedding were very old and worn. Owner turns off A/C when you leave for the day so when you return from beach the room is HOT and takes 5 hours to cool, bathroom is not air conditioned. The TV is French only stations. Managed by owners, checkout is 10:30 sharp since owner cleans the rooms, she told us not to bring in sand and to not turn AC down. View of harbor is nice, it is hard to enjoy in summer months due to heat ...However its cooler than your room when you return for sunset since owner turns off AC. This hotel is only surviving due to all other hotels being much more expensive. I would not return to the sunset hotel... I agree with the review that states...If this is all you can afford, stay home or go to Florida.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetoshopga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gustavia hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was my first time to St. Barth and I found this hotel to be so convenient. It is across the street from the ferry. It is in walking distance to shopping, restaurants, the beach. We had a room facing the water. It had a huge bathroom, the a/c worked well, and comfortable beds. We had an issue with our doorknob and management fixed it immediately. The staff was attentive. We had the breakfast on the terrace in the morning. On the day we were going to leave they let us lock up our bags so that we didn't have to carry them all day. Clean hotel and they had a rental car available. I would recommend and I will return in the future.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room towards the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset for one night's accomodation before our villa was available. Our superior room was on the harborside with balcony looking out over the Gustavia Harbor, you certainly can't beat that view for the price. Our room also had a small table and two chairs next to the door. Nice for happy hour and morning coffee. Your neighbors will also be using their's, so it's a chatty, fun environment. Room was fine. Big negative for me was the hand-held shower, no hook in the shower so it had to be held the entire time. Interesting "industial" type hair dryer. It's noisy here, it's on a busy street in Gustavia, so unless you are a deep sleeper be prepared to wake to the sound of whinning scooters. Overall, budget accomodations with a terrific view and location. If lack of privacy and noise are not issues with you, this would be fine for a longer stay. For me, it's a great place to hang for one or two nights and then move on to something else. Which reminds me, check out is 10:00am sharp!

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the harbor, a little more, but worth it. Although inside room would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank binti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel for a quick trip to St. Barths! Staff was excellent and helped arrange our car rental. Very quick to answer my emails. Clean hotel with big rooms. Wonderful view of the harbor! Breakfast on the patio was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The place to be for the budget traveller. Safe and clean room and great view form the balcony of the city. Great to drink a wine and enjoy the view. You can park your car accross the street where also the Saint Martin Ferry arrives. Staff is helpful and speaks English. The hotel also has a rental boot at the airport where I got a new rental car for a good price and good service. Big advantage is that you can walk the whole city from the hotel. Good restaurants are like a 5 minute walk. With the car you will be at a nice beach in 5 minutes. If you want to see Saint Barths but you are afriad of the expensive name it has than you should go to this hotel. The money you will safe can be used in the excellent restaurants!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown,SVG
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Lovely view from terrace of Gustavia Harbor, clean room, perfect town location! air-con, t.v., hairdryer, fridge with drinks for an extra cost, breakfast 8euros. Miriam our only staff was nice, did everything. We stayed in the Double Superior room not luxurious, but you can save the luxury $ for other things in St.Barths

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J8Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gustavia
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
2.4 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Jean
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
Le P'tit Morne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Colombier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Rue de la Republique, Gustavia 97133, St. Barthelemy
Location: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Gustavia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gustavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Gustavia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing