We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scout's Place Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Windwardside B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Scout's Place is the place to go if you are on Saba for diving or walking. It is clean and our room was comfortable with amazing views. The staff are friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is a bit monotonous if you are there for a fortnight like us, but you can pay for alternatives and you certainly do not go hungry. The coffee is very good too which is a big plus (you even have filter coffee in your room).
The supermarket is a minutes walk (buy fresh bread first thing) we then had a picnic lunch each day after diving watching the humming birds in the hotel flower beds.
The dinner in Scouts is good, shrimp pasta was the best ever.
The dive operation (see separate review for Saba Divers) is very well organised. Billy picked us up every day in his minibus, having been given clean towels and waved off by Susanne, he took us to the harbour where one of the dive staff was waiting to open the door with a cheerful good morning.
A review of Scouts Place has to include a mention of Friday nights sabaoke. This has to be attended at least once, it is expertly run and supported by Wolfgang and Barbara. All the participants threw themselves into their songs with huge enthusiasm which made the evening one of the best nights entertainment. (understand talent is not high on the agenda even Lulu rushed out onto "The Rock" on one occasion!)
All in all Scout's Place fills its niche as a hotel for divers with top marks, not luxury but comfortable, clean and friendly with a first class dive operation.
Billy took us back to the airport and we felt we were leaving home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabaDivers, Owner at Scout's Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear guests, we appriciate your review. It is good to hear that you liked Scout's Place, its staff and our dive operation Saba Divers. As you pointed out, Saba is a great place do dive and our instructors are extremly friendly and professional and have outstanding knowledge of the Saba Marine Park. Billy, the driver is an old school Saban and drives you safe on a daily basis to the harbor, airport, hiking trails or restaurants. I would like to mention that at Sabaoke night on Friday nights you will meet a warm and cozy atmosphere with friendly people and a fun live entertainment. We have a lot of talent on our small island and it is high on our agenda to offer an interesting evening once a week on our rather quite island. You can meet all kind of nice people at Scouts Place from a great variety of different nations and enjoy great food and drinks at our restaurant. Finally, we wish you all the best for your future trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 190 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Going to Saba for the first time was not sure to rent a cottage or hotel we opted for the hotel since we were not sure what to expect for availabilty of groceries for cooking to help keep price down.
Scouts place was very good included Contl. Breakfast which is pretty much bread, bread, bread piece of cheese and piece of ham coffee or tea and preserves and very small amount of fruit which was ok for us others items were available for an additional fee. There cafe was good we ate dinner there twice and lunch once very good. Prices for food was very reasonable at Scouts and other places. This was one of the times that if you are with one other person rent a hotel was the better deal if your cooking for more then four then renting a place with a kitchen would be the best. Shopping for groceries at big rock had everything you would need and prices were very reasonable as well. Our room was nice on the second floor, fridge, tv and ac we were on the end of the building so wind noise was a factor it would have been better in the middle or first floor either way you had a great view! The staff in office Steffaine was excellant dinning room everyone was great. As far as the diving staff off the hook great thanks !! Caroline, Micheal and Pezze and wonderful Steffaine again for a great diving team. You guys do a great job and so fun to be around. It would have been nice to spend a little time hanging out by marine and enjoying the cafe and people instead of being rushed away not even enough time to shower off before being rushed by Billy the driver. All in all good place to stay and great place to dive with. Saba has the best hiking so if you like hiking this is a place to see. Make sure your ready for hiking lots of stairs and elevation gain. Very slippery when wet and muddy in some spots. Go meet Jolean she makes beads ( take a class) and other cool glass items short walk up to booby hill. We went 1/5--1/14 2013 and the weather was warm around 80 wind was quite a bit strong we we told April would be a good month. Saba a great place and Scouts is located in a good place to hike and see what this unspoiled queen has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle would cut down on wind noise first floor or second both have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkrk21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been traveling to the Caribbean (USVI and PR) for over 30 years, but this year was our first trip to Saba. Scouts Place was our dinner and lunch spot several times during our stay, and we loved it. The people at Scouts were friendly, the food was good, and the views were outstanding. Scouts Place was a reflection of Saba in general - welcoming and friendly. We will definitely be back next year,

Room Tip: We did not stay at Scouts - we only ate at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Numidica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Scout's place & Saba Divers

Very convenient all in one diving resort for those intending to do some serious diving on Saba. Reasonably good accommodation and restaurant/bar but the suermarket is only a short distance away. Shuttle bus will pick you up at the airport (but you'll have to pay for it) run you down to the harbour in the morning.

Saba Divers offers a cleverly marketed 6 dive package for online bookings only which gets people to stay at Scouts place as well. I did a bit of research and it's a little cheaper to dive with Sea Saba just down the road.

Room Tip: Stay at Scout's Place but dive with the cheaper Sea Saba a short distance down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shmemley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabaDivers, Owner at Scout's Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear guest, we appreciate your review so that we can monitor and improve our service to all customers. It is good to read that you liked our hotel and diving. I still have to comment on part of your review. I don’t know how you conducted your research but the following is a fact: we organize the pick up from the airport or harbor for our customers. The pickup is executed by a regular self-employed taxi driver which we call for our guests and arrange the time and place for the pickup. We are a very small island and we support local businesses and taxi drivers since it is their business and livelihood to drive customers not ours. Moreover, you maybe haven’t noticed the following: Saba Divers includes the transfer of divers to the boat and back in our dive prices. We offer additionally free Nitrox for a pre-paid and booked package. These packages are approximately 10% below the price for individual booked dives. There is a charge from the Saba marine Park (3.-US per dive) and a government tax of 4% added. There are no other charges or hidden fees besides that. If you dive more than your pre-paid package we apply the best rate possible for any additional dives. I’m not sure if all these facts are included in your research. Besides that, divers can stay with us and dive with a different operation; they can also stay in any other hotel and dive with us. They also can stay and dive with us and meet their instructors and fellow divers at the bar and restaurant, have a good time, great dives and professional but relaxed service. Saba is a great place to relax, dive and have a good time off the beaten tracks. We are here to do our outmost to make your stay on Saba a great experience and as relaxed as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you like diving, Scout's Place (and Saba Divers) is the a real nice an relaxed place to be. The several dive-spots are beautiful! Lot's of fish, coral and colors. Dive masters are good company and skilled. The hotel is about 400m above sea level, taxi to the shore is included and well organised. Dining at the restaurant is perfect. The oriental breakfast ordinary, but fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen_Lindner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Scout's Place for two nights the end of June after staying a week on St. Maarten/St. Martin. The hospitality at Scout's Place was amazing. Wolfgang, the owner, did everything to make sure we had an enjoyable experience. He is the chef as well, and the food is quite tasty. The room was very clean, and the temperate climate nearly eliminated the need for air conditioning. The views from this little hotel are breath-taking. My husband went diving with their dive operation, Saba Divers, and he said it was his best dive experience ever. Saba is a very beautiful island; it is full of natural beauty. Do not expect huge all- inclusive resorts. Scout's Place was the perfect little hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScoutsPlace, Owner at Scout's Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thanks for the friendly review. It was my pleasure showing you around on Saba, while your lucky husband was diving. Thanks for coming and choosing Scout's Place. I'm looking forward seeing you the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Traveled to Saba from St Martin attend the Governor's Wedding. We stayed at Scout's Place for two nights. Their food was excellent and the price was better. The People were very friendly and helpful. It's Location was ideal to roam around and getting to know it's people

Room Tip: The room was cosy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScoutsPlace, Owner at Scout's Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

We are proud of our staff. The kitchen ladies from all over the Caribbean, do a fantastic job by creating Caribbean dishes and other nice things, the bartenders and waiters are personalities and good at their job, the office management has the overview and comes up with a great service and foresight and the dive staff is just phanomenal. We're happy that you liked our service. Stay safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwardside
19 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
129 reviews
1 mi away
Queen's Gardens Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cottage Club
The Cottage Club
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scout's Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scout's Place Hotel

Address: Fort Street 9 | P.O. Box 543, Windwardside, Saba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windwardside
Price Range: $117 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scout's Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scout's Place Hotel is your all-in-one-resort on Saba. A cozy Caribbean Inn with a local bar, excellent restaurant and an award winning dive center round off the picture. Our friendly staff can organize all your activities on Saba and provide you with the informations you need to spend a great time hiking, diving or just relaxing on our lovely island. We are committed to make your stay unforgettable and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Scout's Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scout's Place Hotel Saba/Windwardside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing