We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel on a fantastic island”
Review of Juliana's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windwardside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juliana's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Windwardside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel on a fantastic island”
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We spent ten days over the 2008 Holidays at Juliana’s and had a really nice time. As several other reviewers have pointed out, the location is ideal. Windwardside is where most of the shops and services are located on Saba, and Juliana’s is within walking distance of them all.
We rented Mango Apartment, which was somewhat on the rustic side. It could have done with some sprucing up, but was nonetheless pleasant and comfortable. The kitchenette was functional, the bedroom came with air conditioning (which we never bothered to turn on during our stay since the nights were pleasantly cool), and the balcony was great and offered a nice (if only partial) view of the ocean (part of the view being taken up by a mango tree, after which the apartment is named).
We had breakfast everyday at the Tropic Cafe, and we found the food good and the portions reasonable. You do have to pay for little extras, but the cost is far from being astronomical. The staff (both at the cafe and the hotel) was nice, helpful and friendly, without being obsequious.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liveinpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    49
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
86
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I've been traveling to Saba for ten years now and have always had a great experience staying at Juliana's. Wim and Johanna, the current owners, have made numerous upgrades and improvements to the property, adding many of the comforts usually only found in larger hotels. Direct TV, fridges in all rooms, great beds, coffee makers are standard, and new paint, light fixtures and bedding added in the last year. They obviously take great pride in their hotel and work constantly to keep it clean and comfortable. Tropics restaurant recently changed to new management and Paul and Chris are doing an incredible job. A new menu, highlighted by great fish and steaks has really improved the dining options in town. I would highly recommend this spot to anyone traveling to Saba. They work together with Sea Saba, also the best dive operation on the island in my opinion. Great boats, crew and organization. If you're staying on island, this is the place to be!

  • Liked — Great comfort and value
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegasdiveguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

After having stayed a few nights at the Juliana hotel and having read the reviews we think a few more things need to be said. First of all, Saba is a really nice island, but the Juliana hotel is not to be credited for it. It just happens to be in a very good location in the best village on the island. If the hotel was in a worse location it would not nearly get as many good reviews as it got here. We booked an ocean-view room and basically looked out over a parking lot and onto the walls of an adjacent house that was abandoned after a hurricane wrecked it a few years ago. But to be fair a good bit of ocean could also be seen. The room had no air condition and the shower had minimal water delivery, but we have partial understanding for the latter given the island's problems with water. The TV had over one-hundred channels, all from the US, which for us Europeans was surprising given that this island is part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. We could not even get weather reports or news from the old continent. A real low is the breakfast, where a basic menu is included in the room price, but if you want a few strips of bacon on your fried eggs you will have to fork out $2.99. And so on. The coffee is of the American kind, watery and tasteless, but at least included in the breakfast. We never had dinner at the restaurant, so we cannot comment on it. The pool in front of the restaurant was unavailable for swimming as there were constantly diving lessons being given in it. Internet is free but the connection is slow and you may have to wait quite a while until you get access to the computer. Everything else was fine and the staff was polite and helpful. But all in all we think this is more a 2-star than a 3-star hotel, and for that, the rates are really pricey.

  • Liked — Surrounding village
  • Disliked — Impaired ocean view
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank inman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We have just returned from our 5th visit to Juliana's and feel like we've left family behind! Saba is our favorite destination and Juliana's our favorite place to be on the island! The hotel and restaurant are located in Windwardside and while sitting at the pool you stare at the beautiful Caribbean or view Mt. Scenery covered in a cloud. I dream about the view all year long!

Wim and Johanna have become friends and our kids can't wait to arrive to scamper down to Tropics and look for Wim. The service is superb and the food fabulous. Chris and Paul from D.C. are now running the restaurant for lunch, dinners and Sunday brunch. We couldn't wait to try something new at each meal. What a great addition to the hotel! Wim and Johanna continue to serve breakfast and we love wandering down for the endless cups of coffee, the beautiful view and to catch up with Wim and Johanna.

The nicest thing about staying at Juliana's is the service and friendliness of all the people at the hotel. Wim and Johanna could not have been more helpful when we lost a bag. It arrived at our door with no effort on our part! Wim plays with the kids and Chris even invited our daughter into the kitchen to help make brownies! Our kids have so much fun at the restaurant and pool we have a hard time pulling the kids away to hike and snorkle.

My favorite memory was sitting by the pool on Christmas day taking in the beautiful scenery and listening to the beautiful Christmas music played at the pool. Nothing could be more relaxing! I had to call some friends back in the states to share the moment.

We look forward to seeing you again next December!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sabafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2009

i've been to this island a few times and have stayed at several of the locations and to be brief i would not go back to this particular establishment.
this is mainly because of the owner. i don't remember his name. but when he wasn't trying to run off paying customers he was at his restaurant (tropics) charging you outrageous prices. a quick tip about the restaurant - don't ever go there.. you won't find worse food for the biggest bill anywhere else in the carribean than tropics. besides, you can just go up the road to saba snack shack and get more better cooked food for half the price. and a hundred times more polite service.
as for the hotel, its good enough to look at. but there are better spots. and with all the friendly people i've met on this island, i don't know why you would want to waste your time over-the-hill with this guy. the few days i was there, i saw him run people out of the pool, away from chairs, tell people i couldn't even hear to be quiet in his restuarant..
most the time I just couldn't figure out what this guy problem was, except that he never changes the oil in his deep-frying machine.

  • Disliked — personal
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jarnd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divebums
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Juliana's with a dive package at Sea Saba. We just can't say enough great things about Juliana's, Sea Saba, and Saba in general. We had a wonderful experience! We are both dive instructors and have dived 15 different islands throughout the Caribbean and Central America and would rank this trip amongst the top few. The island is absolutely beautiful and a wonderful retreat for peace and quiet. Juliana's compliments this perfectly. It's a quaint little hotel with friendly staff. We felt at home immediately. It's safe, quiet, and had all the amenities we required. The owners even invited us to one of the cottages one night for a private gathering with their friends. You don't find this kind of hospitality in most places and we were very grateful. Our experience with Sea Saba was equally impressive. Their staff was always safe, smiling, and informative. Their dive boats were spacious and quick, and the diving was first class. My only concern is that too many others will find out about this place and turn it into the rest of the Caribbean. As we are searching around for our "retirement island", we don't usually visit the same place twice. However, due in part to the hospitality of Juliana's and Sea Saba, we can't wait to visit this one again!

  • Liked — The people and the views
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank diverellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I have stayed at Juliana´s easily 5 times over the last 8 years. This time I visited their restaurant, Tropics, during my recent visit to Saba (couldn´t reserve at the hotel because they were full) and used one of their pool lounge chairs. There were at least 3 more chairs that remained unused while I was there.
I ordered a drink and as I was leaving a very generous tip, the manager and owner of the hotel and the restaurant told me, in a very rude manner, that "I was not to use the pool chairs because there were not enough chairs for the hotel guests".
Needless to say, I will never be staying at the hotel again, and it won´t be necessary: this time I stayed at Scout´s Place, and I absolutely loved it!. Excellent room and excellent quality/price ratio!.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank palomamarugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwardside
19.0 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
19.2 mi away
Golden Era Hotel
Golden Era Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Eustatius
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juliana's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juliana's Hotel

Property: Juliana's Hotel
Address: Windwardside, Saba
Location: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windwardside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the true spirit of the island of Saba, Juliana's Hotel is a small and intimate retreat from the hectic pace of modern living. Juliana's offers a variety of accommodation suited to each individual's preference; for the budget minded traveler a comfortable garden view room and for those who seek more luxurious accommodation a fully equipped private Saban cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juliana's Hotel Saba/Windwardside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing