We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place”
Review of Juliana's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windwardside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juliana's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Windwardside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Favorite Place”
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We have just returned from our 5th visit to Juliana's and feel like we've left family behind! Saba is our favorite destination and Juliana's our favorite place to be on the island! The hotel and restaurant are located in Windwardside and while sitting at the pool you stare at the beautiful Caribbean or view Mt. Scenery covered in a cloud. I dream about the view all year long!

Wim and Johanna have become friends and our kids can't wait to arrive to scamper down to Tropics and look for Wim. The service is superb and the food fabulous. Chris and Paul from D.C. are now running the restaurant for lunch, dinners and Sunday brunch. We couldn't wait to try something new at each meal. What a great addition to the hotel! Wim and Johanna continue to serve breakfast and we love wandering down for the endless cups of coffee, the beautiful view and to catch up with Wim and Johanna.

The nicest thing about staying at Juliana's is the service and friendliness of all the people at the hotel. Wim and Johanna could not have been more helpful when we lost a bag. It arrived at our door with no effort on our part! Wim plays with the kids and Chris even invited our daughter into the kitchen to help make brownies! Our kids have so much fun at the restaurant and pool we have a hard time pulling the kids away to hike and snorkle.

My favorite memory was sitting by the pool on Christmas day taking in the beautiful scenery and listening to the beautiful Christmas music played at the pool. Nothing could be more relaxing! I had to call some friends back in the states to share the moment.

We look forward to seeing you again next December!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sabafriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    50
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
88
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charleston, sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2009

i've been to this island a few times and have stayed at several of the locations and to be brief i would not go back to this particular establishment.
this is mainly because of the owner. i don't remember his name. but when he wasn't trying to run off paying customers he was at his restaurant (tropics) charging you outrageous prices. a quick tip about the restaurant - don't ever go there.. you won't find worse food for the biggest bill anywhere else in the carribean than tropics. besides, you can just go up the road to saba snack shack and get more better cooked food for half the price. and a hundred times more polite service.
as for the hotel, its good enough to look at. but there are better spots. and with all the friendly people i've met on this island, i don't know why you would want to waste your time over-the-hill with this guy. the few days i was there, i saw him run people out of the pool, away from chairs, tell people i couldn't even hear to be quiet in his restuarant..
most the time I just couldn't figure out what this guy problem was, except that he never changes the oil in his deep-frying machine.

  • Disliked — personal
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jarnd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divebums
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Juliana's with a dive package at Sea Saba. We just can't say enough great things about Juliana's, Sea Saba, and Saba in general. We had a wonderful experience! We are both dive instructors and have dived 15 different islands throughout the Caribbean and Central America and would rank this trip amongst the top few. The island is absolutely beautiful and a wonderful retreat for peace and quiet. Juliana's compliments this perfectly. It's a quaint little hotel with friendly staff. We felt at home immediately. It's safe, quiet, and had all the amenities we required. The owners even invited us to one of the cottages one night for a private gathering with their friends. You don't find this kind of hospitality in most places and we were very grateful. Our experience with Sea Saba was equally impressive. Their staff was always safe, smiling, and informative. Their dive boats were spacious and quick, and the diving was first class. My only concern is that too many others will find out about this place and turn it into the rest of the Caribbean. As we are searching around for our "retirement island", we don't usually visit the same place twice. However, due in part to the hospitality of Juliana's and Sea Saba, we can't wait to visit this one again!

  • Liked — The people and the views
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank diverellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I have stayed at Juliana´s easily 5 times over the last 8 years. This time I visited their restaurant, Tropics, during my recent visit to Saba (couldn´t reserve at the hotel because they were full) and used one of their pool lounge chairs. There were at least 3 more chairs that remained unused while I was there.
I ordered a drink and as I was leaving a very generous tip, the manager and owner of the hotel and the restaurant told me, in a very rude manner, that "I was not to use the pool chairs because there were not enough chairs for the hotel guests".
Needless to say, I will never be staying at the hotel again, and it won´t be necessary: this time I stayed at Scout´s Place, and I absolutely loved it!. Excellent room and excellent quality/price ratio!.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank palomamarugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2008

My husband and I stayed here from Feb 2-9. We had the dive package (dove w/ Sea Saba). This was actually our second stay at Julianna's (first stay was back in Jan. 2006). Both stays were great. Love the island and the people on it. Very friendly. Laid back.

Upon arrival, we were initially disappointed to find that Wim and Johanna had just left for their vacation and were not going to be around that week. However, a few hours later, we saw a familiar face from our first stay two years ago - Paul! He was watching over things while Wim and Johanna were away (including cooking breakfast every morning - which was awesome! ) and along with Karen from the front desk (and the two dogs- Roscoe and Kane!), they made our stay fun and relaxing.

The location of Julianna's could not be better (restaurants, stores, dive centers all right there) and the views are simply spectacular. The pool area gets sun all day. We stayed in an ocean view room. Rooms are clean and comfortable (no complaints!), deck is large (with hammocks!). Everyone from Julianna's were very personable and it was nice to talk and get to know them. We were quite sad when it came time to leave...

Oh, if you should happen to be staying during 'movie night', you really should go. Nothing like watching a movie outside on a big screen, eating fabulous burgers!

We highly recommend staying at Julianna's. You won't be disappointed. Had fun diving with Sea Saba - we'll post separately for them.

Shall try to post some pictures soon!

  • Liked — No one thing - Location, scenery, people
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jh-runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

What a fantastic place to stay. I am never disappointed by the this outstanding little hotel. The rooms are well appointed, well maintained and always clean and comfortable. The staff here makes the stay even more enjoyable. Johanna and Wim are the owners and seem to genuinely enjoy what they do. Wim is quit the character, always quick with a joke or a story and the man loves to laugh. Johanna is a bit more reserved but is a fantastic hostess and will go out of her way to make sure you have a great time. Whatever you do just don't ask her why they don't have a Starbucks on island or if they plan on getting one! I have never made this mistake :-) Some of the other faces you will see around the hotel are Picky - the Rasta man who keeps things up and running. He is usually on hand to help out with luggage to your room or looking cool while he keeps the pool sparkling clean. Leanna - the lovely young lady who is the waitress in Tropics. A bit shy a first but a real sweat heart. Karin, works in the office, professional and always a cheerful smile and it doesn't hurt that she has that sexy south African accent. Francia the housekeeper, I wish my cleaning lady back home worked as hard as she does, does a fantastic job keeping the rooms clean and yes she even does windows! Don't forget to take care of the staff when you leave they work hard so you can relax and enjoy yourself.

Of course no stay would be complete without seeing Kane and Rosco the hotel guard dogs, not, these two boys have the perfect life.

One of the things I love most about staying here is the location and convenience to everything. Just a quick walk up the hill to the grocery store, restaurants and shops all located in Windwardside.

Some good news - they just hired a new cook (I'm sorry but I can't remember his name) and he is doing a great job. Wim remains in charge of breakfast so no worries there. They still have the BEST BURGER on island which is best enjoyed on Friday evenings at movie night.

Recommendation, when booking contact the hotel directly and not SeaSaba. Juliana's offers great dive packages through SeaSaba and is much more efficient, professional and timely in handling the reservations. This is especially true if you are booking the cottages. For some years now I thought SeaSaba and Juliana's where partners but that is not the case.

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank texastraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosamond, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2007

At the risk of sounding like a broken record (kids: ask your grandfather what that means) we can only echo the other reviews: Juliana's is a delightful place to stay on Saba. Not foo-foo fancy but very clean & comfortable and operated by the nicest and most helpful folks anywhere.
The bulk of the available accomodations on Saba are actually rental cottages. Juliana's is one of only 3 or 4 "hotel" style operations on the island and in my opinion the best choice considering location, features, comfort and price. They have compact but comfortable rooms (and a couple of cottages with kitchens), cable TV (if a bit limited in selection), a small pool, a hot tub, free internet, laundry facilities, a self-service honor bar, ice machine, etc., etc.
A small open-air restaurant on site serves breakfast & lunch plus, on certain nights, a featured dinner, e.g. ribs. If you do a package deal, breakfast will be included. They can handle special requests such as picnic lunch workups. The lack of dinner service is no hardship as a number of excellent restaurants are in easy walking distance. We never had a bad meal on the island, by the way.
On Saba everyone pretty much knows everyone and they treat visitors as part of the extended family. If you have some kind of request or a problem crops up you'll have plenty of help resolving it. If you are looking for party central, this isn't the place, but for an old-time laid back vacation, Saba can't be beat. Go before the world discovers it!

  • Liked — Location probably best choice on Saba overall, pretty much full facility lodging.
  • Disliked — Really no sigificant downside items.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Socal Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwardside
19.0 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
121 reviews
19.2 mi away
Golden Era Hotel
Golden Era Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Eustatius
33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juliana's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juliana's Hotel

Property: Juliana's Hotel
Address: Park Lane 4, Windwardside, Saba
Location: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windwardside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juliana’s Hotel offers a variety of accommodations suited to each individual’s preference. For the budget-minded traveler, we offer comfortable garden-view or ocean-view rooms. For those who seek more luxurious accommodations, Juliana’s Hotel offers a fully equipped apartment or a choice of three private Saban cottages. Just steps away from your room or cottage, Tropics Café serves your included breakfast, and offers a full lunch & dinner menus. Together with its pool and hot tub facilities, it's a unique venue enjoyed by hotel guests, other tourists and islanders alike. With personalized service and superior amenities, Juliana’s Hotel soothes the most agitated of spirits within hours of arrival, creating the ultimate retreat from everyday life. Come discover this peaceful, stress-free and laid-back haven. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juliana's Hotel Saba/Windwardside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing