We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find peace in Saba!”
Review of Juliana's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windwardside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juliana's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Windwardside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

A chance to relax and find peace. The island of Saba is a unique rainforest on a dormant volcanic rock, with remarkable underwater volcanic pinnacles covered with beautiful coral. Dive with Sea Saba.
Juliana's hotel and restaurant, equipped with pool and hot tub. Johanna and Wim run the show with there dog Rosco stay here and you wont regret it. Relax with down to earth people and enjoy a nice quiet vacation unlike any other place in the Caribbean. Voted one of the 50 most beautiful places in the world.- just ask any native.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 238 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was searching for a nicely located and comfortable hotel in Saba without having to pay a lot as I planned to stay there just 2 nights and most of the time to walk or hike around. It was not easy to find a good hotel room at acceptable rate. First I sent e-mails to all hotels around the island. I got only 2 answers. There was only one cheaper solution but after reading reviews that it is not so clean I decided to go for Juliana's Hotel which was over expected budget. Hotel is located in nice place. You have to take cab from the airport (USD13). Rooms are clean, there are 2 electric fans, TV, balcony, bathroom with hot water. All is functional. Nice place to relax and watch the ocean. Breakfast included in rate is really good. You choose your breakfast a la carte. Customer service is excellent, very nice working in hotel. Room rate is certainly high for this type of accommodation - more expensive than Marriott in St. Kitts - but considering what are the options at the island this is one of the most acceptable one. Staying in Windwardside is also best option – you have restaurants a shops just walking distance – same if you want to climb to Mt. Scenery you just start the trail from here. If I come back to Saba I will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Many thanks to Wym and Johana, for ensuring our stay was first of all, able to happen, and secondly, that it was so restful and wonderful. Walking in the rainforest is a hoot, especially the new sport of mud surfing. storm watching from the balcony of our room was quite memorable. and the diving is to die for .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Can't say enough about the way our group was treated in July of 2013. Wym and Johana helped me resolve a rather difficult situation with one of our group, and handled it with grace and a smile. I admit to being somewhat biased as I love the small-town atmosphere of Saba! The rooms are spacious and clean, the views spectacular, and has already been mentioned, the breakfasts are fabulous. This was my second visit, and definitely won't be my last. If you want to feel at home in a strange place, then definitely stay at Juliana's!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the rooms with no AC - the cool breezes are all you need - and I am a hot-fla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubanana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A week wasn't long enough! Saba is unique - a rainforest on a volcanic rock, with stunningly beautiful coral underneath. The people make the magic, however. Every interaction was fun - just ask anyone "How did you end up on Saba?" and you'll get a story!

We traveled as a dive group in early August, with our trip logistics coordinated by Sea Saba. The stay at Juliana's exceeded all expectations! The dive shop and hotel worked together seamlessly to make our holiday a delight.

Hotel: The hotel reflects the standard island architecture - white walls, red roofs, green trim. We stayed in Room 1, ground floor. A large room, with kitchenette, we had everything we needed for the week - groceries at The Rock Market are within walking distance. Our garden-view room was adjacent to an old burial ground outside the gate - so there wasn't any noise from the neighbors! Clean and private, we also had an air conditioner in the room (not all have this). Most nights, we left the windows open to hear the frog serenade, but on a few nights it was nice to have the air conditioner. If you're looking for Italian marble and a jacuzzi? This isn't the place. You are in a rain forest - there might be an ant or two. Relax. You're on vacation! Friends stayed in the cottages (Orchid, Lily Pond) which were absolutely beautiful! The natural showers/rock gardens were just brilliant!

Meals: Breakfast at the Tropics Cafe was included with out stay. The cooked-to-order meals were a perfect way to start the dive day. Lunches were also very good, and reasonably priced! After hours on Friday night, The Tropics becomes THE place to play in Windwardside! The pool was festive, the drinks and laughs were flowing, and there is music.

Staff: Johanna and Wim = so much fun! Johanna runs the hotel operation - and handled our efficient check in. Wim runs the restaurant and bar - and made sure we were entertained the entire week! We also enjoyed the meals with guest chef Rodrigo (and his pup, Lucky!). By the end of the week, we felt as though we'd been staying with friends. Wim loaned us his guitar for an evening when we decided to have an impromptu jam by the pool (i still owe you a string! sorry about that!). Don't forget to give Rosco a good belly-scratch when you walk by... Hotel Kitties Whicky and Zion are also on hand when there are ear scratches being handed out!

Transportation on the island is best done by Taxi - and ours was arranged for the week through Sea Saba with Peddy's Taxi (i think there are maybe 5-7 taxi's on the island). He was a gracious and friendly tour guide as well, with his family roots on the island going back many generations.

Diving: We dove with Sea Saba - one of the best dive operations i've experienced! We were cared for like rock stars - while Lynne, Captain Kelly, Dive Leaders Caroline, Thorsten and Rueben made every effort to TEACH us about the island, and the underwater habitat. Sort of like parents slipping vegetables to the kiddies in the lasagne, they taught us about the history of the island, and about the need for better conservation as we go out and about to play. Go to the Monday night presentation at Brigadoon - and listen. Go to the Thursday night slide show at Ecolodge - and listen. Saba is different than any other Carribean experience - charming and unspoiled. We need to help the residents keep it that way...

Bottom Line: Go to Saba. Stay at Juliana's. Repeat.

Room Tip: More of a view from the 2nd floor (and a nice balcony for drying scuba gear), but our room with a ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daisyfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Juliana's hotel was a great place to stay for our group of 16. We were diving every day with Sea Saba divers and had a package deal that included breakfast, try the coconut pancakes! I stayed in the lily pond cottage, which was spacious and quiet, once you got used to the frogs. Left the windows open for the windward breezes and had two ceiling fans. Nicely decorated. Wym and Johanna were good host and went out of their way to spoil us, including making box lunches on days that we were going to be out on the boat for our 3rd dives and also putting together the makings for a family style cookout, where our guys cooked up some ribs, chicken and fish. We all had a great time hanging out and enjoying the comfortable pool area.

Room Tip: Lilly pond cottage was away from the pool area if there was noise. it doesn't have a view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ccc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My first visit to Saba. My choice was made with much care and deliberation and it was Juliana's. An excellent choice. I had almost two whole weeks there and was well looked after by Wym and Johanna. I made a point of visiting and eating in the two other top hotels on the island and much preferred Julianas for its simplicity and friendliness. As a female travelling alone at 60 plus it can be difficult, but I was made very welcome and felt relaxed and comfortable. Views from room 7 are wonderful. The left end room in the picture! Hotel location excellent you can walk relatively easily to the main street (unlike the other the expensive hotel with the views in Windwardside!) where there are shops, bars and two small supermarkets. Juliana's is not pretentious - thank goodness, unlike other hotels which I visited and which charge unrealistic prices for unexciting meals and are located in places difficult to access! Bed and breakfast is the main deal - the breakfasts are to die for but you can order a packed lunch or choose a prepared meal from a menue. On Friday afternoon there is a party atmosphere as the island relaxes into the weekend and Tropics bar comes alive - most of the time all is peaceful, especially when the divers and walkers are off doing their thing. The staff are charming and very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and its great to have dive/beach towels as part of the deal. My trip to Julianas and the island I now look back on as one of those "trips of a lifetime". Go to Julianas - you will not regret it!

Room Tip: I had room 7, but always travel with ear plugs in case of noise! Lovely views and a hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwardside
19.0 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen's Gardens Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Club
The Cottage Club
#3 of 4 in Windwardside
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juliana's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juliana's Hotel

Address: Park Lane 4, Windwardside, Saba
Location: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windwardside
Price Range: $105 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juliana’s Hotel offers a variety of accommodations suited to each individual’s preference. For the budget-minded traveler, we offer comfortable garden-view or ocean-view rooms. For those who seek more luxurious accommodations, Juliana’s Hotel offers a fully equipped apartment or a choice of three private Saban cottages. Just steps away from your room or cottage, Tropics Café serves your included breakfast, and offers a full lunch & dinner menus. Together with its pool and hot tub facilities, it's a unique venue enjoyed by hotel guests, other tourists and islanders alike. With personalized service and superior amenities, Juliana’s Hotel soothes the most agitated of spirits within hours of arrival, creating the ultimate retreat from everyday life. Come discover this peaceful, stress-free and laid-back haven. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juliana's Hotel Saba/Windwardside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing