We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place to stay on the island!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Juliana's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windwardside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juliana's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Windwardside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yateley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best place to stay on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My first visit to Saba. My choice was made with much care and deliberation and it was Juliana's. An excellent choice. I had almost two whole weeks there and was well looked after by Wym and Johanna. I made a point of visiting and eating in the two other top hotels on the island and much preferred Julianas for its simplicity and friendliness. As a female travelling alone at 60 plus it can be difficult, but I was made very welcome and felt relaxed and comfortable. Views from room 7 are wonderful. The left end room in the picture! Hotel location excellent you can walk relatively easily to the main street (unlike the other the expensive hotel with the views in Windwardside!) where there are shops, bars and two small supermarkets. Juliana's is not pretentious - thank goodness, unlike other hotels which I visited and which charge unrealistic prices for unexciting meals and are located in places difficult to access! Bed and breakfast is the main deal - the breakfasts are to die for but you can order a packed lunch or choose a prepared meal from a menue. On Friday afternoon there is a party atmosphere as the island relaxes into the weekend and Tropics bar comes alive - most of the time all is peaceful, especially when the divers and walkers are off doing their thing. The staff are charming and very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and its great to have dive/beach towels as part of the deal. My trip to Julianas and the island I now look back on as one of those "trips of a lifetime". Go to Julianas - you will not regret it!

Room Tip: I had room 7, but always travel with ear plugs in case of noise! Lovely views and a hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    48
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
84
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a our 2nd stay at Juliana Hotel and the owner/manager Wym is great. This it the best places given many factors to consider on Saba. Price, location, stairs, convenience, staff etc. All factors weighed together, Juliana wins! There are fancier places on the island but Juliana fit the bill just perfectly. Small pool and nice jacuzii with great view. Nice reliable breakfast each morning that was served promptly with smile! Sushi Sundays are great at the onsite restaruant Tropics Cafe and there are relatively few steps on this property compared to other places on the island. We rented the Orchid Cottage which we really like (2 bed/1 bath). The only downside is the hot water runs out fast but there is a hot tub very close so no worries! NOTE - It is a little noisy at night from the frogs outside and if it rains but that is part of the island charm. We are already looking to return again to Saba someday. Typically we would try other places out on each visit but Juliana's is just too perfect to waste time and money paying more to stay somewhere else. PS - The Excellent Rating on this does NOT mean this is a place like a Ritz or 4 Season.... The rating is based on what we were looking for and what we expected to get for an small island with limited accomodations.

Room Tip: If you want a basic hotel type room, the upstairs rooms across from the pool have the best views but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HcKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a great time, Wim served us great breakfast every morning with all the requested details! Room very clean.Planning a stay with a baby? This won't be a problem we had a nice crib. By the way Wim txs for the baby bath. Nice staff and please I can't forget the good DJ at the Tropic's happy hour. Wonferfull vieuw from the ocean vieuw rooms.Garden very nice, with all the special flowers. Had a great stay!

Room Tip: if you can't sleep without ac you have to request a room with ac even tough at night it will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 652Mari1978652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Spent a week at Juliana's and it is a very nice property. Clean rooms and the property is well maintained. Wim and Johanna also add to the great experience as they are very focused on their guests and responsive to any requests. Great location within walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc. Only negative is the occasional noise from the road that runs by the property but that is only a minor annoyance and certainly not a big enough issue to deter me from staying here on my next trip to Saba.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CTMcBeeVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Located very well, in Windwardside, from where you can make nice walks, diving/snorkeling trips and visit good restaurants. Wonderfull view from the ocean view rooms. Breakfast is excellent. Nice people, clean rooms, good service. Rooms not very well isolated for sounds from other rooms and outside...

Room Tip: ocean view room is worth the extra pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 11MWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in the Orchid Cottage at Juliana's Hotel, marveling each day at the patio view -- down about 1300 feet to the Caribbean in one direction, up 1500 feet to the cloud forest on Mt Scenery in the other. The cottage was spacious and clean, more room than we needed for two people. Loved the grotto-like, semi-outdoors shower (one bedrock wall and a window opening on the tiny garden). Breakfasts, happy hour and occasional lunches at the Tropics also good. Juliana's is a short walk from Windwardside restaurants and shops; taxis to/from the airport and the dive boats were part of our package too.

Being just a stroll from the Mt Scenery trailhead was a big plus. There is some spectacular hiking on this island. Our favorite was a Sulphur Mine/All Too Far/Sandy Cruz/Bottom Hill trail link-up that took us about 6 hours from taxi drop-off at Lower Hell's Gate back to Juliana's (we're not fast), leaving us with just enough energy to hit barbecue night at The Swinging Doors.

No beaches, and shore snorkeling is quite limited -- best we found was Well's Bay. Depending on the ocean there is sometimes a small beach there. Nothing to see off the beach itself, and if you stay on the beach you can stare up at boulders loosely embedded in the cliffs overhead. But experienced snorkelers will be drawn toward the sea arch (Torrens Point) visible a few hundred yards north. As you approach the point, underwater scenery improves dramatically.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Juliana's and found the location to be perfect. It's walking distance to lots of great restaurants and the supermarket. The included breakfast was enough to keep us going until lunch. The hosts were extremely friendly and all requests were met with a can do response. The missing point is for the shower water pressure and dated decor but overall I would have no hesitation in recommending Juliana's over the high end places on Saba purely because you can walk to where you need to go easily, and the service is friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street/restaurant and bar if you like to sleep in as it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwardside
19.0 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
19.2 mi away
Golden Era Hotel
Golden Era Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Eustatius
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juliana's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juliana's Hotel

Property: Juliana's Hotel
Address: Windwardside, Saba
Location: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windwardside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the true spirit of the island of Saba, Juliana's Hotel is a small and intimate retreat from the hectic pace of modern living. Juliana's offers a variety of accommodation suited to each individual's preference; for the budget minded traveler a comfortable garden view room and for those who seek more luxurious accommodation a fully equipped private Saban cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juliana's Hotel Saba/Windwardside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing