We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Saba!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Juliana's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windwardside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juliana's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Windwardside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Saba!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I came to Saba on our honeymoon and stayed here. Wim and Johanna are so friendly and helpful and were so nice to upgrade us to the Lily Pond cottage for the duration of our stay. The cottage is gorgeous - lovingly restored, very comfortable, and private. The food at the restaurant is also delicious! Juliana's and Saba was definitely the highlight of our honeymoon and we cannot wait to return and stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaseyG982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    48
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
84
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

A large group of us travelled to Saba in February 2013. We stayed at Juliana's at the recommendation of Sea Saba. We ate at many different restaurants on the island, but by far, the favourite of the entire group was the restaurant Tropics at Juliana's! We had a variety of meals here, breakfast/lunch/dinner and the service and the excellent food just got better. A few times the entire group of 22 would come into the restaurant all at once, I know this must have been overwhelming, but the wait staff and chef did a great job seeing to all our needs. The hotel was very clean. There is a small congregation room for gaming, meetings, etc, that our group used every night. This was great! We also used the honour bar set up in the room. I have never seen an honour bar at a resort, but I have to say, what a wonderful and great idea! Wim and Johanna were great hosts to our group. We will most definitely return to Juliana's in the future. We will also tell all of our friends about them and their wonderful service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were referred to Julianas by Sea Saba Divers and it was perfect. The location was centrally located and a short walk to the center of the very small town. The hotel has a small pool and hot tub with a great view at Sunset. The bar area is the perefect setting for cocktails and also perfect at breakfast. The rooms are clean and service with a smile is constant. Safety is a given and keys are irrelevant. Free internet service works reasonably well throughout the property (given that you are on a remote island it works remarkably well). Wyn will take care of your ever request including bag lunches to take with you if you are not going to be back for lunch. The accomodations are nice and comfortable, not the Ritz or the Four Seasons, but if you are that stuffy you should pick another island. Saba is a gem and if you are happy with clean and comfortable accomodations with great service, good food and no hassels, then book a trip to Saba and you won't regret it. The island is very hilly with lots of stairs and can be challenging to walk. Juliana's Hotel is one of the better properties to get around. Very few steps and the grounds are well maintained. We looked at several other places and ate at The ShearWater and The Queens Garden which are considered fancier places but I would stay at Julianas again as it is in a better location as far as accessibility and easier access to your rooms. If you don't care about stairs or about being walking distance to anything else, then the views at ShearWater and Queens Garden are better. Of course, you can just go there for a drink sometime. Not sure you can beat the personal and attentive service provided by Wyn! PS - We booked the Orchid Cottage which is a 2 bedroom/1 bath cottage that was perfect and was very easy to access with limited steps. Easily slept 4 adults and had a living room and kitchen and huge patio. Love it.!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HcKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I cannot believe I never found this place before. What a great island. Saba is a true gem, and Juliana's Hotel is a great place to stay. Wim and Johanna are excellent hosts and really involved in the businesses. This hotel is fantastic and has everything one needs. The rooms have great views, beds are comfortable, nice clean fresh linens and amenities. Wifi and breakfast is included in the price. They have 3 beautiful cottages as well. I've never felt more relaxed and at home.

Room Tip: Loved room 7, the cottages, Lily Pond, Orchid and Flossie's are also excellent choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

JUST returned with a dive group, and we could not have been more pleased! Wim (co-owner) is COMPLETELY service oriented and accomodating! Remember, this is an island and may not be graced with unlimited excesses that you may have taken for granted. In spite of this, you WILL NOT find a place that will meet your needs or desires than Juliana's hotel and Tropics restaurant! I cannot thank Wim/Johana/staff for the accomodation, food, laughter and making our trip so successful and so much fun! Having travelled extensively and experienced many accomodations/food, it is easy to say THIS IS a crown jewel on The Unspoiled Queen!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place is for me the place to be on Saba (I have not visited other hotels though).
Very clean rooms who look nice, I had a nice view of the mountain and sea as well. Free quick internet. Front desk has plenty of information on what to do and is willing to check beforehand if a taxi is available or if a restaurant is open. Breakfast is included and is wonderful.
Its is a 2 minute walk to the center of Winwardside were there is a supermarket and restaurants and the entrance of the 1062 steps. It feels like a place where you dont lock your door. When I return to Saba I will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

In spite of a three day delay getting to Saba due to tropical storm - the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. Thank you for making our trip enjoyable! ... and love the food at Tropics - nice job!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank asiadad97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwardside
19.0 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
19.2 mi away
Golden Era Hotel
Golden Era Hotel
#4 of 4 in St. Eustatius
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juliana's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juliana's Hotel

Property: Juliana's Hotel
Address: Windwardside, Saba
Location: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Windwardside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the true spirit of the island of Saba, Juliana's Hotel is a small and intimate retreat from the hectic pace of modern living. Juliana's offers a variety of accommodation suited to each individual's preference; for the budget minded traveler a comfortable garden view room and for those who seek more luxurious accommodation a fully equipped private Saban cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juliana's Hotel Saba/Windwardside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing