We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to El Momo for vegetarian dinner!”
Review of El Momo Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Momo Cottages
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We discovered on our recent trip to Saba that El Momo is now serving a vegetarian dinner on Tuesdays and Thursdays in their dining room. It is a communal meal where you sit with other guests at a long table. Your hosts, Joost and DJ, decide what to make on their morning trip to the local garden to see what is fresh and ripe that day. We had a great vegetarian pasta dish with freshly baked bread on the night we were there. It was an excellent evening and it was also nice to talk to other guests during the meal. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 254 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

In order to receive a rating of "3", my criteria is that there must be hot water and screens on the windows. We booked El Momo since we were on a budget. In retrospect it might not have been much more to get a place that included breakfast and had a fridge in the room so we could keep food for lunch or dinner. Our cottage was definitely "back to nature" with a natural stone floor in the shower that retained water and a few tree frogs. Although the view was terrific, we couldn't sit in our deck area as the chairs and table were moldy and overhung with the jungle plants.
The pluses:
Wonderful hosts.
Reasonably priced meals and breakfasts.
Inexpensive lodging.
Gorgeous views, especially from the dining shelter.
Close to town, but far enough away from the traffic.
The honor bar, with reasonably priced snacks and beverages.

The minuses:
The creepy crawlers (millipedes I believe) in the cottage, one of which was on my neck in the middle of the night.
The mold and dirt.
Dragging your suitcase loaded with dive gear up all the 69 (or more, depending on your cottage) steps from the road. Bring a backpack.
No screens on the windows. There aren't a lot of bugs here, but when you read at night, the bugs will buzz around.
Reading light above the bed is bright enough to signal to another planet. Eco- friendly?
No fan in the room.
The biting ants (outside).
Internet service doesn't reach the rooms.
The odor on the towels.
No fridge or coffee maker in the room.
No place to spread out your luggage. A few hooks here and there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyMountainDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

True, Joost and Dirk Jan are friends of ours but still they really make it worth all the way to climb the 70 or so steps of the El Momo trail, up to the enchanting cottages of El Momo. For every guest a true warm welcome is given and the charm of the hosts can be found in many of the small details around the place and in the service.

It is a simple place and living in the jungle environment has it's surprises now and then. Water can be an issue if the rain stays away but the hosts will give their best ways to make anyone comfortable here. Be sure to join the eat along on Tuesdays of Thursdays which are a culinary treat at the restaurant with a stunning view on the ocean.

We had a great time here and I will recommend this place and their hosts any time!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrasfictoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I made my second visit to dive in Saba and had a recommendation to stay at El Momo. I'm SOOOOOO glad I listened! This is truly an experience that I would recommend to anyone who enjoys leaving behind the day-to-day chaos and getting back to the simple things in life. This place truly makes you get so relaxed that you will leave feeling one level above consciousness.

DJ and Joost are definitely made for this type of work. From your arrival until your departure, they are there to tend to your every need. They know how to run a "getaway resort" and have all of the small touches to make sure you feel at home.

There are many stairs to get up to El Momo, but once you make it, the view and "feel" is 100% worth it. The pool is sure to welcome you, as well. I immediately checked in and put on my swimsuit and jumped in to cool off from the climb up. The cottages are very basic, which is part of the wonder of this place. You truly feel that you are one with nature with the sound of the tree frogs putting you to sleep at night, and the roosters waking you up in the morning. There are also lots of hummingbirds to watch.

I was also lucky enough to participate in their "Eat-Along". Definitely, definitely DO THIS! You will not regret it. Also, opt in for their breakfast. It's very tasty and nutritional and will give you your energy to make it through the day.

El Momo is a short walk into town. I walked to Guido's and ordered a pizza one evening and enjoyed the wonderful view walking into town. What a treat!

If you are visiting Saba, I highly recommend that you go to El Momo and experience something like you have probably never experienced before. I will definitely return to El Momo and cannot wait to experience the positive vibes that DJ and Joost make sure are present in the atmosphere up there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GalScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

El Momo was such a great place to stay, cute cottages in the rainforest, eco-tourism at it's finest. Joost and DJ make you feel very welcome and the kids enjoyed the pool also. If you're not into "indoor camping" or hiking then El Momo may not be the place for you as there are roughly 60 steps to it. The views and peaceful atmosphere are worth it though, top of the World serene!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank akafrancie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were staying 7 nights total at El Momo, 3 nights in the turtle cottage, 4 nights in the cottage "in the sky" Lovely warm welkom!!!! Cottage's are basic and clean wich is all you need!
The views from the Cottage's over the mountains and the carribean sea are breath taking.
Joost en DJ are doing everything to make you feel like a vip, and they are doing a great job on that. Starting in the morning with a very very nice breakfast, home made bread, fresh fruit, smoothies.......once or twice a week you can "eat along" dinner wich is also home made and very tasty. These guy's really have the most fabulous service. Nothing is to much, happy to bring your luggage up all the steps, serving rum shots while you laying in the swimming pool to candels in your cottagage, helping with all the questions you have.........and that all with a big smile
We had a great time there and if we come back to Saba we would absolutly go back to El Momo again.
Bob & Marianne

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobopreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Location, ambiance, cottages, hospitality, friendliness and kitchen: perfect. This was not just my opinion but also of the other guests. I came back quite often when I had my own home on Saba either just for a chat or to enjoy dinner. Also the so-called "diner chantants" are lovely and I invited always more friends to share the joy.

Room Tip: If you like a real training by taking all the steps uphill and if you want the most magnificent ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saba-promotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwardside
18.7 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
45 reviews
1.3 mi away
Queen's Gardens Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cottage Club
The Cottage Club
#3 of 4 in Windwardside
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Momo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Momo Cottages

Address: Booby Hill | Box 542, Windwardside, Saba
Location: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Windwardside
Price Range: $79 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Momo Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace - Nature - Silence. Nature lovers who enjoy priceless amenities of tropical flowers, palm trees and hammocks overlooking a deep blue sea and warm hospitality will find El Momo to be the perfect retreat. It's small, quiet, charming and a little "Robinson Crusoe like"; A little piece of paradise where time moves slowly and attention is paid to details. We have breathtaking sea views and fantastic ocean sunsets from October to March. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your El Momo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Momo Cottages Hotel Windwardside
El Momo Cottages Saba/Windwardside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing