We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a workout!”
Review of Mount Scenery

Mount Scenery
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Saba Day Trip from St Maarten
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At 3,000 feet, Mount Scenery is the highest point on the mountainous island of Saba and can be reached via a difficult hike through the rainforest.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a workout!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our taxi driver took us to the "1 hour" to the top location...which proved to be just fine. He said we wouldn't miss much of that of the "1 hour and a half" location (at the very bottom). Thankful we had a cloudy day for the hike up...but that left us with a cloud-covered view once at the top. Be prepared for uneven stairs, some inclines/uneven surfaces, slippery stairs covered in moss, lack of a breeze at times...we brought 4 water bottles and easily used 3 on the way up! On our way down we took the entire "1 hour and a half" trip down into Windward. Was a little bummed out that we didn't get our "hiking certificate" due to them being closed (although we were there during their open hours). Had lunch at Scout's, easy walk from the bottom. Great hike, great lunch, great memories!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    75
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philipsburg, St. Maarten
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“To do or not to do, there is NO question.”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

1058 stairs lead to an awesome view. It's not for the faint hearted, but it is WELL WORTH the climb. Nature along the trail is amazingly beautyful and I can only imagine the viw, as unfortunately when we reached the top, it hapened to be in the clouds. Definitely a have-to-do when on Saba!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AquAvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“90 minutes each way = 5 hours”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Ok, so it was only supposed to take 90 minutes each way, but we didn't count on the squall hitting us five minutes after we commenced our descent! Five hours later we hit the trail head and found Saba's Treasure!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Miss.
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“Only true rainforest in the Caribbean.”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was lucky enough to live on Saba for three years. The island is a crazy step back in time.

Mt Scenery is the cloud enshrined pointy-top middle of the island. Its usually, about 25 days a month, encircle with clouds. Every now and then the winds will blow away the clouds, and you can see the top, or, if on top, you can see down. I have hiked it literally hundreds of times (there isn't much to do on Saba) and its great either way.

The forest is a true, (by academic definition) a rain forest. Its the only one in all of the Caribbean. It has huge elephant ear ferns, moss, lichens, and abundant wildlife, including wild parrots, macaws, and song birds. The iguanas can get 5-6 feet in length. Its a great, although tough, hike. But definitely worth the effort.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JacksonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hike, small change on a scenic view”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

You'll be warned that it is a strenuous hike with slippery steps. This is partly true, but me and my parents (early 60's) did not have much problems with it. Bring a walking stick for stability, descent the mountain via the Bud's Mountain trail as this passes through a nice forest.

The 'summit' is in a cloud most of the time, if you are lucky it has a clear view. Best change for a cloudless summit is around noon

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Scenery also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Windwardside, Saba
 

Been to Mount Scenery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing