We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gingerbread Hill
Nearby Hotels
$90
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
$429
$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Curtain Bluff Resort(Saint Mary's)
$832
$700
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$144
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlisle Bay Antigua(Saint Mary's)
$575
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
$1,200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
82
4
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
4
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly suiteisland tourcoffee housebeautiful placemango cottagegrocery storebreathtaking viewsgreat guyhamsday triptwo bedroom villafell in lovemain floorgreat hostsporch swingthe trade windstook advantage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 90 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Montserrat is a very special island with stunning views, good weather and warm people.
All of these features are manifested no more strongly on the island than at Gingerbread Hill.
For those of us fortunate enough to have stayed at Gingerbread Hill and enjoyed the ambience,
views and, abve all, the super hospitality and friendliness of the Lea family, we are indeed blessed.
I cannot think of a better place to be.
Thank you Clover, David, Noah, Jesse and Sunny for the life altering experience

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank XYZ231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

All the recent posters have nailed it so no sense in repeating the obvious! Great people, great location, great tours (Sun & Green Monkey-Plymouth Tour), great Island, great value!

Clover and family could not have been more friendly and accommodating, each and everyone of them.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjgalusha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

There are no fresh mangoes and oranges, or chickens laying eggs and the hot water doesn't really work, but none of that matters. It made for a very nice long weekend.

We arrived in March for a long weekend and stayed in the Heavenly Suite. It was very nice and as advertised for the most part. As others have noted, it can be a bit loud, from the club or whatever it is just over the hill playing music into the night or the roosters and baby goats making noise all day, but it really doesn't detract from the experience at all. The accommodations were spacious and clean with beautiful views of the island

The Clovers were very friendly and helpful at times, at other times they seemed to be too busy to help you with some questions, but it was understandable as there was a lot going on at the time. More often than not they were very friendly and offered us rides to the store on occasion and if they were heading into town were more than willing to drive you in and drop you off. Hiking down to Bunkum Bay Beach wasn't very far at all and it was beautiful with the most colorful rocky beach you've ever seen. There's a local market (King's) and a small eatery (People's place) nearby that are more than adequate.

It was a great trip and Montserrat itself is absolutely gorgeous. A few tips: Definitely take the island tour with their son Sonny, he's a great guy, an excellent tour guide and will literally take you everywhere it is legal to go at the time. Know the current exchange rate at all times, Montserrat is a bit impoverished and about half the people will be constantly trying to nickle and dime you for everything. When paying in US currency everyone will tell you the EC dollar is doing great, so that you should pay them more US than you would think, but when paying in EC, all of a sudden the EC dollar is doing poorly and you'll need to pay even more, so know your exchange rate and do the math yourself. I don't think it was intentionally deceitful on anyone's part, but it was uncanny how it always seemed to sway in their favor. Sonny, Gourmet Garden's restaurant and the Green Monkey were about the only exceptions to this we found.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twoflewover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover L, Owner at Gingerbread Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Hmmm....This is the first I've ever heard about people nickel and diming anyone or ripping anyone off in the currency exchange. We've never had anyone else experience that here. (And we have not personally experienced this is the 36 years we've lived here.)

Regarding the noise level, that club one ridge over, is no longer in business, so loud music is not usually heard in the distance unless now nd then during a festival time or if someone is having a party! ;-) (March is when we have our huge St Patrick's Week celebration. It is a VERY busy and interesting time here!)

So very sorry if we seemed too busy at times to take care of you properly. Thanks for the tip! We'll be more careful to try to not act so busy even if we are! We want our guests to feel loved and welcome.

Regarding mangoes, they are only available in mango season, which is usually June and July, but sometimtes comes early or late. We have LOADS of mango trees, but if it's not mango time,..you won't be able to eat any. ;-) Regarding citrus trees, they are usually bearing around Christmas time, but the lime trees bear more often. Regarding eggs, we always have them, except for once in a while when the Girls go on strike,in which case, there will be no eggs,or very few, for several days to a week.

THank you for your feedback. We appreciate it as we need to know how to improve the GIngerbread Hill experience!

Blessings,

Clover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Just back from seven weeks at Gingerbread Hill. We stayed in the Villa, a wonderful apartment with a large open area under roof, protected from sun and rain. We had all our meals there, spent time reading or just enjoying the view and the subtropical breeze sitting on the swing.

The Villa is Feng Shui perfect. The view over the sea felt just right all through the day as the sun moved to the west. The sunsets were spectacular. David told me that before he built the house he spent time climbing ladders and trees to find the perfect location for the house. (The Heavenly Suite on the top floor has the most spectacular view but we preferred the Villa where we felt truly grounded with the roosters and goats roaming around.)

Some younger guests were great hikers and roamed all over the island on foot and occasionally by minibus. If you walk along the road (no sidewalks) you are likely to be offered a ride. We are an elderly couple and were grateful to have a car.

We found four or five restaurants that were very good, even excellent (Olveston, Tina's). People are truly friendly and enjoy a chat with strangers. Montserrat is definitely different.

The gardens were dry from lack of rain but even so we picked divine grapefruit, oranges, and mangos. Clover sold us great eggs (when the hens cooperated) and her daughter-in-law makes a perfect granola and great pies.

We stayed for seven weeks and wished it could have been longer. It was long enough to experience the volcano's various moods. On some days the ash fall could be troublesome but as ash covered flowers the hummingbirds flocked to our bird feeder in large numbers, keeping us company the whole day.

There is so much more we would like to tell you, but other reviewers have covered most of the points. Gingerbread Hill is for nature lovers, for savoring the quiet nights in cool trade winds.

It is for energetic 30 something who are great hikers and for 70+ who savor a slower pace. We came for Peace and found Serenity too.

Thank you Clover and David

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GKSMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I'm not going to repeat most of the details of past reviews, just agree with them. Gingerbread Hill is wonderful, especially the Heavenly Suite, and the view (including sunsets and rainbows) is inspiring. The island is very different from our one previous trip just before the volcano came back to life ten years ago. A fairly small accessible area, and a small, loyal population where, as someone else said, you start running into the same people after a day or two. There seemed to be almost no short-term tourists -- only locals and expat property owners --all friendly. We spent a lot of time volcano-watching and were very lucky to have clear weather and see red lava flows at night and some great pyroclastic flows during the day. I didn't even mind the one day of ash-fall, which gives you a real feeling for what living on this island must be like.

We travel a lot worldwide, but there's something about this trip and especially the almost ethereal sense of light and space of the Heavenly Suite that has occasionally haunted me in the month that we've been back. I should also echo what others have said about the Lea family. Jesse is a skilled and friendly pilot who encouraged me ride co-pilot to Montserrat, David is extremely knowledgeable, and Clover is a delight.

In the interests of disclosure, I feel I should mention one thing that no one else has noted -- the only hot water in the suite is in the shower. We were a little disconcerted at first having to heat water on the stove to wash dishes. But this is a very trivial matter in the overall picture.

Anyway, if this sort of peaceful, offbeat vacation appeals to you, you'll love a few days (or more) at Gingerbread Hill.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pathfinderNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews