We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of New Cap

New Cap
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Le Diamant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Guided by Tripadvisor we went with high expectations to the restaurant New Cap, which were not met at all:
The service was slow and unprofessional.
The menu was rather an international snack, then local dishes.
The food was very greasy and heavy, I needed a double rum after to digest it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani58000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    221
    52
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We found this restaurant by mistake and returned three times in one week. The set up is great, right on Plage Rouge with lounge chairs by the sea to enjoy cocktails and the sounds of the waves. They have fantastic live music on Fridays and the staff are super friendly and professional. The food was excellent, extremely fresh and well prepared. Definitely worth visiting while in Martinique.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raluca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we found in Martinique”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

So much so that we went back on three occasions, each time the same warm welcome, excellent service, fresh and varied choice of food and of course the cocktails. But the icing on the cake has to be the location, right on the beach with that amazing view of the Diamant rock the turquoise Caribbean sea and thenwaving palm trees. Just perfect. Lovely place for lunch or dinner.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, lovely view!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We first went to New Cap based on Trip Advisor reviews. Also, the owner of the gite we rented recommended it as well. We were impressed by the ambiance (chic but casual decor, a terrific view of the ocean and Diamond Rock / Rocher du Diamant). The welcome was friendly. The owner, Raphael, introduced himself. The waiter was pleasant and friendly. (The 2nd staff member we met was also very helpful and nice -- we learned was the owner's son!!).

Compared to the other restaurants we visited in Le Diamant and also Les Anses d'Arlet, this one had more style, better music, and just generally a great attitude. Style without pretension.

The drinks were good. As for the food, we tried various things, but the dishes we really loved were: Accras de legumes (typical island fritters but made with vegetables). Great dipping sauce, too. Then the vivaneau (snapper) with delicious vegetables. Yum! Perfectly cooked. And "Gambas con pollo" which was chicken and also shrimp cooked in a coconut milk type sauce, served with jasmine rice I believe, and also lovely vegetables. My husband, daughter, and I liked the food so much we ate here a total of THREE times in one week.

We had some mixed experiences, dining-wise, in Martinique, good, great, and so-so. New Cap's warm welcome, the fairly priced food (for an island, especially), the nice drinks, and overall hospitality made us tell the owner we hope to return next year! (We saw him & his family at the airport and they were very friendly. Merci beaucoup!)

Totally recommended. Without a doubt the best restaurant in Le Diamant and one of the most pleasant, enjoyable dining experiences in Martinique.

To note: the prices here were comparable to other, less "atmospheric" restaurants in the region. Plus, the customer service was excellent. So all in all, we felt we had good value for dinner. Our tabs for 3 (2 adults, 1 child) ran about $81 - $115 U.S., with tip & tax already included. (I'd suggest adding some euros for good service. Why not? Good karma.)

A l'année prochaine, j'espère!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Everithing is great there”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

front of the Caribbean sea and the wellknown Diamond Rock, this restaurant offers you a great stop.

Raphael, the boss sounds like a friend, a professional and a nice person.
He really knows how to do with you without beiing too much.

The cooking is great and seems to be be fresh.

There really nice "fish tartare" or shrimp-chiken.

Price are low for the place.

the service is quick, and it's what you are looking for when you have the sea just front of you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canengagequemoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Cap also viewed

Trois-Ilets, Arrondissement of Le Marin
Sainte-Luce, Arrondissement of Le Marin
 
Le Diamant, Arrondissement of Le Marin
Sainte-Luce, Arrondissement of Le Marin
 

Been to New Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing