We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveler rating
133
328
235
130
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
133
328
235
130
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool coco bar beach front private beach crepes fort de france breakfast buffet beach bar chateaubriand crepe station catch the ferry taking advantage buy a bottle other hotels in the area deluxe room nespresso machine bacon and sausage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 913 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

I have posted numerous reviews on Trip Advisor and have never posted a scathing review. By American Standards, the rooms in this hotel are subpar. They are dirty, old, and definitely not worth the $200 per night we paid. Save your money! The service by the front desk staff is terrible. Slow service and no desire to please or help their guests. When we requested a newer room, we were met with stares, sneers, and utter disregard. The front desk staff made no attempts to change our room. We even offered to pay for a better room and they ignored us. Save your money. The pictures on this website do not adequately reflect the rooms. This was a $60 per night room at best. Buyer beware!!! Stay somewhere else. Our bed had hair from the previous guest in it and safe didn’t work. If you’re going for a romantic weekend, he prepared for an ugly, dank, dirty unsatisfying experience. I am currently at the hotel. Pictures forthcoming. Book somewhere else!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank producergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris U, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2019

Dear Guest,

We always strive to exceed our guest's expectations, so it's disappointing to know that you did not appreciate your stay with us.

Our guest's comments are truly valuable to us, however we are surprised by your review. Upon your request to change from the category room you reserved, we upgraded you to our best suite without extra charges. We regret that we were only able to do so the following day due to lack of availability. We expressed this regret by a VIP welcome package in your suite.

Our staff and managers at Hotel Bakoua are always available to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and memorable stay.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

This was our second visit in 2 yrs here. The location is just perfect. Just up the road from the Creole Village and Marina with lots of restaurants and shops plus a pharmacy.

Pros - Our deluxe room faced the ocean, the view was beautiful and we could eat meals on our small deck. The cleaning staff were very nice, friendly and did a great job.

The staff did a great job cleaning the beach area every morning. The water at the beach is filled with fish (mostly tiny). They don’t tell you about that so make sure you get snokel gear and check them out. Beautiful yellow and multi colored fish. You don’t need to go outside of the resort to snorkel!

The private beach is just lovely. The shining gem of the hotel.

The Cocobar on the water is great with nice staff. A huge plus to the hotel.

They have an infinity pool that overlooks the city and it’s beautiful and clean.

Drinks at the bar area overlooking the bay day and night is amazing and they are tasty.

Cons- the room had tile missing or damaged in the bathroom, the bed and pillows were so soft that it was very uncomfortable.

The main restaurant one night had a private event with a loud band and dancing till 2am. Even with the ac on you could hear it in the room as their are no walls in that area.

The staff at the lunch restaurant were rude especially the women. I asked for a bottle opener after being directed to them from the front desk and the woman was very unpleasant. A guy came over to help me and he was very nice and even smiled.

We had eaten there the other day and waited an hour for our food. They said the kitchen was very busy but it was open to view and the place was half full. They took the price of our appetizers off the bill as they knew they had forgotten them but we didn’t go there again. It’s a shame as the view is amazing and the food is good. Staff needs to be more attentive and pleasent.

The infinity pool though clean need repair. In the 2 yrs since our last visit numerous glass panels are cracked.

Tile floor is cracked and loose especially near steps outside of the enclosed pool area and is dangerous.

Overall a great place - We still loved our stay there and recommend it. But the last 2 yrs has really shown that the owners are not keeping up with the
wear and tear. Instruct the lunch restaurant staff to be better at customer service.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank orangey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris U, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Bakoua. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay and that you particularly appreciated your room, the Coco Bar and our spectacular beach. We will be sure to share with our housekeeping staff that you were satisfied with the cleaning and general service.

Your comments are valuable and have been taken into consideration. Hotel Bakoua will soon be undergoing renovations however our technical staff are always available to intervene. Inspections and repaires are done regularly ensuring the safety of our guests.

We appreciate you recommending Hotel Bakoua and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2019

WE had a room facing the bay. Great view. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The beach and pools were both nice to hand around. The local village of Creole had a variety of restaurants, a convenience store, pharmacy and, best of all, a place to get your laundry done. WE stayed here for 2 weeks and will stay again if we return to Martinique.

Room tip: Face the bay.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank greentail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris U, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2019

Dear Guest,
What a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Bakoua. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and giving a good description of our location and services.
We take pride in welcoming our guests and ensuring that their rooms are clean and comfortable. It will certainly be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019 via mobile

Location: west side of Pointe du Bout; very good location for sunset and private beach; many restaurants in the village nearby (walk-in distance); very close to a local ferry station (walking 2-3 min from side door) to cross the bay.

Room: quite outdated and renovation needed (we stayed at Beach front building, 2nd floor). The bed is terrible, a king-size mattress on top of a queen-size boxspring; if you sit on the side of bed, you may fall (not safe for young children or elders).

Service: reasonable but slow (island time -;))

Parking: free of charge (rental car companies nearby)

Beach bar: with beautiful bayview but limited service hours.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank RoseFromCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris U, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Hotel Bakoua is indeed well located and the sunsets are spectacular; we are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay.
Thank you for your remark concerning the mattress; that has been remedied.
It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019

We went to Martinique for a friend's bday, stayed at the hotel for 3 days. It was fabulous because of the location. It's close to everything, the ferry, the marina. The pool and beach was amazing and we spend a lot of time in it. The service is a little slow, there's always just 1 or 2 people working, but you're on island time, so it's expected. Breakfast was decent, fresh egg/crepe/omelette station with lots of fresh fruit and pastries. The hotel rooms were basic but clean. We got upgraded to beach side. Being right on the beach and waking up to the view of the ocean is amazing, so I would highly recommend that. I would stay at the hotel again.

Room tip: beach side or ocean facing
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cantfindaname10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iris U, Responsable commercial at Hotel Bakoua, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. Indeed our location is very convenient and the view spectacular. Hotel Bakoua is well known for its breakfast buffet and we are delighted that you appreciated the variety.
It would be more than a pleasure to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews