We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
10
57
63
54
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10
57
63
54
20
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 204 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2019

The rooms are standard size and the bathroom are a bite nicer with a full size tub, But the furniture in the room are outdated the televisions are 28 inches if not smaller. I would have sent extra $$ to get an upgrade next time.

Room tip: The rooms are standard size but furniture in the room are outdated the televisions are 28 inches if not smaller.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vexil07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipe_Karibea, Community Manager Junior at Karibea Squash Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Dear client,
Thanks for staying with us.
We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
Your comments will be forwarded to our staff expeditiously.
See you soon.
The Karibea Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

I would suggest skipping this property. Poorly kept and maintained, unaccommodating staff, no warm water, unreliable internet service (internet lasted one day out of a three day trip), fruit flies covered fruit during breakfast. Location is ok but not the best. Do recommend the Brazilian restaurant Favela 100 ft or so east of the property.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank TadzioBervoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipe_Karibea, Responsable relations clients at Karibea Squash Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Your satisfaction is our priority and our priority is also to offer a good service. We will transmit your comment to our teams to discuss about it.

We hope you will not stay on this negative note and that you will come back again in Karibea's Hotel.

Kind regards,

L'équipe KARIBEA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

Upon arrival to our room, my friend and I were greeted by a strong stench of cigarette smoke left by the previous guest (mind you, there are no smoking signs on every door, but apparently the practice is not condemned). Hence, we had to turn off the AC and open the windows to let some fresh air in. The window got stuck when we tried to close it, but fortunately a security guard was on hand to fix that.

The staff generally could not speak English, hence I think this created a communication barrier as far as explaining ways to get around, as well as what the hotel has to offer. However, my knowledge of French was enough to get us by.
The pool area was disappointing. It was right beneath our window but there was not enough space to lounge about. Just two lounge chairs.

I also did not like the fact that just because my room was not a superior one that there was no kettle, as well as stuff to make a cup of tea. I also think that we could have been treated to breakfast at least once. But booking on the internet has its disadvantages, I suppose. I stayed at a rented apartment in the city a few days later and the amenities were much better and I paid half of what I did to stay there over the exact time period.

The hotel could be better with some entertainment, at night in particular. Even karaoke could have been great.

The rooms were comfortable enough. The location was okay. The staff was generally courteous and accommodating. We arrived too early to check in but we were provided with storage space for our bags while we spent time in town until it was time to do so.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Stasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipe_Karibea, Responsable relations clients at Karibea Squash Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback about to your stay in our Hotel.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your room and the location. You have to know that the service offered by our team is our priority and your satisfaction about this point is our best reward.

Smoking in the room is obviously prohibited. Regarding to the smell in your room, we are really sorry for this disappointment. In this case, we generally offered another room to our customer.

We are taking note of your commentary and we will inform our team to improve those points.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

L'équipe KARIBEA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

This is an extremely basic hotel, which is certainly not worth the money. Location is horrible, rooms are bad, TV is historic, bathroom is old and filthy, not even decent warm water. Restaurant area is nicer, long wait for the food.
The only plus is a soundless airconditioning.
No towels provided for the pool. Don’t go!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PeterK114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipe_Karibea, Responsable relations clients at Karibea Squash Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations.

We are taking note of your feelings about the rooms and we are going to transmit them to our teams.

Regarding the location, our Hotel is located in the hearth of Fort de France, you have an easy access to many comodities and we are sorry that you did not enjoy it.

We hope that you won't stay on this negative note. We will be happy to see you again.

Best regards,

L'équipe KARIBEA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2018

Check-in was extremely slow, I only received my key at 3:45PM, the room was not ready before.

The swimming pool is closed. And by the way it nowhere close to its description on their website. It's small, and overlooks a road, and you can barely see the sea in the background.

The room was terrible. It looks like it arrived untouched from the 80s, with an especially ugly bathroom.

The neighborhood is not pleasant. I'd not recommend to walk outside past sunset.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tyrou0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipe_Karibea, Responsable relations clients at Karibea Squash Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in our hotel.

We are sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations.

However, we are happy that you enjoyed the space in your room.

The pool is open everyday between 6am and 10pm so we just can be suprised by your comment. Moreover, our Hotel is located in the hearth of Fort de France and really close from many comodities, it is true that some building are old and it creates a special athmosphere, but the neighborhood is safe and we are sorry that you felt it unpleasent.

We hope to see you again in our Hotel.

Sincerally,

L'équipe KARIBEA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews