We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignore the bad reviews - the hotel has been renovated and is lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel l'Imperatrice
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fort-de-France
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reviews - the hotel has been renovated and is lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

I was worried before my trip because despite the fact that I had eaten lunch in the restaurant at Imperatrice during an earlier visit, the reviews on Trip Advisor were very off-putting. So it was a great relief to find that the hotel has indeed undergone a thorough renovation and is a great place to stay if you want to be in Fort de France. The rooms have lovely mahogany furniture and mine had a great view over the city and the sea. The staff are helpful and if you don't mind not being by the beach or the pool, this is one of my favourite places to stay in Martinique.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbeantripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    34
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
10
36
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

First and most important: Fort-de-France is not the charming mock-French Riviera town that some guidebooks claim. While there are a couple of nice small squares, there are almost no French-style
cafes or bistros around them or facing the waterfront. At night the town is positively creepy, with
all stores and most restaurants closed. While all this is not the fault of the Hotel L'Imperatrice, it should be a factor when you decide whether you want to stay there, rather than at one of the resort hotels across the beautiful bay. As for the hotel: since its renovation, it is quite ok. We stayed in
one of their superior rooms, which gave us a small balcony, from which we could see a bit of
the fort and ocean. Unfortunately, it also overlooked a street which can be pretty noisy at night.
Service was a bit haphazard. On the weekend it was hard to find any staff at all. The design
of the shower was poor. I have lived in Europe, so I know about showers which are not enclosed.
However, the person who installed this one did not provide big enough drains or a floor that
sloped toward the drain. As a result, the bathroom turned into a lake. Breakfast was ok, but it was only served until 9 am, which is a bit early for leisure travellers. The price was simply too high
for what we got.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newyorker10027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
impe972, Directeur at Hotel l'Imperatrice, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Google Translation
Nous tenons compte de votre avis afin d'améliorer la qualité du service que nous offrons.
Cette salle de bain à un petit défaut de réalisation dont nous nous sommes aperçu à l'usage après les travaux. Nous planifions de régler ce problème au plus vite.
Nous sommes aussi en pleine réorganisation afin de d'offrir un service de qualité répondant aux attentes de nos clients.
Si une chambre ne vous convient pas nous vous invitons à nous le signaler. Si cela est possible nous vous logerons dans une autre.

Hotel l'Impératrice
Fort-de-France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

we needed an overnight in FDF and found this hotel . It is downtown and beside the Savannah which is town park , big project to develop the area and the hotel , on some floors at least , has been totally redone .
Elevator is slow and hot , doesn't reach the top floor, but relax , it's the French islands , have a 'ti punch in the lovely street side bar .
parking is difficult but that's common to FDF

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 62K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
impe972, Directeur at Hotel l'Imperatrice, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
The refurbishment is now completed. The rooms, bathrooms, lobby, bar and restaurant have been completly redone.
We put energy saver light bulbs in the elevator, so it's not hot anymore inside ! It's still slow cause it's the oldest elevator of the island (1950's), it works well but at is own pace.

Hotel l'Impératrice
Fort-de-France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2005

Do not believe the guidebooks on this one. The room was in very poor repair and just plain dirty. It is sad because the hotel does have good Art Deco design; it just has not been maintained. The restaurant was good.

Helpful?
10 Thank MaryAnn_and_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort-de-France hotels

California, Maryland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2004

Bring your earplugs, and pay cash at Hotel L'impiratrice. The hotel is right across the street from a park in which the city likes to play earsplitting music until all hours, and the hotel's windows don't keep out any noise. The hotel billed nights we were not there, and the receipts they gave us did not match what they billed. If you want to stay in downtown Fort-de-France in spite of the unsavory characters who hang around after dark, choose a hotel farther from the park. Also, buy something to eat in the evening ahead of time so that you don't have to wander around deserted streets looking for a restaurant that's open at night. During the day, the city is lively and interesting.

Helpful?
10 Thank WorldTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
impe972, Directeur at Hotel l'Imperatrice, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Google Translation
Les notes d'hotel sont effectivement payables à l'arrivée pour les courts séjours.
Concernant le parc de la Savane, il est actuellement en fin de rénovation, il n'y a donc plus de musique. Et le projet est très prometteur.
Fort-de-France n'est plus la ville décrite dans votre avis qui date de 2004. La ville fait de gros efforts de réhabilitation. Et la fréquentation n'est plus mauvaise. Les gens se promenent le soir avec leurs enfants et de plusieurs bars et restaurants ouvrent chaque année.
Je conseillerais au contraire un hôtel dans le secteur de la Savane qui est le plus sur et le plus agréable de Fort-de-France.

Hotel l'Impératrice
Fort-de-France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2002

This hotel is the coolest hotel in Fort de France! i wish that I could stay there forever!!! It is also the most popular hotel in For de France! Well, all i can say is that you all have to go there!! It's soooo cool! I went with my family and we had a great time! I hope I can go back some day soon! Have Fun!! & Good Luck!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort-de-France
0.4 mi away
Simon Hotel
Simon Hotel
#1 of 8 in Fort-de-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.7 mi away
Centre International de Sejour Martinique
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Hotel
Bayfront Hotel
#7 of 8 in Fort-de-France
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Karibea Squash Hotel
Karibea Squash Hotel
#6 of 8 in Fort-de-France
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.1 mi away
Karibea Valmeniere Hotel
Karibea Valmeniere Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fort-de-France
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Imperatrice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Imperatrice

Property: Hotel l'Imperatrice
Address: 15 Rue de La Liberte, Fort-de-France 97200, Martinique
Location: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Fort-de-France > Fort-de-France
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fort-de-France
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Imperatrice 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down-town Fort-de-France, with a superb view over "La Savane" Park, L'Imperatrice is a boutique hotel with charm, elegance and Creole authentic spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel l'Imperatrice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Imperatrice Martinique/Fort-De-France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing