We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but adequate option for a short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco Loco Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Loco Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 32 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
leeds
Level Contributor
281 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Small but adequate option for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I experienced problems locating a hotel/ guest house which would accommodate a 2 night stay- most ask for a minimum of 3, some 5. Coco Loco offer their Casita for short stays- even of 1 night .The Casita is essentially a wooden garden hut at the rear of the 2 storey residential property, 5 minutes walk from the Malecon. It has a bed and bathroom, is clean and well decorated. It is tiny though- there's no room for hanging clothes and 2 people struggle to stand in the room together. It has A/C and fan and shuttered windows with intact insect screens. It also has a rooftop terrace overlooking the large garden. The property is in a residential street a block from the Malecon so is away from noise from the bars. However as Vieques is quite rural you should expect a dawn chorus of cockerels!

The owner Margo was away when we visited so we were looked after by her friendly and talkative husband Joe plus 2 dogs ( one - Prince, is a big boy who may unnerve people who are afraid of dogs). In my opinion the casita is a good lowish cost option in Vieques. It's comfy enough, clean and in a good location. Negatives? Couple of small ones- 1 was that the resident dogs had left a couple if deposits on the grass- one which I nearly discovered barefoot - probably my fault. The other was that the casita was home to a number of tiny nocturnal centipedes.Probably not noticeable to the daytime cleaner and nothing an insect spray won't solve. A Final small gripe was that check in is 3pm as it is in much of Puerto Rico. We arrived around 11.30 and the cleaners were still cleaning the rooms. As there was only one other room occupied that night by long term residents I'm not sure why our tiny room couldn't have been prioritised but it still wasn't ready at 2pm meaning a rushed clothes change in Joe's kitchen.

Those were small complaints though and in the end we liked Vieques enough to change our flight and stay an extra night. Unfortunately Coco Loco couldn't accommodate us so we moved to Esperanza Inn down the road. The fact that we tried to book an extra night shows that overall we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Casita, which was perfect for our short stay in Vieques. The Casita is cosy for 2 nights, but would feel small for a longer stay. The price is great if you don't plan on hanging out in your room (and why would you?). We didn't have a car, but it's a quick walk into town for meals and ocean gazing.

The owners were helpful and always available for questions. There is a also a lovey yard with beautiful tropical plants. Coco Loco is the perfect relaxing place to stay on Vieques.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during Xmas ans we could not have chosen a better place. Margo and Joe are great people and full of good advice for yor stay on the island. We stayed in the one bedroom apt. which was very comfortable with a king size bed and kitchen which we used to cook breakfast and have coffee every morning. The balcony on the front is great to sit on and enjoy watching the horses and people walk up and down the street. The sitting area on the roof was great to watch the stars from and so peaceful that I fell asleep up there one night until I got rained on. There is a market and a bakery less than half a block away and the malecon is another block further down the street. If you are going vieques, I recommend staying in Esperanza and definitely stay with Margo and Joe at Coco Loco.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 'natifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

You can not go wrong staying here. The one and two bedroom apartments are clean well equipped and give you a place to call home during your stay on Vieques. Margo and Joe are very helpful with where to go and where to eat while staying there. The location is about block and a half from the malecon strip so you don't get all the traffic. Half a block away there is a grocery and a bakery where you can buy goods to come back and cook in your kitchen. You definitely need to rent a vehicle to cover the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 'natifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I were in Puerto Rico for 10 days for a wedding and vacation and came to Vieques Island for the biobay tour. I asked the tour company to recommend a place to stay that night since there is no late ferry that returns to the main island after the tour. They recommended Coco Loco. We booked their little casita since there was just the two of us. It was very easy to reserve the casita. Margo was friendly, prompt and helpful. When we arrived the day of our biobay tour, her husband, Joe, greeted us. He was SO welcoming and helpful. He answered all our questions, explained where points of interest were and recommended good local restaurants. The casita was cozy, nicely decorated and well-equipped with towels (both for the biobay tour and showering), a frig, microwave, coffeepot and toiletries. The bed was so comfy too. Excellent!

The next day we had trouble finding a taxi to take us to the ferry port to get back to the main island so Joe offered to drive us there! So kind!

Definitely stay at Coco Loco if you're traveling to Vieques. It's like staying with family. Also, I relied heavily on Trip Advisor in planning our trip. The reviews served us well and I hope they do for you too!

Room Tip: The casita is very small. One to two people tops. We didn't stay in the main house but it look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I traveled here with a group of 5 youngish (20-33 years old) people and they were so kind to us. They gave us great advice and went above and beyond, even allowing us to receive messages on their cell phone since we didn't have one. Having a kitchen was great as it allowed us to save some money as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 65countriesNcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently stayed at Cocoloco in the Casita during the month of may. Before arriving, Margo was so great in answering my questions in such a way that I felt so welcome and looked forward to our stay. Joe was our host during our stay and was gracious, helpful, and full of helpful information! Even more important than amiable hosts was the quality of the lodging they provide! the rooms are clean, comfortable and safe! Our visit to Vieques (and Cocoloco) was such a memorable part of our trip, we do plan to return!

Room Tip: While the casita is tiny for a couple, we found it quite comfortable and affordable! If you need co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yinzer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flamboyan
Flamboyan
#5 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Loco Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Loco Guesthouse

Property: Coco Loco Guesthouse
Address: 14 Calle Hucar | Esperanza, 00662-2847, Puerto Rico (Formerly Alas Del Coco Loco Guesthouse)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Loco guesthouse is walking distance to just about everything you need: beaches, little grocery stores, pizza shops, parks, and the Boardwalk (Malecon) with oceanside restaurants, gift shops, bars, clothing stores, a museum with an aquarium of local creatures, rentals of kayaks, snorkeling equipment, jet-skis, and scooters, and more! The Biobay Tour companies pick up people at the corner of our street. We are in the popular neighborhood of Esperanza- but just far enough from the Boardwalk to be free from its occasional noisiness. You can walk a block and a half to join in the fun, or stay behind at Coco Loco if you want to relax! We offer cottage-style beach living at a very low price. Stay for one night, two nights, or however many you need. Our Studio is perfect for short visits or a low budget vacation. Our One Bedroom and Two Bedroom Apartments have wonderful balconies, and stairs to the rooftop! The apartments are spacious and comfortable for however long or short a time you'd like to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alas Del Coco Loco Guesthouse Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing