We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Loco Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 28 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2012

the coco loco was a great place to stay. we stayed three nights in the 1 bedroom apartment that they provide. it was spacious and even had TV with cable and lots of movie channels that we werent expecting. we were able to catch up on Olympic happenings. We picked a mango from their mango tree in the back yard. The guesthouse was located near a small grocery store and an awesome bakery for freshly baked bread. it was only 2 blocks from the Malecon. We rented a scooter, which was a great way to see the whole island including many beaches. Joe and margo were very friendly and provided lots of information on things to do and see. would definitely recommend this place to other travelers and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeye18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Coco Loco Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 68 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed one night at the Coco Loco after being referred by a bio bay tour operating in response to our request for clean, reasonably priced accomodations. Joe & Margo welcomed us and offered us a place to change while our room was being cleaned when we arrived ahead if schedule. Margo gave us detailed information, maps and advice on beaches to help us plan our limited time in Vieques. We loved the kitchenette, porch and access to their pretty yard and gazebo. The guest house is only a short walk from the ocean and restaurants. We walked the shoreline a short distance to Sun Bay, which was perfect for swimming and sunbathing.

Although we stayed only one night, Joe & Margo made us feel like we were staying with family, inviting us to just "yell over the gate" if we needed anything. I would definitely stay at the Coco Loco again if we return to Vieques.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Len-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Joe and Margo are great hosts, very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 1 night only in the Studio so that we could do the biobay tour. Remember that this is a basic guesthouse - you should not expect a room like you would get in a resort in San Juan.

I do have one complaint: they called a shared-taxi driver they know (Henry) to take us to the ferry terminal in the morning. However, Henry ripped us off by charging us double (and kept yelling at us in Spanish so that we pay immediately). He charged our fellow passengers only $5 per person but we had to pay $10. It's a small amount of money, but very unpleasant experience nonetheless.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wander_wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great place to stay. We still can't figure out why anyone would stay in Isabel II. Esperanza is the best and Coco loco was the perfect place to stay. Joe was wonderful: attentive, polite and super hospitable. We used the backyard space (gorgeous!) for some grilling and relaxing.

The room was clean and the kitchen was well equipped.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Great accommodations just a short walk to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the studio a few years ago and had a great experience. The studio is perfect for a couple and is spacious and very clean. This year we went with another couple and rented the 2 bedroom apartment. It was perfect. There is plenty of space and stays very cool even in the middle of the day. It's also really nice to have a kitchen and a grill especially if you're looking to save a few bucks by not eating out every night (definitely go to the grocery store in Isabel II rather than the one down the street in Esparanza which is WAY more expensive). The outside space is awesome as well, and you can't beat evening drinks on the rooftop deck. With all of that being said, the best part about staying at Coco Loco are the wonderful hosts, Joe and Margo. They go above and beyond to make sure everyone is comfortable, and they are always willing to share their knowledge of the island. My group is already planning a repeat trip for next year and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. It's truly the best!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here in April of 2011. The location is fabulous. It's within walking distance to restaurants and the biobay tour starting location.

We really enjoyed Joe & Margaret's hospitatilty. They even let us borrow fins to use while snorkeingl. We rented the 1 br apartment downstairs. The room is nice and the bathroom was spacious. Even though it's in the middle of a neighborhood, I felt there was plenty of privacy. I liked having our own little hallway... a place to lay out sandy shoes and towels.

The reason why I rate this "average" and not "excellent" is because the bed was horrible. It was extremely uncomfortable for me and the sheets kept popping off the corners.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandagreen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.1 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
3.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flamboyan
Flamboyan
#6 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Loco Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Loco Guesthouse

Address: 14 Calle Hucar | Esperanza, 00662-2847, Puerto Rico (Formerly Alas Del Coco Loco Guesthouse)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $75 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Loco guesthouse is walking distance to just about everything you need: beaches, little grocery stores, pizza shops, parks, and the Boardwalk (Malecon) with oceanside restaurants, gift shops, bars, clothing stores, a museum with an aquarium of local creatures, rentals of kayaks, snorkeling equipment, jet-skis, and scooters, and more! The Biobay Tour companies pick up people at the corner of our street. We are in the popular neighborhood of Esperanza- but just far enough from the Boardwalk to be free from its occasional noisiness. You can walk a block and a half to join in the fun, or stay behind at Coco Loco if you want to relax! We offer cottage-style beach living at a very low price. Stay for one night, two nights, or however many you need. Our Studio is perfect for short visits or a low budget vacation. Our One Bedroom and Two Bedroom Apartments have wonderful balconies, and stairs to the rooftop! The apartments are spacious and comfortable for however long or short a time you'd like to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alas Del Coco Loco Guesthouse Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing